We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing with caution advised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Decameron Issil
Ranked #579 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing with caution advised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Beautiful hotel in lush surroundings about 3 miles outside the town centre. Rooms spotlessly cleaned and amazingly comfortable beds. Great swimming pool and plenty of sunbeds, free towels provided for all inclusive guests. Food absolutely delicious and loads of it. Staff friendly and polite. Too far to walk into centre but free hotel shuttle bus provided although at unusual times. French clearly language of hotel, english not easily spoken or understood. Biggest negative was the music, it was unsuitable holiday music with lots of load beats and was constantly blared from swimming pool entertainment bar and made conversation and reading around the pool difficult. Music in the evening didn't always finish on time (stated as being 21.45pm).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank strictmum99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    323
    119
    69
    55
See reviews for
301
266
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Again this hotel had mixed reviews, and yes there are a lot of French there but if you reply to the staff in English they change to our language, even housekeeping.
Went again with 76 yr old father (parkinsons, diabetes, glaucoma etc) and family down to 2 yr old grandson. My father was taken poorly whilst there, but they arranged an English speaking doctor for us and went into the town to get the medication. Staff couldn't do enough for us and they love children.
The food could not be faulted, unless you are a very fussy traveller, with Moroccan , French and Italian evenings. Rooms are good, air con is excellent and is needed.
Marrakech is not the place to go if you do not like the heat, 45 - 50 degrees by 2.00 p.m.
but if you are a sun lover then would definately recommend.
There is a shuttle bus that runs you into the souks and city centre running every day except Sunday. Would suggest you get out early as by 12.15 pickup it is very hot!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karyanne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

As a couple who wanted to chill by the pool in an all inclusive hotel, this totally fitted the purpose. If the below points fit your needs, then give it a go....
1. The room was fine. Tiled floors and balcony, a little basic but cleaned every day. The TV was pretty useless and we usually take a portable DVD player on holiday to hook up to the TV. The TV remote didn't work but we got by. You don't go to Africa for the TV programmes. We saw a few cockroaches, but this is the pre-Sahara. They are only large beetles and they won't harm you. The rooms seem to be sprayed now and again to keep them at bay.
2. The food was very good. Buffet style with theme nights for good variety. There was always a Moroccan touch available (tagine etc) and I can't fault the choice. Wine was very drinkable (very important).
3. The language - very predominently French. We got by ok at the bar etc and worked out the best English speakers in the staff - who made an effort for us when they realised we were English. We booked a trip to Essaoiura from the Hotel and the guide only spoke French while on the mini bus - but he made sure we knew that it was a French guided tour and understood when we went off to make our own way when we arrived.
4. Pool area. Superb. We were early risers so we got a good spot. Temperatures were around 40 degrees all week so we made sure we had a brolly! The pool was cleaned daily and a nice temperature for a cooling swim.
5. Themed nights included activity from the French speaking animation team. There would be a bit of translation into English over the PA system but it was French music and games and the French loved it. Totally not a problem for us. It was entertaining to watch them.
6. Spending cash. I hardly spent a penny while on our all inclusive holiday. There is a small shop open in the morning which was the only place my wife could get cigarettes. Other than Essaouira and the airport, I only really spent cash at the end of the holiday tipping those who looked after us. I probably averaged a tenner for the faces I saw all week - and they were very grateful. Their job is probably quite good by Moroccan standards but the price of a round of drinks in a UK pub would probably mean much more to them. They certainly seemed very grateful. Outside of the hotel, the Moroccans are very friendly - it feels like they want to talk to you in case they can get a bit of cash from you. They aren't too pesistant because the Moroccan Government have undercover tourist police who keep an eye out for anyone who might cause you a problem. I don't think you'd feel any more vulnerable than would you feel in London for example. Maybe even less so.

As a footnote, in June, it was too hot for us to take the short trip to go around Marrakech but I totally recommend Essaouira for a Moroccan experience with a cooling sea breeze to make it comfortable. I would go back again when it is cooler to see more of Marrkech itself. You could do Marrakech in a long weekend with it's shortish plane flight time but we loved our week of relaxing just outside of the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ob1onlyhopeless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Forget what everyone else says, this hotel is 100% French speaking and solely geared towards them. The staff speak a very small amount of English but it is limited.
Having said that it did not deter us from having a great holiday. The hotel and beautiful gardens are spotless and extremely well maintained. The hotel is situated about 5 miles outside Marrakech in the country side and is enclosed by a wall. There is gate security.
Our rooms were spacious and cleaned every day with new towels. Did not receive a sheet change during week. The temps were very hot into the top 90's so the air condition was fab. There are no fridges in the room. The TV received a CNN news channel and 2 others in English with Arabic subtitles.
The restaurant was spacious and never a problem getting a table, your meal comes with water and a choice of red/white wine.
The food was superb, great choices at all 3 sittings. The bar was well stocked with local brand beer and spirits but used with real Cocoa Cola, Fanta, Sprite ,Schweppes etc.

You could also get coffee/tea as you wanted it. If English then ask for a Liptons, this is the nearest to a home brew as the Morrocan tea is mostly mint (which is also very nice)
The snack bar beside the pool has every drink you could want from alcohol to a range of soft drinks. They also cook if you require a snack mid meal, crepes, hamburgers, chips, pizza etc.
When you book in get towel cards from reception, you can hand these in at the poolside and get towels for the pool, a handy way of not having to take your own beach towels.
We booked our own holiday on the internet, a taxi from the airport cost us 200dirham going back it was only 150dirham (aprox 12.5 =£1) probably a little more than necessary but not too much over the odds. Remember to ask price first and make sure it is for you all, not each person.
Well worth it to do a tour of Marrakech, we asked first choice rep if we could book with them 400dirham pp for an all day 8hrs tour of the city with a lovely meal included. very good value, as if we had gone on our own would not have seen half of what we saw and where we were taken. Various other tours on offer, people spoke highly of the Atlas Mountain tour and the Oura valley waterfalls.
Hotel staff as well as the Morrocans we came across were very pleasant and friendly, we had no problems at all. Saw the site of the bombing in the main square where flowers and a shrine had been erected.
Always ask prices first, especially if you are getting a drink in Marrakech otherwise you will get ripped off. And haggle, haggle and again. Our wives bought 2 kaftans starting price was 350 dirham each in the end we got them for 100. But plenty of advice on other blogs about bartering.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tankywalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

I couldn't wait to see marrakech now I wish this 7 days never happened.
I went to Marrakech with my husband, we stayed in Royal Decameron Club Issil.First day was great, we saw Jamal el Fna etc. and then horror has started.Every day we had cockroaches in the room-they are huge 2 inches long.We've reported this to reception every day, they sprayed the room and...that's it.Linens were dirty, first night I had a linen with huge (table size)stain in the middle.Food not great-most of the times we had to eat freanch baguettes because everything else taste like big bunch of coriander-coriander everywhere with everything, enough is enough.There was no drinls selection-just gin with tonic and rum with coke.We felt like second category tourists because staff were helpfull and friendly just for French tourists. Overall-horrible experience, waste of money.The only good thing I can say is great mint tea everybody have to try.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magdalena84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

This hotel only caters for French speaking people,all activites,entertaintment is catered for french.Food not impressed at all,everything has got beef in it even vegetarian food.Everything is labeled in french so you can not tell what is what.Not worth going.

arv

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arv26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

This is a really good choice if you want a quiet, comfortable hotel with great food in a peaceful location.
As a Brit, you will largely be left alone (if you want) whilst the French and Belgians get on with their organised activities; this does not mean that the hotel staff ignore you. I was impressed with how welcoming the staff were - the waiters and animation staff were very kind to my children.
Not only are the facilities pretty good for such a relatively cheap hotel, but we were really impressed by the quality of the food and wine. The rooms are clean and spacious.
Not many Brits stay here - which helps make this a quiet experience.

Room Tip: The Hammam was expensive for what it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhthynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
5.2 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#101 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,677 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#402 of 495 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
4.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#184 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#141 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Issil

Property: Royal Decameron Issil
Address: Circuit De La Palmeraie, Marrakech 1572 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Decameron Issil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Issil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing