We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhh. Not bad... Don't know what the raves are about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Azar

Azar
Ranked #26 of 762 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ehhh. Not bad... Don't know what the raves are about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice food but London prices.
Think the place is TA over-rated for people looking for a 'nice'/'romantic' experience.
The show (~10:15pm) is fun and absorbs some of the cost of the food/drink but still very expensive for what is a cheap town.
Go in the knowledge that you're getting a pricey, modern, chic Morrocan experience and am sure there there are other more local/genuine places just as good at half the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hsaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    297
    73
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We eat from here (usually by delivery) at least once a week and it is quite simply extraordinary. It is as good if not better than the best Lebanese restaurants in London or Paris and for subtlety of flavour and richness of taste - it beats pretty much everything else in Marrakech hands down. Love it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyrus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gem in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is great! I tried the chicken liver (i know - doesnt sound appetizing), but it was phenomenal.
The food was well seasoned and well presented
The staff was super friendly, and the ambiance is wonderful.
I would highly recommend!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sahmed9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great food, belly dancers for entertainment and a bar downstairs that played music. Excellent value for money and right in the heart of Marrakech too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuthieLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

A place with excellent food, good service and decent ambience. It's the food that makes Azar well worth a visit, we started with 8 mezzes (be warned they are large) then went on the have mixed grill, shawarma (the Iron Man reference had the kids very excited) and the beed fillet (x2). All fabulous. By time we had worked our way through everything we were so full we could only manage to split two deserts amongst four. We rolled out of there happy and stuffed. If we went again we'd probably only have a single mezze each although it'd be hard to know which ones to miss out on. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IanAndrewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing