We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy restaurant”
Review of Azar

Azar
Ranked #17 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trendy restaurant”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is quite a trendy restaurant. The decoration is modern but we felt a bit tight with a table on each side almost touching ours. At 10pm, dancers offered a show which was quite entertaining. The food and wine were good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yacht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    364
    92
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow what a gorgeous meal!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had read quite a few positive reviews about Azar on trip adviser so decided to try it for ourselves....it did not disappoint!!! The decor is very modern Moroccan and feels very plush. We had a set meal of 9 mezzes between us and 2 tagines for main and then a selection of Moroccan deserts, all the mezzes and the tagines were delicious (especially the lamb) the desert was not to our taste but made very well. Overall including drinks it cost 2 of us 900 dirham which for the quality and quantity of food was really good value. You must eat here if you visit Marrakesh!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BriandJames57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Stuffed”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Went here for my parners birthday whilst staying at the Adam Park
We shared the mezze starter which included all the starters on the menu. Realistically this would have been sufficient but as we had opted for the fixed price meze, main course and dessert we then had to attempt a lamb and a chicken tagine between us. We asked for a doggy bag for the dessert! Excellent meal at about £65 including a drink each. The restaurant was a bit quiet considering it was a Friday but we ate about 8 ish so may be it would become busier later. Would revisit if ever in the vicinity again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical Arabic Food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Crossing Morocco and Lebanon, the Food is amazing, from tajines to couscous links to houmous-Taboule (Lebanese), you have to try it! About the price (Average) About the ambiance (it depends the evening you're going to I recommended Friday and Saturday) about the service (nice and smiley) Enjoy your time. Sam

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sambouchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“How could they...?”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Take such a beautiful atmosphere with the concept of one of the finest cuisines in the world and make it so damned disappointing!? Its not that the food is bad, it isn’t… boring yes, but not bad per se. Presentation and plating is done by a 5 year old and portions of their mezzes sized for the same.
Nice live music, not too loud, belly dancers were there to entertain the tourists, and service was very good… wine list also good and well-priced.
But somehow, the place just misses being good. A shame, really…

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_Aristocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing