We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't be put off if your English” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Issil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Decameron Issil
Ranked #475 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
457 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Don't be put off if your English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having read the comments and speaking only pigeon French I was a little nervous about our short stay here, however found the staff to be so sweeet and accommodating that it really wasn't a problem at all. Yes, we couldn't fully get involved in the entertainment, but Butlins for the French is not my cup of tea at all so nothing lost! In fact one of the entetainment staff joined us for dinner one night to make us feel more at welcome and practice his already excellent English.

The room are OK - the bathrooms very tired and not somewhere you want to spend much time being honest. An urgent refurbishment would be needed in my opinion.

Good location and the food was excellent for the standard with good choice. The bar also made excellent coffee and mint tea (better than the machines in the restaurant).

I would rate this hotel as a 3 star UK standard due to the rooms.

Room Tip: Away from the main hotel area as noise from the guests travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debsywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    320
    116
    70
    50
See reviews for
299
261
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have just come back from a week here and though most of the staff were very friendly and the food was ok it was not a great experience. Reception staff were never particularly friendly or helpfull when we had problems
Our main complaint is with the animation team, on the first day when they realised we were English they ignored us then in the evening we were enjoying a drink in the lounge and watching TV a member of the animation team switched off the tv and told us to move as they were having a French quiz we politely declined. On complaining to the manager he said the team are bought in by the tour company and not his responsibility.
Things did improve slightly but if you want a holiday with good entertainment and conversation with guests and staff DONT GO HERE
The one saving grace was Assil who gave out the towels he was always friendly/polite and willing to help

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raptureman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Arromanches-les-Bains, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Though it's a big hotel, the quality is good and the people are very friendly. A large variety of food every day which wasn't bad at all. If you're going to Marrakesh, this is one of the hotels to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Floris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Decameron is a short taxi ride from the 'madness of 'marakesh'.
The grounds are lovely, full of fruit laden date palms and cactus plants that are very well tended to on a daily basis by the team of gardeners.
The rooms are a generous size, plenty of storage space and are cleaned every day. Towels, soaps etc are changed and replenished daily.
The food was excellent every day and every meal.Presentation was outstanding. The chef keeps a keen watch on each service with pride. Justifiably so!
The waiter service was freindly and efficient.
Plenty of choice where refreshments were concerned!!! Don't like it? Try something else!! Nothing was any trouble to the bar staff. Bottles of water handed over with no arguement.
French speakers most definetly have the upper hand!!! Or do they?!?!? Not being able to join in the animation is not always a bad thing!! Being left to your own devices is much more favourable!!
The langauge barrier gets crossed eventually!! If you want/expect everybody to speak English......stay in England!
Few handy hints:-
1) boarding passes to be filled in on arrival and DEPARTURE.(take a pen!)
2) change your money in small amounts
3) change money into Dirhams OR Euro (both accepted)
4) exchange any Dirhams back to sterling at the change bureaus at the airport.
(can be done at bank, but you need reciept or atm slip)
5) be prepared to queue at check in on arrival. Staff are in no rush whatsoever!!
6) ENJOY!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ams1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We read with some concern the negative reviews about the hotel- primarily concerning the lack of English spoken at this establishment, although this proved to be a boon for us as we wanted a quiet uninterupted holiday, which the Decameron delivers in spades. However if you don't mind this and/or speak a smattering of GCSE French- read on!

The hotel is some 3-4 miles from the town centre, about a 40 minute walk and a 60/70 dirham 'petit taxi' fare if you're in a rush. It's grounds are lush and well tended and the mix of small chalet type accomodation and larger 16-20 room blocks is of a decent standard, being built in 1991. We were surprised about the size of the room and the generous bath/shower/bidet/toilet room and how clean it was. The aircon worked, the beds were new and quite firm and the sheets crisp and clean. Room service were round every day with fresh towels, although pool towels had to be collected from reception as the 'card' system they operate wasn't working.

On our arrival we managed to squeeze in a dinner and were surprised at the quality and choice of foods served- an extensive salad bar and cooked meats and tagines, plus a grill and desert bar. Wine is served with lunch and dinner, with bottled water, though only hot drinks and juices are available at breakfast which mystified us somewhat. My partner, well travelled and schooled in things all inclusive said this was the best hotel food she had eaten and I couldn't agree with her more. There is a strong continental theme to the food as the hotel caters for 99% French speaking guests- during our week there we counted three other Englanders holidaying there.

Eating wasn't traumatic- with only 200 rooms we never felt like being in a cattle market and were only left looking for a seat one lunchtime toward the end of our stay, following an influx of guests.

The staff spoke a mixture of reasonable English- more so than my French, which gets worse each year. Morocco was a former French colony up until the 1950's and the influnence of it's 'mother' country is writ large throughout it's culture and French is an unofficial second language. We certainly didn't find anyone rude ( well, not the staff ) and as a whole the Moroccan people are very freindly. Also Morocco is far from a 'regular' tourist destination for the English, but so long as you bear this in mind, there's no reason not to come here.

Facilities wise, we didn't sample the nightclub/disco which we never heard from our block which was quite near, although I was treated to drunken arguments between 1-5am, following the return of some of the guests, which wasn't helped by the tiled floors and high ceilings in the hall, which didn't help my sleep on some of the nights.

The indoor pool is quite warm and spacious, the 11am waterobics aside, though we didn't try the outdoor one. Try as we might we couldn't find a sauna (as advertised) and the non inclusive massage was 430 Dh and very half hearted and not a full hour and can probably be found cheaper in town.

Drinks wise, there was a range of cocktails- some good, others less so, but Rum, Vodka, Whisky ( tastes rather aniseedy), Pernod and Gin available, plus Stork beer ( Moroccan brewed and not bad!) and juices, Tea, Coffee and the national favourite Mint Tea, which is sweet and refreshing enough to convert a cynic like me. Drinks are served 10am-2pm weekdays apparently, though we were early birds to bed.

The downsides? Well if you want to be involved in the poolside animation ( we didn't) or you have kids, then you might need a good level of French to participate- they did try to get us to dance one evening in the terrace bar, but otherwise left us alone as we sat beside the pool one afternoon.

In our room we found the shower head was fixed and thus flooded the bathroom on full power and on two separate occaisions I had to eject cockroaches from the bathroom, having come through the louvred wooden cover- a radiator cover basically- under the sink, though the only wildlife in the grounds were a few well fed cats and lots of birds- given that we were in Saharan Africa then I suppose this was to be expected.

Our toilet was continually running-easily fixed with the stop tap set to off- and there was a slight warp to the patio door which allowed winged guests into the room to bite me, despite our Mosquito killer plug in- I'd just splather yourself in Lemon oil instead- cheaper and more effective.

It might be an idea too, for the management to spend some cash on new plates, cups and machinery- some of the coffee/drinks machines looked very grubby and I noted their platewashing machine had left more than one plate dirty in the pile, having spent two whole days with a very painful stomach, this point seems quite pertinent- although no one else seemed ill and my other half was fine.

Despite this, I enjoyed my time here and can reccomend it to people wanting something a little different.

Room Tip: Chalet type rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank AndyYorks77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed in the hotel one week in april. When i first came to the hotel i was very impressed. The room was very nice, and the restaurant was accellent, the food was good, and there was a good variety of food. But unfortnely the service was very bad. If you don't speak french, you don't get any service/help at all!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissThomsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Have just returned from a week in this hotel. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds very comfortable. There was always plenty of choice in the restaurant which caters for most diets. The staff were very friendly even if they only spoke French but we still managed to communicate with them.

The gym was a disappointment with only two bikes, a broken stepper and a couple of multi-gyms which were also broken. Although this was reported several times nothing was done about it. We plan to go back next year and hope that improvements have been made.

All in all, this was a great holiday and I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow so you don't have any noise from people above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Farnesy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel Les Idrissides
Hotel Les Idrissides
#184 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
8.7 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
2.9 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#274 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#101 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 4,055 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#309 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Issil

Property: Royal Decameron Issil
Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Issil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal Decameron Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Issil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing