We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Decameron Issil
Ranked #606 of 1,145 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our first time in Marrakech and were impressed by the reviews. The hotel is a short distance by taxi from the busy city and offers a welcome relief in its tranquility. The hotel sits in in wonderfully tended gardens (more gardeners than Kew!). All of the staff were fantastic and friendly, language was no barrier, although our French is limited. Great variety and quality of food, and plenty of it. Rooms are large and comfortable and are clean and well kept. Reception were helpful in booking a guide and taxi to get into the city, which was worth the money. If you want an amazing day trip to the Atlas Mountains we can recommend Legendes Evasions, which we booked in England. Just one tip make sure you have several 10 dirhams coins if you need access to the wi-fi. It costs 30d for half an hour and change was almost impossible to get from the hotel. This was a great short break in a very good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    323
    119
    69
    55
See reviews for
301
266
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I read with some concern some of the other reviews but my concerns were completely unfounded.

Yes the hotel is largely occupied by a French tour company - however there were other English people there during our stay. And yes the staff speak French-as is the case with the country as a whole. We found the staff to always be friendly and helpful and we were able to get by with a few words of French and some gesticulating! To be honest I was more embarrassed at my inability to speak any language other than English rather than irritated by them speaking to me French. In Morocco generally French is spoken-there is limited English spoken so if you're not going to like that don't go!

The hotel is very nice and in lovely grounds-a welcome retreat from the madness that awaits beyond the gates! The rooms are quite basic but very clean and the beds were very comfortable! The pool area was lovely but I imagine the pool feels small in the height of the summer. The food was great-usually always some traditional Moroccan fare along with the usual chips etc. My husband is vegetarian and always managed to eat well-if you're a fussy eater you may struggle a bit. I've never been anywhere where the all inclusive soft drinks are Coca Cola, Sprite, Fanta etc (by which i mean branded soft drinks) and the servings of spirits are generous to say the least (and not watered down!).

The entertainment is in French-we're not that bothered about the entertainment when we go away-but the tour reps are happy to include you if you want to be included. They are also more than happy for you to use the ping pong, mini golf, tennis etc.

Overall I'd highly recommend it. It's close enough to the centre to not have to pay a massive taxi fare to get in, but is far enough out to have lovely grounds and feel relaxing. Go with an open mind and a few words of French and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpittam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

On entering the grounds of this hotel I was amazed at how beautiful it was and reception was very nice with comfy seats to the side. As I had just arrived I was in need of the loo so used the facilities in reception. The flush was broken so you had to hold it in place to flush the loo and when I was washing my hands I found the tap was not connected to the base?!
We were then taken to our room along a long corridor and, on entering, first impressions were ok until I went into the bathroom. The bath had a large chip in the enamel and the glass shower panel was glued to the bath so you had to climb into the bath to turn bath taps/shower on so you got soaked with cold water before getting out of the way. Also the hair dryer didn't work and a 4 star hotel should really provide a bar of soap at the very least!
The bed was like sleeping on bricks, very uncomfortable and the noisy corridors at night will keep you awake until quite late.
I can't fault the food; it was fantastic. And the staff in the restaurant were really lovely.
This hotel's grounds were beautiful and the facilities were really nice.The pool area and bar were comfortable and the seating around the grounds were great.
The hotel mainly caters for the French and find the English really hard to understand.
This is a very money-orientated holiday and locals will try to charge you 3 times the worth of any item, so don't pay it.
So to sum up food fantastic, grounds fantastic, restaurant staff helpful but the room a major let-down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Slough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
633 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having read the comments and speaking only pigeon French I was a little nervous about our short stay here, however found the staff to be so sweeet and accommodating that it really wasn't a problem at all. Yes, we couldn't fully get involved in the entertainment, but Butlins for the French is not my cup of tea at all so nothing lost! In fact one of the entetainment staff joined us for dinner one night to make us feel more at welcome and practice his already excellent English.

The room are OK - the bathrooms very tired and not somewhere you want to spend much time being honest. An urgent refurbishment would be needed in my opinion.

Good location and the food was excellent for the standard with good choice. The bar also made excellent coffee and mint tea (better than the machines in the restaurant).

I would rate this hotel as a 3 star UK standard due to the rooms.

Room Tip: Away from the main hotel area as noise from the guests travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debsywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have just come back from a week here and though most of the staff were very friendly and the food was ok it was not a great experience. Reception staff were never particularly friendly or helpfull when we had problems
Our main complaint is with the animation team, on the first day when they realised we were English they ignored us then in the evening we were enjoying a drink in the lounge and watching TV a member of the animation team switched off the tv and told us to move as they were having a French quiz we politely declined. On complaining to the manager he said the team are bought in by the tour company and not his responsibility.
Things did improve slightly but if you want a holiday with good entertainment and conversation with guests and staff DONT GO HERE
The one saving grace was Assil who gave out the towels he was always friendly/polite and willing to help

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raptureman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arromanches-les-Bains, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Though it's a big hotel, the quality is good and the people are very friendly. A large variety of food every day which wasn't bad at all. If you're going to Marrakesh, this is one of the hotels to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Floris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Decameron is a short taxi ride from the 'madness of 'marakesh'.
The grounds are lovely, full of fruit laden date palms and cactus plants that are very well tended to on a daily basis by the team of gardeners.
The rooms are a generous size, plenty of storage space and are cleaned every day. Towels, soaps etc are changed and replenished daily.
The food was excellent every day and every meal.Presentation was outstanding. The chef keeps a keen watch on each service with pride. Justifiably so!
The waiter service was freindly and efficient.
Plenty of choice where refreshments were concerned!!! Don't like it? Try something else!! Nothing was any trouble to the bar staff. Bottles of water handed over with no arguement.
French speakers most definetly have the upper hand!!! Or do they?!?!? Not being able to join in the animation is not always a bad thing!! Being left to your own devices is much more favourable!!
The langauge barrier gets crossed eventually!! If you want/expect everybody to speak English......stay in England!
Few handy hints:-
1) boarding passes to be filled in on arrival and DEPARTURE.(take a pen!)
2) change your money in small amounts
3) change money into Dirhams OR Euro (both accepted)
4) exchange any Dirhams back to sterling at the change bureaus at the airport.
(can be done at bank, but you need reciept or atm slip)
5) be prepared to queue at check in on arrival. Staff are in no rush whatsoever!!
6) ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ams1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#407 of 499 in Marrakech
684 reviews
8.7 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.3 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#126 of 499 in Marrakech
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#115 of 499 in Marrakech
907 reviews
3.1 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#114 of 499 in Marrakech
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Issil

Property: Royal Decameron Issil
Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 1,145 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Issil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Issil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing