We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, but that's about it”
Review of Manzil la Tortue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manzil la Tortue
Certificate of Excellence
Mayenne, France
1 review
“Good restaurant, but that's about it”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

(la tortue manzil). Now we went there because we had read loads of reports giving it really good write-ups and to be honest when we got there and looked around I was really impressed and I have to say the food in the restaurant was excellent although quite expensive for Morocco. But after a really good meal on the first night, for me, things really went downhill.
At such a famed campsite where the overnight charge is twice as much as any other site we stayed on in Morocco I would expect all the facilities to be in tip top working order. Well we had electricity to each camping-car parking space but they'd turned the water off. There were only 2 men’s showers and neither of them was working properly because part of the shower system was missing.
The site also offers a 'comfort taxi service' into Morocco that turned out to be a clapped out small people carrier that was as dirty inside as it was outside and the doors didn't close properly so I could see the road through the gap. The charge is 40 dh per person each way, so if 1 person goes presumably the charge is 40 dh, but if 4 people go its 40 dh each. Another site that we stopped at in Marrakech on our way back north, albeit not quite as far outside Marrakech, charged 40dh for one person and 12dh for each additional person, which sounds fairer to me.
Okay, you might think I'm a whinger, but the final straw and the main reason I decided to warn about this place was when I asked the Belgian proprietor if they could exchange or re-fill one of my gas bottles. The reply was. No problem. How much will it cost? I asked. 350dh to re-fill your empty bottle, was the reply. That sounds quite expensive. Oh no came the reply, propane gas is very expensive over here. So, to cut a longer story short, I declined.
At our next campsite they re-filled my bottle for 50dh. Okay, because of the way they did it I accept it was probably only half filled, but litre for litre still a lot cheaper than la Tortue were going to charge. The charge at the other campsite for a new bottle would have been 21dh

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gismo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    49
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
98
114
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We took the tortuous journey down the horrible 2.5km track to this site to be met by over officious and insulting staff. We were so put off that we left. It was the worst experience we have had on our fantastic Moroccan trip. Go to the site right next to the Koutoubia Mosque in town instead, and walk every where with ease, much better and only 60 Dirhams a night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westbrook114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManzilTortue, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very surprised about your e-mail which is totally unfair for many reasons.

First of all we would like to remind you that we are a first category guesthouse (price of the room starting at 850 Dhs/Night). We do welcome a maximum of 7 motorhomes or 4x4 cars, looking for quality and for the comfort of an hotel (price per vehicle including 2 persons - 180 Dhs).

You are comparing us with a "site next to the Kotoubia Mosque" which is a parking for 60 Dhs. Do you think that it is fair to compare a simple parking with a 2 hectares site with an hotel, restaurant and 400 m2 swimming pool.

Now we would like to inform all readers WHY you wrote this comment. This is just because you refused to comply with the local regulation, being to identify yourself. You have been requested to submit your passports for check-in and you refused to do so.

This is the only reason why you are so upset. Nobody has been over officious or insulting you. We have just been firmly asking you to comply with the Law of Morocco ... We have to report daily to the "Gendarmerie Royale" with Last Name, First Name, Date of Birth, Passeport Number, Delivery and Expiry Date, Morrocon Police Number stamped in your passport, date and place of entry ...

This is a pity that you did not want to comply with a very simple and quick procedure ...

Kindest Regards,

André LECHAT
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you need to get away from it all a couple of days - this is the place. Our teenage daughters and we really enjoyed our stay with Mr. Andre Pascale and his family. His excellent chef Mr. Guillaume Mautalent servered us the best food every - through-out our hole stay. Thank you so much!
Even though its not more than 20-30 min from Medinaen - it might be hard to find. But remember when your taxidriver stops for the second time to phone and check where it is - you're almost there.
Excellent transferservice if needed from Manzil la Tortue to Medinaen (t/r)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Moved hotel after 3 days...rude owners and miles from anywhere...don't stay here, it's also a tent you stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hags S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManzilTortue, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
We were expecting your comment on TripAdvisor and we are sure that you will understand that some clarifications are necessary for the readers.
First of all you arrived about midnight without calling us and despite the fact that the check-in desk closed at 22;00 PM. One of our staff member was waiting for you and installed you in your room. Also there was a tray in your room as a complementary welcome with fresh moroccan salads, bread and water. Due to your late arrival, no informations were given to you that night. In your room there was a 40 pages welcome book with all information regarding your stay by MANZIL LA TORTUE.
On your first morning, you went for breakfast and we gave you full explanation about your stay. You enjoyed the 400 m2 pool and visited Marrakech. When you came back from Marrakech, you arrived in our guest house with three big bags full of food and drinks. We indicated you that we were a guest house and that we were not allowing any food or drinks coming from outside (which is the case in most of the guest house of Marrakech). You get very upset and this is the only reason why you are writing "Rude owners".
Despite the fact that we were not allowing personal food and drinks, you did stay two additional nights eating and drinking in your room ... completely ignoring our request.
Regarding you comment about your accommodation, you have been booking a charming room under a pure moroccan tent with air conditioning, private bathroom and full hotel services. You know that we have also luxury rooms in villas with flat screen tv, mini-bars ... but this is not the same price.
Now your comments of "rude owners" are the opposite of what the others are writing about us. We are just surprised that you have not been explaining why you were not happy and why you moved after 3 days. This should have been more fair ... as we have never been rude and as we have just made a comment that you just ignore.
We are also shocked about your grading about the beds (first hotel quality), about the cleaners (we are very cautious on that / your rooms being perfectly clean) and about the services (that you did not used : no drinks, no meals, no sightseeing, no massages ...).
Again we are sincerely sorry that you did not like our stay by us.
Accept anyway of apologizes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Manzil la Tortue in our campervan in the heat of July. It was such a wonderful repsite from the dust & dirt & poor conditions of some Morroccan camping sites. Lovely well-laid out level van sites with grass surrounds & olive trees. The toilet block was clean & great showers. The pool was a wondeful find to relax by under the trees in the extreme heat. Friendly & considerate hosts & all the staff are wonderful. Transport was arrnaged into Marrakech which was great.We so enjoyed our break there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Me and my wife spent our honeymoon at Andre and Pascal's lovely resort. We opted for one of their tente des nomades to stay for the week and I have to say that I was a little sceptical when Lorna suggested it. I am more than happy to say I was wrong and should anyone else out there wish a honeymoon or holiday that's a little different, then this is the place for you. The tent was clean, had air conditioning and wi fi and fully equipped bathroom and shower and as you can see from photos, the pool and restaurant were great. I would recommend that you take the half board option as it is.good value and the quality of the food was fantastic. So much so.that Lorna nearly traded me in for the chef!!! Seriously though, it was restaurant quality food.that would cost you double in the city.
Our hosts also provided travel in and out to Marrakech at our convenience and made us welcome during our stay and we didn't want for anything. In summary me and my wife Lorna can't praise it high enough and wish Andre and Pascal every success.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbono75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Pascale, myself as well as all my team, we would like to warmly thank you for tour very kind comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay by MANZIL LA TORTUE. We are dedicated to quality and service. We are very proud that we have achieved this for your satisfaction.
Just one point : you should have told us that you were on honeymoon ... we will have added special attentions for you. So let us congratulate for your wedding and wishing you a lot of happiness and all the best for your new live.
We will be very pleased to welcome again, if you wanna visit another time Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Since our last visit to Marrakech we have travelled extensively in Morocco but we decided it was time to treat ourselves and return to Manzil la Tortue. Treat ourselves we did! We stayed in a hotel room on full board, food was superb-breakfast set you up for the day! We slept in surroundings that reminded us of many of the places we had visited. Fossils on the walls, fossils in the marble work surfaces, reed ceilings, polished plastered walls and amazing brick domes. Our room had all of the modern conveniences including a very comfortable bed! It could have been a real mish mash of Moroccan and European but it was a wonderful blending of the two. This is a place to totally relax and know all your needs would be catered for with a smile.For the novices to Morocco this is a must as you receive guidance on all aspects and are able to really relax and enjoy this wonderful country. Andre organised a 6 day trip to the desert in a 4x4 staying at a variety of Auberges and visiting many places of interest.
I had to leave at short notice as my aged mother was taken into hospital and I was advised to return as soon as possible. Pascale organised flights and Andre made sure I got to the airport on time. I had to leave my wife behind, she was well looked after by Adre,Pascale and their 3 children and was welcomed as an extended family member. Good service- human kindness or both?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wally_ryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManzilTortue, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
In the name of Pascale, my wife, and myself, we would like to warmly thank you for your comment. We would like also to thank you for your kindness and friendship. We have been very pleased to spend those days with you and to offer you another way of discovering Morocco. Doing such a project is in our spirit a way of sharing moment of true friendship with our guest.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
10.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
5.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
1,220 reviews
5.9 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil la Tortue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil la Tortue

Property: Manzil la Tortue
Address: Km 12, Douar Gzoula, Ouarzazate Road | Commune Al Ouidane, Marrakech 40002, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 280 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manzil la Tortue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 12 km away from Marrakech in 2 hectares of lush greenery, the Manzil La Tortue Guesthouse combines authenticity with modern comfort, relaxed countryside lifestyle with friendly service and true intimacy with a stunning view on the High Atlas mountains. Fouad and his team will greet you with typical Moroccan warmth and do their utmost to make your stay an unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Manzil la Tortue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing