We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Riad!”
Review of Riad Baba Ali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Baba Ali
Ranked #235 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My friends and I had a great stay at Riad Baba Ali. The Riad is absolutely beautiful, specially the roof terrace and a little swimming pool, an oasis of calm which is very much needed after walking the streets of Marrakech. Clean and comfortable rooms with very nice bathrooms. We stayed in Zagora room, very pretty. Excellent Moroccan Cuisine. The staff was really helpful, specially Hassan is a great host and provided the best hospitality we could have imagined. He helped us to find our way around, suggested places to eat and ensured we were able to enjoy our stay in Marrakech to the full. You can ask him what ever you need and he will try to help you. We would recommend anyone to stay in this Riad and treat yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AAndreja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Riad Baba Ali
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Believe me, if You will ever be Hassan's guest in this hotel, you will remember those vacations for rest of your life :) I had a really great time, and after I felt totally rested. Rooms were big, and full accomodated, with everything what can be needed on vacations. Room service - great! Breakfasts - great! Manager - PERFECT! Last year i thought that this year I am going somewhere else, there is a lot of pretty places to see. After one week in Hassan's hotel, I know that I just don't want to go somewhere else, I have started collecting money for Maroko again :)!
See You soon my friend :)!!

Room Tip: Talk to Hassan if You need ANYTHING, he will just fix it :)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mateusz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was travelling with my friend and was pleased to be able to book a Twin room, 4 nights B&B. The riad is tucked away in a quiet alley and is a heaven of peace. Its deco is delightful, fresh, very tasteful and charming and all rooms overlooking a pretty courtyard &the pool - just what we were hoping to find in the beautiful city of Marrakesh. Our room was clean and we liked the personal touches such as lovely Moroccan style glass jars with shampoo/shower gel, the nice thick raspberry colour bath towels and the copper bathroom sink and copper towel rails.
The staff was very friendly and so helpful and really made our stay enjoyable. Hassan was always very welcoming and friendly. It was our first time in Morocco and he was a fantastic source of advice, always patient with us, answering all our questions and giving us useful tips.
The location of the riad is in a quiet alley off the main street but i enjoyed hearing in the distance the buzz of the town from the top roof terrace. We also liked the fact that it was a slightly away from the more touristy area. ie. about 10 min walk to 'La Maison de la Photography' and about the same to 'Le Musee de Marrakesh' and 'Koranic school' which are not to be missed. Its about 15 min walk from the main square; Yes we did get lost on our first day (despite Hassan’s map!) and yes the local children knew we were tourists! However, we were 2 girls visiting the city and we never felt unsafe walking back to the riad. I am so glad we stayed in this not-so-touristy part of the old town and got the best flavour of the real old ‘Medina’. It was a different experience to my usual holiday (mostly been camping/self catering/All Inclusive in UK &Europe) but for us it was a very good experience.... and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms including 1 Twin.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luco88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This riad is as beautiful as it looks on the pictures. However, the location has to be the worst in Marrakech. Youngsters/kids hanging outside pestering you for money and even threatens you if you don't give them what they want. Also if you looking for somewhere where you can have a nap during the day, this riad is not for you. My husband & I stayed there for 4 days. We would usually be up, have breakfast and go out whole day and come back late afternoon hoping to have a couple of hours nap before going out in the evening. However, this was impossible as there is one particular staff (female) who talks very loud and it's non-stop! She can go on and on and for hours!!! She is totally inconsiderate to the people staying at the riad. Sometimes it gets even louder- like she is having a heated argument. For this reason and because of the very bad location of the riad, I would not go back.
On a positive note, the 2 other staffs Maroune et Halima were very nice & polite. The bedroom was nice- although there was one afternoon when there was no hot water and had to have a freezing cold shower. The staff didn't know what was wrong and didn't even apologise for the inconvenience.
We stayed in 2 different riads during our stay in Marrakech. I will chose the other one over this riad without any doubt.
Last but not least, be careful with your bill!! Double check it as we got overcharged. We were charged for a taxi transfer which we never used - €15 and the quote for the room were much higher than the quote I was confirmed by Venere.com but we couldn't be bothered to argue and paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestlyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

First of all to say: if you are travelling through Marocco, how could you possibly expect streets and environment and people's behaviour like in Europe? If you do, then stay in new town, in all-inslusive hotel or just stay home. If you do travel to broaden your horizone, then the best place to stay in Marrakesh is in old town, souk-area, el-moukef, where this Riad is located. The streets around the Riad are dirty and chaotic and it does need some time to get used to children begging for or expecting money for any advise you may or may not have asked for, but if you know how to behave (don't ask them, never give them money, stay calm but with strong voice; if you do get lost, rather ask a shopkeeper) then you will fall in love with the busy street-life! We were travelling as two single Girls but never felt unsafe, if you do behave ok and if you do dress respectfully, like not showing your underwear on the streets and not wearing the shortest skirt you have (like some tourists do). It seems kind of complicated at first to get out and back to the hotel, but with one explanation of very helpful staff-member Marwan, we didn't have to ask anyone a single time and never got lost. It was about 10 minutes walking to Main square.

and if you do arrive at this Riad coming from busy and noisy streets, you will feel like in heaven. It is right away cooler than outside and also very quiet. It was absolutely clean and beautifully decorated and the staff was helpful and very kind. Due to some tours we had to get up early in the morning but Marwan never hesitated to help and support us, prepared breakfast even at 5 in the morning with fresh orange juice and such. The only thing i missed in the room was a bathroom door, as it depends who you are travelling with and you might want some privacy. But other than that the stay was fabulous and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktatuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were only meant to stay for 2 nights at this Riad and go up to the mountains for 1 night but it was too beautiful to leave! We were in awe when we arrived at the tasteful decor and cool and calm interior. We were greeted by Marwane who looked after us with his big smile all the way through our stay, sitting with us for tea when we first arrived and drawing us a map with all of the best restaurants and sights. We would go on daily outings of about 4 hours then come back to the calm of the riad for some time to relax and a dip in the pool. It was so easy with our airport transfer and Marwane also booked our day trip to the mountains. we had a stunning dinner in the riad as well just my partner and I - heaven! It was so sad to leave and I will reccomend this riad to everyone who goes to Marrakech. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laf_Dupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We travelled to Morocco in mid Feb this year and we were really unsure of whether to stay in a Riad or a big hotel in the main city area. Having found this riad from trip advisor reviews I must say that it lived up to its expectations and as soon as we arrived the staff (Maroune, Saloua and Mathieu) were very helpful in accommodating us. The weather was beautiful and the food and service in the Riad was just amazing! We all loved Maroune and the cooks and enjoyed all the dinners and breakfast we had in the Riad. For value for money I think this is the best Riad going but I'd say it is more suited to couples as it is a bit small if you are going with a big family. It is in the old city of Medina and will give you a great insight into the heart of Moroccan culture. Also, the photos they've put up are exactly how it'll look and even better if the weather is really good.

The only downsides to the Riad are that it is a bit hidden away and when we travelled there were roadworks going on right outside. It will take a bit of getting used to as you have to travel through a few alleys from the main path to get to the Riad. The biggest downside is the kids around the area who want to help you get to the main square (Jema el Fena) all the time and other places and after showing you they expect a lot of money. The best advice from the Riad was to make sure you don't ask them for any help even if you do get pestered every two mins when walking along. The square and souks isn't too far away- about 15 mins walk from the Riad. Everyone does seem to complain about the area however, it was very quiet when we went and most of the people were friendly. You have to remember that it isn't as luxurious as the main city but to get the best experience of the culture and living in Morocco you should stay in Medina and this would be the best Riad for service and food :) You also get free wifi.

The new city is only 10 mins away in a taxi if you feel like going out for something more modern but definitely try their main dishes and tea.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about the same and great value for money. Cleaned every day
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binya004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad 5 Sens
Riad 5 Sens
#299 of 502 in Marrakech
147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#216 of 502 in Marrakech
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#291 of 502 in Marrakech
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#238 of 502 in Marrakech
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#51 of 502 in Marrakech
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#91 of 502 in Marrakech
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baba Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baba Ali

Address: 74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $56 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baba Ali 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from Medersa Ben Youssef and the museum of Marrakech, after to have probably crossed the carrying ones bread, at the bottom of the derb Baba Ali “name celebrates in our imaginary”, you will find the door of your Riad. Strike, then… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Baba Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing