We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Ranked #28 of 769 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good value meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Attentive staff. Good cocktails although beware ordering cocktails in happy hour. It's buy one get one free per person rather than split between members of the party. Easy to find. Tasty food. Atmospheric but didn't stay for the belly dancers so can't comment on this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 985Gelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    311
    74
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place was great! Atmosphere, service, entertainment, food - everything! I would definetley recommend this place!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebk593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good experience, but average main courses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Started sitting in the mezzanine drinking the 2-4-1 cocktails which were lovely. the service was very attentive and the atnosphere was perfect. we moved inside for dinner, once again the atmosphere was really good - there was music in the background with dim light and the service again was great. We chose the 6 mezze to start plus one extra - they were great and actually quite filling! For mains i had the mixed grill which was ok considering i had the same thing at the kasbah cafe for a lot less money, portion size was good. My husband had the royal coucous which was a massive portion and rather bland. We were expecting a lit from the food but it wasnt the best. I completely agree with another reviewer thst the food scores low and the place/service scores high.
I had been looking forward to the belly dancers as this was something different, however we did not really enjoy it - it kind of ruined the atmosphere and cheapened the place. We quickly left, as did others.
Overall, a good experience while in marrakech though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbourko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice venue but .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Azar is a nice looking restaurant with some interesting quirks about it (check out the elevator with the rose wall and fake turf floor). They serve very good cocktails and happy hour on the terrace was great. The staff are also friendly enough, but this is a restaurant and the food was very, very disappointing. Probably the worst food we had in Marrakech.

As a venue for cocktails/drinks, I would probably rate this venue higher. If rating it purely as a restaurant I would rate it much lower!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not too bad, despite the belly dancers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Lebanese cuisine restaurant in the commercial area of the new town, nice decor, but with the lighting absolutely insufficient and not suitable for a restaurant... to read the menu we had to borrow another candle from an adjacent table. Quite dear... a bottle of sparkling water 35 DH!
Hummus and falafel well made and very good shoulder of lamb, but served with roasted potatoes only, pairing not really suitable for June with 110 °F. In the second part of the dinner, the good conviviality was ruined by the arrival of two pathetic belly dancers... accompanied by a too loud music.. The atmosphere of the evening felt into the more conventional tourist kitsch...
Luckily at that point we had finished our meals and we left the place with relief.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zaki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing