We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3-night stay that never happened!”
Review of Villa 55

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa 55
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As one drives in, first impressions are un-prepossessing with an untidy look about the place and no indications of where reception is. It turns out there is no reception area as such, just a desk between the tiny kitchen area and the pool surrounds. The Villa itself is 3-star at best, and in a pretty modest state of repair with cracked concrete, unweeded paths and un-cut grass. The vitally important heated pool was far too cold to use. On arrival we were unexpected and the Villa full. This turned out to be an admin problem on the Villa's part as the booking agents were able to prove that a confirmation booking had been sent 3 weeks before (denied by Villa 55). Farouk, the chef, is a lovely man but he is not the man to be handling a major booking problem! He was stuck with us on his own and tried his best, but ............ to his credit he did get us in to a good hotel in the area (The Pullman, Palmeria) for the first night - at shortly after midnight.
The proprieter was unavailable and the admin secretary was more interested in her baby than any difficulties (perhaps understandable but you do not tell the customer that!). In the end it was the booking agents (Michelle at Jetline Holidays) who sorted us out handsomely by providing a top hotel for the last 2 nights and a bottle of Fizz to calm our nerves.
In short the Villa would suit those on a back-packing holiday or on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Did not see any good rooms. Probably best at the front of the "complex".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevor494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were booked in for a weekend for a trip we booked 4 months ago, we arrived at the airport (on the 19th of april) to no transfer (on phoning the hotel it arrived 30mins late) we were then transfered to the hotel which is about 30mins outside of Marrekech (total trip about an hour). When we did arrive i must say it looked stunning, we recieved our drinks and booking went well, we were upgraded and told we would be moved the following day to another room, so far, so good. we had a fab day and a great day in Marrakech. we had a great dinner and a great night sleep in a lovely aircon'd room. however the following day after we had our breakfast and were told we would moved around 11.30... 11.30 came and went and when i challenged the staff about our new room they only then informed us that they were moving us to a completely differernt hotel!!!! without the lunch we were promised and to a hotel that did not sell alcohol! clearly we wernt happy, the hotel dont allow you to pay as you go along, they dont tell you prices and when you want to they only then tell you that they only take cash!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gethinlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Villa 55 is a fine hotel where we found our rest in combination with the beautyful surrounding of the Palmerai (nice for a bikeride), the excitement of nearby Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains. Very friendly service, good food, nice & clean rooms. Manuela - Amsterdam

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived at the Villa 55, located in the Palmaraie area in the northeast of the center of Marrakech after a short 20 Minute’s trip from the airport. We relied on a transport organized by the hotel through an agency in Marrakech. This service worked perfectly.

Shortly after entering the small hotel complex we encountered a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The hotel manager Alexandra met us personally, easily completed all formalities and supplied us with offered tea and biscuits and gave an update of the most important information on Marrakech.

The resort is in very good condition, well maintained and well laid out in detail with care. This applies even more for the rooms, which were designed in a right mix of style elements of old Arabic architecture and modern design. Who wants to treat themselves to a real luxury tries to grab the 3-bedroom suite with dressing room and a huge bathroom with sunken tub or the roof suite with great views. Who gets by with less is still spoiled with at least 2 bedrooms and Entrée.

The hotel food is cooked by a Moroccan chef who knows how to combine the craft of good French cuisine with the typical spicy dishes of his homeland. Especially recommended are its selection of local appetizers and a remarkably rich chocolate mousse. Among the main courses stand out his Tajine with beef and the vermicelli noodles. We had some trouble to decide as to who was the jewel of the hotel, the chef or the manager. Both are likely to have a significant part in the success of the project.

Alexandra's husband, a former elite cyclist, organizes longer bike tours and bike weeks in the higher regions of the west of Marrakech on request - it is a little cooler in the mountains, but be aware: this man is pretty fit. Do not try to challenge him when cycling in the Moroccan heat.

Small and big needs are met by the staff quickly and friendly. Tea, coffee, juices and pastries are offered at prices that we can dream in Central Europe only. Leave the organization of transportation to and from the city and other places necessarily to the hotel. This costs a little more, ok, but it works - even in terms of punctuality - quite outstanding. The drivers are familiar with the area, the price is fixed, and each driver speaks besides classical Arabic at least an Arabic dialect, French and English.

The price-performance ratio convinced (the food may be a bit more expensive than expected), the rooms are more than generously sized and equipped, the hotel - around the central pool – offers a working Wi-Fi for free. The only caveat: Hot water in the morning takes a little longer.

A small hotel with some incredible guest rooms and suites, which is run by Alexandra skillfully.
Our overall assessment: Highly recommend.

Thanks to Alex and her team, Peter & Claudia

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa55marrakech, Responsable relations clients at Villa 55, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank severinec0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villa55marrakech, Responsable relations publiques at Villa 55, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
4.8 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#2 of 306 in Marrakech
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
Riad Utopia Suites & Spa
#1 of 306 in Marrakech
448 reviews
5 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
4.9 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#2 of 1,170 in Marrakech
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa 55

Address: Douar Makina | Bab Atlas, la Palmeraie, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 306 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $134 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa 55 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa 55 is a charming boutique hotel, situated near Marrakech, in the heart of the Palmeraie. At 15 minutes from the famous Djemal el Fna place, the Villa 55 is also located one hour from the ski resort of Oukaimeden, and in a few minutes of the finest golf courses in Morocco. The hotel is composed of 8 individuals suites and 2 rooms. Scattered around a beautiful outdoor heated swimming pool, all suites of the villa are very comfortable and subtly decorated with fabrics and furnishings combining the elegance and the Moroccan tradition. They all have an area of about 80 m2 and a garden. Some suites can accommodate up to 5 people, they are composed of a double bed, two benches separated, a single bed, a bathroom with shower and toilet separated, hairdryers are also available to you provision. The rooms have air conditioning, heating and some fireplace for chilly nights of winter. You will discover Moroccan dishes prepared by our chef, with vegetables form our organic vegetagles garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa 55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing