We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Typical Arabic Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azar

Azar
Ranked #19 of 832 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical Arabic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Crossing Morocco and Lebanon, the Food is amazing, from tajines to couscous links to houmous-Taboule (Lebanese), you have to try it! About the price (Average) About the ambiance (it depends the evening you're going to I recommended Friday and Saturday) about the service (nice and smiley) Enjoy your time. Sam

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sambouchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    335
    80
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“How could they...?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Take such a beautiful atmosphere with the concept of one of the finest cuisines in the world and make it so damned disappointing!? Its not that the food is bad, it isn’t… boring yes, but not bad per se. Presentation and plating is done by a 5 year old and portions of their mezzes sized for the same.
Nice live music, not too loud, belly dancers were there to entertain the tourists, and service was very good… wine list also good and well-priced.
But somehow, the place just misses being good. A shame, really…

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_Aristocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good food. Excellent Mezzes. Would eat a meal of them! Nice decoration in restaurant. My only complaint would be the tables are extremely close together. It's difficult to get out!

Helpful?
Thank R_travel_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner at AZAR - Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went for dinner at Azar, some Italian friends suggested us the restaurant. It was amazing ! Excellent Libanese food in a charming place , smartly furnished , with a nice performance of two beautiful dancers. Price correct.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ranocchio12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

After looking up reviews on here, I decided to go to Azar with my boyfriend on our last night in Marrakech. I made sure we booked a day in advance because we'd had trouble getting a table at other nice restaurants. It did fill up around 9pm so I'm glad we did book. The decor is beautiful, it really is a nice restaurant. The staff were friendly and the food was delicious! We went on a Friday night so there was entertainment at 10pm. 2 belly dancers danced for about 20mins. It was good fun. After our meal we went to the upstairs bar where you can smoke shisha. The only let down was that once we got upstairs, we were given a drinks menu but no-one came up to take our orders. We were upstairs for about 45 mins when someone finally came to ask for drinks! By that time we had already called for our taxi and wanted the bill. She was quick on getting the bill! Apart from that, I would recommend this restaurant and would definately go there again. It also serves alcohol which is great!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LeamsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing