We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Marrakesh Medina away from mass tourism!”
Review of Riad Al Idrisi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Al Idrisi
Ranked #856 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience Marrakesh Medina away from mass tourism!”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Beautiful Riad, with nice interiors, the typical patio and the views on the roof top. Fireplace is also not missing, making it an excellent offer to experience Marrakesh from inside. After 3 visits to Marrakesh I must say this area within Medina is excellent as it gives you all you need like souks and close enough to main square while being away from mass tourism. I also liked the 'real' Marrakesh around with shops where the real artisans produce the goods sold on the souks. Net, excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casmurro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Our stay in the Al Idrisi riad one week ago was the perfect choice for our city break. It is quite close (about 10-15 mins walk) to the main touristic attractions (the renowned Jamaa el Fna Square, the Koutoubia Mosque, the souks, etc), but also manages to keep a quiet and discreet appearance, away from the noise and buzz of the streets.

We had asked the riad staff to arrange the airport pick-up and drop-off, which spared us from the hustle of finding reliable transportation. Once we got to the Medina (the old town), we were welcomed by the accommodating and friendly staff, who took our luggage and showed us the way to the riad. As soon as we arrived, we were served the traditional and delicious baklava and mint tea on the riad's beautiful terrace, while being pinpointed (on the map provided by the riad staff) the most important places to visit, and the quickest paths to take in order to reach them.

We stayed in the Ibn Battuta room on the first floor, which has interesting lighting and decorations and a good sized bathroom with shower room and a beautifully painted sink. The room is perfectly dark even in the morning, so one won't require their eye mask. Breakfast was rich and varied, one shouldn't miss the freshly squeezed orange juice, which will, however, make one reluctant to go back to the Tropicana one :) In the evenings, we enjoyed spending time in the lovely lounge located on the ground floor, with authentic Moroccan decorations and music, while sipping traditional tea (beware that this contains green tea) and learning about local customs.

Our experience couldn't have been more pleasant!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Laura44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Superb location in the old town of Marrakech and very handy to the Main sq and numerous souks. Quiet but never isolated as you can often hear the call to prayer. Has that north african exotic feel about the place and the staff when present are superb hosts. We had the place to ourselves (6 pax) which made it all the more special. I occupied the upper most room and was able to enjoy wonderful evening sights over the roof tops of marrakech, good for sun bathing as well. Bed comfortable and great shower with high pressure hot water available at any time. Food excellent and on one evening they supplied a superb evening banquet for us. What a great way to celebrate a successful ascent of Toubkal. Highly recommend the Riad and a stay in old Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mervyn40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Overall my wife and I were pleased with our experience at Riad Al Idrisi. The staff was incredibly helpful and extended themselves on a number of occasions to help us do everything we wanted in Marrakech. The riad is tucked away but quiet and very comfortable and the price is great. We stayed in the rooftop room and loved it.

Overall we truly enjoyed our stay the riad didn't have wifi as advertised which was unfortunate because we had planned on doing a little work from Morocco and were counting on the internet access where we stayed.

Small tip: if you're taking the train out of Marrakech you can save cash by taking a petite taxi instead of the riad van. We took the van and it cost $20 when a petite taxi should be no more than 20 dirham (about 2 bucks).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Stayed in Riad Al Idrisi, sister Riad of Riad Mur Akush, with a group of 10 students from Europe. The hotel was ideal for our large party--the riad was comfortable but still cozy, and at a great price, with a delicious breakfast prepared for us every day and extra amenities (private dinner, group expeditions) available for arrangement through the sister riad, Riad Mur Akush (a much more upscale and larger riad, where the owners were incredibly kind and accomodating). Would definitely recommend if you're looking for the Riad experience on a tight budget or with a large crowd.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sword110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

This riad is a jewel hidden in the medina's neighbourhood maze. With en suite rooms overlooking the central courtyard and topped off with a sunning terrace, it was comfortable and decadent.
The riad is conveniently located near the main souk Jemaa El F'na, but also has a local market that is just as interesting. We went for a gorgeous fish lunch where you choose your fish from the monger and in 15 minutes you have a feast of lightly fried fish. Don't miss the avocado milkshakes further in the market.
The riad is fantastic for recommendations. For more of a treat, ask the riad to arrange a spa hamman. Every time I go, I'll schedule that first. We travelled to the Sahara and the riad put us in touch with a fantastic riad in Merzouga who arranged a magcal overnight desert trip.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenbeckmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2010

An amazing place to stay. Beautiful views over Marrakech as the sun goes down. Fantastic, comfortable and clean rooms. A lounge perfect for friends and loved ones. Loads of space and tons of charm. Very close to everything you want to see in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemann1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#238 of 500 in Marrakech
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 500 in Marrakech
1,940 reviews
0.0 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#101 of 500 in Marrakech
389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Idrisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Idrisi

Property: Riad Al Idrisi
Address: Derb Sidi Lhassen ou Ali 66 | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #856 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Idrisi is a beautiful, traditional Riad in the heart of Marrakech's fabled medina. It is a ten-minute stroll from the famous Souks and Markets and is situated in a quiet, pedestrian-only area of Marrakech. It is perfect as a base for your holiday in Marrakech and the surrounding area or as a haven of peace and tranquility in the bustling heart of one of North Africa's most vibrant and exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Riad Al Idrisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing