We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Riad on Earth!!!”
Review of Riad Baba Ali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Baba Ali
Ranked #236 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The cleanness, food and service is superb! Marwan, the receptionist and guy in charge, is the most friendly person on earth. I have read the reviews before going, and it looks like lots of riads are nice, but from my personal experience this was superb!

Everyone on tripadvisor complains about the area where all the riads are, but that is Marrakesh, its not specific to any riad! And again, if you don't like the Marrakesh holiday type, just don't bloody go!!

Marrakesh comments aside, this is a very beautiful riad with the best clean and friendly service ever. Lunch or dinner is a bit Europe-price, but it is tastier than any thing u will eat outside for the same price!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adelpierro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Despite having to pick our way through some major sewer works, it was well worth it. Maroune and his staff are so friendly and welcoming, willing to help with any arrangements. The riad is beautifully furnished with with breakfast on the terrace in good weather and near the indoor pool otherwise. Dinner is a great bargin---we ate there every night but one. Can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very nicely decorated riad with terrace and a little swimming pool. Splendid food and lovely staff. We truely enjoyed dinner by the pool and the long conversations with the staff. Very well appointed and charming room. The fact that the rooms could not be locked could possibly present an issue for some people but I don't think that anybody should be worried =) Nicely set in the middle of the medina of Marrakech and very good price/value relation! Until next time - in challah!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this riad for two nights. We stayed first riad l'Oisoua du paradis but it was not good as this riad. Maroune welcomed us. He is such a helpful and nice person. You can ask him what ever you need. The riad is clean and really nice. The roof terrasse is perfect. We had breakfast there. OUr room was Quarzate and paid 45 euros per night.
The area is a bit rough. MAroune drew us a map to get to the Jma El FNa square but still got kinda lost. A guy came to us and wanted to show the way,but took us to a dark place and asked for money! my Guy refused to give money and argued. he eventually left because he saw walking towards two other tourist to get help. The first time was a bit hard to get to the square, but then after it was easy. You just have to get used to it.

You just have to look confident and keep you r voice strong. Thats all. IF you look or say you are muslim they will even respect you more and they will not take you to wrong small roads.

This riad is really nice, I am not regretting it. I paid more for the riad we stayed before, it was a easier route the square but it was not nice as this riad baba ali. I am regretting kind of a but why I stayed there!

Maroune is also a very helpful guy, who works in riad Baba ali. He makes this riad special!
Whatever you need, he will try help you.

Room Tip: Quarzatate on the first floor is good. You will have a bit of wifi in that room still because it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfreaks2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed 1 week in january,visiting Marrakesh and play golf. Exellent location in the middle of the Medina .I had the room on the top of the riad ,gorgeous room,very clen,nice,large and very quieter. I have breakfast and lunch every day,the food is excellent ,prepared by a great chef
" Halima "very sweet lady,always a happy face.
The host "Marouane" a very nice young man, who speak a excellent english. you can asking anything, is always happy to serve you.
I definitely recommend the Riad Baba Ali.
xxxx

Room Tip: I love the room on rooftop of the riad with a beautiful patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in this riad for 3nights. We had to get used to the fact that you have to wander trough a small maze before you can enter the riad. But it turns out you'll remind it quite easy (3 rights, 1 left). It's true that there are allways some children hanging around and they will always try to 'help' you, by showing the way although you know it yourself. We never gave them money, always told them when they were coming along that it wasn't necsesary and just ignored them. Seemed to work, because we never had problems with them.

Beside this, the riad is a very nice play to stay. You won't notice anything from the hussle and bussle of busy Marrakech. Our room was realy cool, quiet and dark at night. It looked and was also very clean.

The staff was very polite and kind every time and nothing was too much asked. One night, we wanted to go to a restaurant, but we only had the adress. So we asked the owner of the riad to call a cab. He offered to bring us, because going by cab would be expensive and would take some time because of a complicated route. We told him it was to much, but he insisted. So we agreed and we took of. We rode trough Marrakech by night with two scooters (a friend of him came too) trough a maze of alleys and finally arrived at the restaurant. When we finished we just had to ring him and there they were again! It was a very cool experience and way more then he needed to do.

So, to sum up: if you just have the guts to tell the kids at the door no, you will have a wonderfull time with a more then friendly owner and staff.

1  Thank Simone1787
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sister and I stayed here in early June and it was one of the best parts of staying in Marrakech. It was a little quiet oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the medina.

The rooms are gorgeous and clean and lovely and a nice size. We had the room at the very top so we felt like we had the whole rooftop to ourselves.

The lovely Marouane who works there, brought our breakfast and dinner up there every day, and it was absolutely amazingly delicious. We totally fell in love with him by the way, he was so sweet and helpful and always told us if we'd spent too much on a scarf or pair of shoes after a hard day of shopping and bargaining.

The Riad itself is beautiful, with a little pool in the middle of the courtyard, wireless Internet down in the lounge area so we could upload our photos every night to make people terribly jealous on Facebook, while Marouane made us tea.

We thought it was in a great location as it allowed us to go for a walk to the main square every day (and get lost pretty much every time) and stumble upon beautiful places. Like a carpet shop which happened to have previously been a palace.

It's also crazy how when it's 35c and hot and dusty outside you walk into the Riad and its lovely and cool inside. It's amazing how the houses were designed.

Marouane helped us plan where we wanted to go, how to get there, how much it should cost. And he also helped shoo away the throng of neighbourhood kids who would follow us to the riad, singing the whole way. Presumably rude songs about us but oh well.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Riad Baba Ali!!!!
Beautiful, friendly lovely people, great value for money, amazing food.

One tip about Marrakech in general - have a coin purse full of change ready otherwise you will spend $100 a day giving people money for "helping" you turn left when you were turning left anyway, and to give to the beggars. Oh and watch out for the henna ladies in the main square. They will grab your hands and start painting even when you say no, and then get abusive if you don't pay up.

xxx

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeetyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad La Rose D'Orient
Riad La Rose D'Orient
#332 of 499 in Marrakech
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#169 of 499 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#123 of 499 in Marrakech
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#264 of 499 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#250 of 499 in Marrakech
187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#88 of 499 in Marrakech
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baba Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baba Ali

Address: 74 Derb Baba Ali | Moukef, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $54 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Baba Ali 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not far from Medersa Ben Youssef and the museum of Marrakech, after to have probably crossed the carrying ones bread, at the bottom of the derb Baba Ali “name celebrates in our imaginary”, you will find the door of your Riad. Strike, then… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Baba Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing