We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful oasis”
Review of Manzil la Tortue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manzil la Tortue
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at Manzil la Tortue in our campervan in the heat of July. It was such a wonderful repsite from the dust & dirt & poor conditions of some Morroccan camping sites. Lovely well-laid out level van sites with grass surrounds & olive trees. The toilet block was clean & great showers. The pool was a wondeful find to relax by under the trees in the extreme heat. Friendly & considerate hosts & all the staff are wonderful. Transport was arrnaged into Marrakech which was great.We so enjoyed our break there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    51
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
100
117
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Me and my wife spent our honeymoon at Andre and Pascal's lovely resort. We opted for one of their tente des nomades to stay for the week and I have to say that I was a little sceptical when Lorna suggested it. I am more than happy to say I was wrong and should anyone else out there wish a honeymoon or holiday that's a little different, then this is the place for you. The tent was clean, had air conditioning and wi fi and fully equipped bathroom and shower and as you can see from photos, the pool and restaurant were great. I would recommend that you take the half board option as it is.good value and the quality of the food was fantastic. So much so.that Lorna nearly traded me in for the chef!!! Seriously though, it was restaurant quality food.that would cost you double in the city.
Our hosts also provided travel in and out to Marrakech at our convenience and made us welcome during our stay and we didn't want for anything. In summary me and my wife Lorna can't praise it high enough and wish Andre and Pascal every success.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbono75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Pascale, myself as well as all my team, we would like to warmly thank you for tour very kind comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay by MANZIL LA TORTUE. We are dedicated to quality and service. We are very proud that we have achieved this for your satisfaction.
Just one point : you should have told us that you were on honeymoon ... we will have added special attentions for you. So let us congratulate for your wedding and wishing you a lot of happiness and all the best for your new live.
We will be very pleased to welcome again, if you wanna visit another time Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Since our last visit to Marrakech we have travelled extensively in Morocco but we decided it was time to treat ourselves and return to Manzil la Tortue. Treat ourselves we did! We stayed in a hotel room on full board, food was superb-breakfast set you up for the day! We slept in surroundings that reminded us of many of the places we had visited. Fossils on the walls, fossils in the marble work surfaces, reed ceilings, polished plastered walls and amazing brick domes. Our room had all of the modern conveniences including a very comfortable bed! It could have been a real mish mash of Moroccan and European but it was a wonderful blending of the two. This is a place to totally relax and know all your needs would be catered for with a smile.For the novices to Morocco this is a must as you receive guidance on all aspects and are able to really relax and enjoy this wonderful country. Andre organised a 6 day trip to the desert in a 4x4 staying at a variety of Auberges and visiting many places of interest.
I had to leave at short notice as my aged mother was taken into hospital and I was advised to return as soon as possible. Pascale organised flights and Andre made sure I got to the airport on time. I had to leave my wife behind, she was well looked after by Adre,Pascale and their 3 children and was welcomed as an extended family member. Good service- human kindness or both?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wally_ryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManzilTortue, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
In the name of Pascale, my wife, and myself, we would like to warmly thank you for your comment. We would like also to thank you for your kindness and friendship. We have been very pleased to spend those days with you and to offer you another way of discovering Morocco. Doing such a project is in our spirit a way of sharing moment of true friendship with our guest.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bir Jdid, El Jadida, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Having driven down the very bumpy track for 2km we came to the gates of the "campsite". We were welcomed by both Andre and Pascal, with mint tea of course, and then spent the most enjoyable month there. I'm not sure that campsite best describes this little piece of heaven!!! There is also a hotel and nomadic tents available, so there is a constant change of company. The service is excellent, as is the restaurant ,a swimming pool to die for, a hammam a couple of times a week, and a taxi service into Marrakesh on demand.This is no ordinary place, there are many developments already started and I just cant wait to go back to see how they are progressing

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craggscrazycaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were there in september. This place was absolutely stunning and the service was the best we have had anywhere. There were no glitches - everything was perfect all the time. The staff are all so genuinely charming and relaxed yet completely professional and attentive. You are made to feel very welcome indeed.
We will be back!!!!
Manu D

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed 8 weeks because the service was excellent--breakfast delivered to your motorhome door, washing collected and returned, taxi service on request and car hire available. Superb restaurant serving local and international cuisine with wide variety of wines;chef willing to share skills and expertise of local dishes. 40 metre swimming pool, massages on request and hamman, jacuzzi available soon,all set in a beautiful and restful environment--one should not be put off by the immediate surroundings as the nearby local village does not give a good first impression to the novice new to Morocco. However you will soon warm to its' friendly people.
Rooms and tents are tasteful using local materials in traditional style. Furnishings and decoration again reflect Moroccan culture.
A warm welcome awaits you from the owners who are multi lingual and will go out of their way to make your stay special with organised trips to places of interest, activities arranged and accompanied trips to the desert can be pre-arranged.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wally_ryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#195 of 499 in Marrakech
743 reviews
5.9 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil la Tortue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil la Tortue

Property: Manzil la Tortue
Address: Km 12, Douar Gzoula, Ouarzazate Road | Commune Al Ouidane, Marrakech 40002, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manzil la Tortue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 12 km away from Marrakech in 2 hectares of lush greenery, the Manzil La Tortue Guesthouse combines authenticity with modern comfort, relaxed countryside lifestyle with friendly service and true intimacy with a stunning view on the High Atlas mountains. Fouad and his team will greet you with typical Moroccan warmth and do their utmost to make your stay an unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manzil la Tortue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing