We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not as shown in the pictures!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Amskal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Amskal
Ranked #548 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not as shown in the pictures!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We made our reservation after seeing the pictures in booking.com. We were very excited as the pictures showed beautiful rooms and even a terrace overlooking some gardens. Well, we never saw the nice rooms nor the terrace. We got a terrible room. Small, poor, smelly and, overall, not very pleasent. I conplained to the staff but they told me they couldnt do anything about it, even though there was no one else staying at the hotel - they didn´t even consider giving us another room.
The breakfast wasnt so good either.
We payed 24 euros per night (for two of us) which seems a reasonable price but Im sure that if you look around you´ll find something a lot better for the same price or less.

Room Tip: Make sure you don´t get the twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estebanjaramillop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    16
    2
    10
See reviews for
13
46
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed at this riad for4 days, pay attention to the photos as the rooms are smaller than you see in the photos, it is located in the old part of marakesh which to us was perfect very real and everyone very friendly, dont be worried about the small lanes as after first trip out easy to find your way back, the riad is immaculatly clean thanks to the hard work of Nadia and Mohammed I cannot praise these two enough, nothing is too much trouble for them, they are a pleasure to know, working so hard to give you all the information, help they can. Please realise these two work for wages not like european wages so tip them well as they rely on this, and honestly deserve all you give them, if you were in a hotel in europe you would tip so do the same here, I was disgusted to hear that tourists when we were there] left without paying their bill SHAME ON YOU! These guys have to pay that out of there meagre salary so please respect them. The only down side was small things like broken toilet seat which is the responsibility of the owner to fix not the staff who as I say are absolutly fantastic, THANK YOU SO MUCH Mohammed and Nadia for your kindness I feel honoured to have met you

Room Tip: in winter the suite on the top floor best as opens up onto roof terrace, but in summer take a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

So, it was a balmy February evening... we landed in Marrakech.
We got a taxi to the entrance of the Medina, although its not really the main medina...
The riad was relatively easy to locate, however, in the dark, it was a bit creepy, walking through the twisting alleyways..

Our room was a bit dingy, but clean enough... The shared bathroom was small, and quite unlike what we had seen in the photos... Not to be too critical though...

The staff was friendly and attentive, breakfast was nice... mmmm fresh orange juice. and a nice crepe and sundry..

Marks out of ten... seven.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Moses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooglede, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Riad is very clean, situated in the Medina and thus close to some of the more important interesting places in Marrakech. Breakfast was enjoyed on top of the Riad with a marvellous view over the outskirts of the city. Mohamed was exceedingly helpful and very kind. Diner (not included in the price, of course, but fairly cheap) was typical Moroccan, very tasty and wealthy.
One minor issue was that, at least our room - located on the first floor - was very small, and devoid of any window.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceresa1480943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I certainly would not recommend this riad. The cleanliness of the room was very poor-especially the smell of rotten eggs in the room/bathroom, which was very strong. As we were leaving very early the next morning we were assured we would have breakfast, however all we received was a glass of orange juice. The final negative point is that for us, two female travelers, we were extremely uncomfortable walking in the area. The riad is very difficult to find, down some pretty creepy alleys. The only upside was that the attendant that was present during the night was very nice, bringing our bags to the taxi in the early morning, as we were uncomfortable walking in the area on our own. Pay the extra few euro and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nars85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This Riad had awful customer service: almost nobody spoke English, or Spanish like advertised. A note about security is that it is down a very creepy alley that had me worrying about my security every time I walked down it, and that no cars can get to the Riad. Breakfast was lacking, crepe, English muffin, cup of tea and cup of orange juice. We rented out their "nicest" room, with a bathroom and A/C, and we paid for it, which wouldn't have been so bad if the experience was what they said it would be. The room had A/C but it leaked on the bed all night and now my sister is sick because of it. Also one of the lights in the room exploded above her head and fell out of the fixture. The room consistently smelled of rotting eggs and the door wouldn't really close all the way.
A plus is that the room had a/c, the girl who cooked the food was very nice.
I wouldn't have made so much of a fuss if they had given me some kind of a break on the 122 euros that we were charged for 4 nights we stayed, but alas, they did not and would not even consider it. So we were forced to pay the full amount and left very angry and unhappy.
Please for the sake of your happiness during your stay in Marrakesh, stay away! Find a different Riad, I know there are better ones out there.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room from this Riad, that will automatically improve your choice =]
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zytiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were given a room downstairs without windows. The doors were going directly to reception and breakfast place. There was no toilet or bathroom in the room at all, you had to use the public one.. Not what it said on the website at all.
Totally dissapointed, that we still had to pay for the half of the stay even though we found another hotel and only spent one night in this Riad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ub0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#79 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
Hotel Cecil Marrakech
#260 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Naya
Riad Naya
#312 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Picolina
Riad Picolina
#530 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Alnais
Riad Alnais
#182 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#159 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amskal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amskal

Property: Riad Amskal
Address: Sidi mbarek | n° 129 sidi mimoun, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #548 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Amskal is a small charming riad nestled against the walls of the Mamounia gardens. This is a genuine small Moroccan House with all the modern comfort. The district is the new Royal Palace and large riads belonging to celebrity. From its terrace view is completely unobstructed on one of the most green places of the Medina.Samira, the owner retains a warm to the marrakchia and is small care for its clients. Place stove you will discover all the flavours of its tajines and other pastillas or Moroccan salads which it has been the secret (on order). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Amskal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing