We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azar

Azar
Ranked #18 of 858 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great food, belly dancers for entertainment and a bar downstairs that played music. Excellent value for money and right in the heart of Marrakech too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RuthieLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    344
    83
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

A place with excellent food, good service and decent ambience. It's the food that makes Azar well worth a visit, we started with 8 mezzes (be warned they are large) then went on the have mixed grill, shawarma (the Iron Man reference had the kids very excited) and the beed fillet (x2). All fabulous. By time we had worked our way through everything we were so full we could only manage to split two deserts amongst four. We rolled out of there happy and stuffed. If we went again we'd probably only have a single mezze each although it'd be hard to know which ones to miss out on. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanAndrewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre and overly stylish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place just thinks it's a bit cool. The chefs are good, perhaps very good, but the decor is a bit naff, the chairs are awful little bowls and rather hard to get out of, and it's excessively dark. Add in the unexpected and unwanted intrusion of loud music and belly dancers, which did a pretty good job of emptying the restaurant, and it's really not all it's cracked up to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berkerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was recommend Azar by a friend and I was not disappointed! We booked a table for 8.30pm on the day and when we arrived we were greeted by the friendly staff. The building and interior are spectacular, the lift to the downstairs bar is fantastic (you will have to go to find out why ;))

It is expensive, but the food was incredible, me and my boyfriend decided to treat ourselves to a fancy meal (we are young graduates so don't have much money)

We had 3 courses each and a bottle of wine and in total in came to 725dh, it was worth every penny. The presentation of the food was immaculate and the attention the staff gave you was great, you never had an empty glass!

The atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and fun, it was not pretentious in the slightest! They didn't rush you with your food and the smiles and politeness of the staff seemed genuine...it seemed like a fun place to work as the staff were joking around with each other.

If you do have the budget for a treat in Marrakech, go here, you won't be let down!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So glad we made it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is a real treat. Service is fabulous (totally agree with other reviewers that the girl with the white glasses is top notch). Food is well presented and tastes great. The whole evening was just perfect there. Busy, buzzy and extremely friendly.

Would happily recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing