We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great little chill out zone”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azar

Azar
Ranked #18 of 858 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
768 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“great little chill out zone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

found this on the way back to our hotel. Entered the place as it looked promising, and it didn't let us down.
Right from the charming waitress right to the chilled atmosphere in the lounge.
Only sat in for few nibbles (great olives) and a couple of beers. Relaxing end to a hectic day around marrakesch.
Recommend it,!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank varun_mukthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    344
    83
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service and a fun environment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I ate here with my boyfriend a few nights ago (December 2012), we arrived at 7.30pm and the restuarant was quite empty, but at 9pm it was over half full. It was a monday night, the food was delicious, we shared some lovely starters and the mains were great (tajines). Mains are around £10 each, we had drinks too which were normally priced.

After dinner we had a shisha upstairs which was 150 dihram around £12, one of the best I've ever had!! The restaurant is beautiful too it's without a doubt the coolest restaurant we have been to in our time here.

At around 10.00pm two belly dancers came on too and the music was turned up a little! Great atmosphere! Definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just wish we could have fitted more of the Mezzes in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We arrived a little early on a Tuesday evening and the place was pretty empty which worried us a bit. We needent have worried though...

Had some of the tastiest starters here (certainly the best we've had in Marrakech) - the Mezzes are delicious!

We tried the chicken wings in garlic, lemon and corriander, the chargrilled haloumi and Kebbe (minced lamb with pine nuts) and loved them all - the juice of the chicken was so good we finished off most of the bread too, to finish it off!.

Mains were good too. My partner's lamb tagine went down well although the spit-roast chicken I ordered actually came IN lebanese bread rather than WITH it but some of the tastiest chicken sandwiches i've ever had.

The huge restaurant had filled up a bit by about 8:30 and is clearly popular with locals and tourists.

Probably a bit on the pricey side but certainly worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbiGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Order the mezzes, it's a great sampling of 19 dishes. Comfy booths, great wine and the belly dancers are gorgeous.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Measoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We tried a few mezzes for starters. Excellent eggplant, chicken wings, and sausages.

Main course; I had chicken and lemon tagine which was great and the wife had skinny fries and a steak which was cooked perfectly.

Great decor which is enough to visit this place alone but the dancers at the end topped thins off.

Great service from really helpful staff as well. Reasonably priced.

I'd highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azar also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Azar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing