We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Riad Zineb

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Zineb
Ranked #569 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Riad Zineb is absolutely wonderful place that is being looked after by two most pleasant people, especially the lady who always greeted us with amazing modesty, hospitality and smile.
This Riad has most beautiful I have ever seen patio with rose petals in the fountain, real orange trees, small swimming pool and tortoise for a pet (real tortoise :) :)) - he even had his own small house :)
Very traditional interior with loving details incorporating arabic culture, very very beautiful. Breakfast every morning on the terrace was wonderful with mint tea (of course), freshly squeezed orange juice that tasted nothing like Tropicana which I have considered to be good (not anymore). Traditional pancakes and bread served with variety of jams and some butter were also very very nice. And also, you will be given some yoghurt too, creamy and delicious.
I would recommend to everyone to pre-book a taxi via hotel, as this Riad is in one of these tiny streets you wouldn't think that Riad could be placed there. We would have not found it using a map, so I am very very happy we have ordered taxi to show us the way, especially because we have arrived 7pm and it was dark. To add culture shock to it and these lovely tiny streets during the day can become a bit overwhelming in the dark.
Overall, wonderful and exotic experience and once again we are very grateful to the lady working at Zineb, shame I can not remember her name, but she is definitely a gem

Room Tip: sleep quality was interrupted by prayers 5am, but this is their culture, so I can not really complai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Like every other guest of Riad Dar Zineb, we really enjoyed our stay, and agree with every positive comment that has been said about it! It was really lovely, and we appreciated the attention to detail in the decoration of the rooms.
I brought my daughter to celebrate her 21st birthday and we had such a special time, it was a peaceful, comfortable retreat from the buzz of the Medina. We were made to feel really welcome by Khadija and Abjlil, and I'm sure both saved us quite a lot of money in recommending the price that we should expect to pay for some of the treasures on offer in the souks. Thanks also to Michel for the helpful and friendly advice in his emails before we arrived. Marrakech was mad in the best possible way, I really hope we visit again one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Happydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The riad is really beautiful, nice patio with the swimming pool, nicely decorated rooms in the
Moroccan style. Very atmospheric and authentic - helps to get away from the routine, feel relaxed and calmed.There were few guests when we stayed there so the place was very quiet. Comfortable beds, nice bathroom, very helpful stuff.
The small street where the entrance is situated looks somewhat unattractive, but everything felt really safe. It's max 10 min walk from the main square (unaccessible by car), and provided you've got some sense of direction not hard to find at all.
We booked the pick-up at the airport, it costs 150 dirham while the taxi is 60, but was convenient after the flight.
Nice breakfast with yoghourts, pastries and fresh orange juice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdmdmd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunschweig, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The medina of Marrakesh is an interesting place in many points. It is a very angry city that remains in a time where technology did not exist and people were working with their hands. However it's central square "Jamal el Fna", which is translated as "square of death" immediately points the character of the city: It is not a friendly one. People are angry, traders are pushing their best to sell their merchandise, children have lost their innocent character to the necessity of food, women are trying to hide their feelings behind a burka, tourists are trying to fight their way through extremely busy streets. Peace is captured in the grounds of this city, noise and rush are ruling inside its tall walls.

In that aspect it is a very interesting city. A red city both in its walls and in its flags, this kingdom of fear is hosting like every other city in the world both the yin and the yang, both evil and good, both angry and peaceful.

And the peace has escaped to its Riads. Riad Zineb is a pearl of the Riads, both in its architecture and in its character. Peace has discovered this oasis in the desert and has selected this location for its residence. As soon as its thick wooden door closes the garden of eden unveils, with its refreshing swimming pool in the middle that has respected the local architecture and art displaying a marble fountain on its side. Its enourmous wooden doors, the high ceilings and the size of the building show that it must have been the home of the weathly tradeperson. With its handful of rooms for all the family members one can fully imagine the daily life in this small palace with the servants providing for the well-being of its rich owners.

The servants of this Riad, Khadija and Abjlil are humble people, rare to be seen in the streets of Medina, the ones that are already destined to the kingdom of God or Allah for the locals. The small turtle that roams around from time to time seeking for a piece of watermelon or grapes is keeping company to the children and confirms that paradise is a garden with life. The furniture, hand made by careful carpenters are pieces of unique art and results of hard work. The tiles in the floors and in the bathrooms are carefully assembled one by one creating stunning mosaics that are comparable to the ones found in the palaces of medina. The bathrooms are implementations of deep imagination and meditation, rooms that one would dream to have in their urban apartments as well. Art is the ruler of this house.

I would recommend Riad Zineb to everyone that wants to stay in Medina, experience this unique city and find a peaceful residence during the hot hours of the morning sun.

I would recommend medina to people that are interested to experience something new, rare to be seen and are ready for adventure. People who are armed with patience for the huggling and juggling of the souks, people who know how to find their way by themselves and trust their feeling. For business people or elderly I would recommend the new city with occasional visits to the Medina. The modern city has modern buildings, very good restaurants with international food and many conveniences such as taxis, cars etc.

But for the ones really ready to experience the uniqueness of a city living in its own era, a city not to be seen anywhere else on this earth, the Medina and Riad Zineb is the place to stay. Shortly put: If you are ready to do it, do it properly.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the rooms of the lower floors during the summer. They are cooler without air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellasangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed in this Riad for 3 days and 2 nights. The place is simply beautiful. One can relax and enjoy some quietness in the center of Marrakech. The owners are very helpful and nice to talk to. The Riad is extremely clean and the breakfasts are delicious. We had a wonderful time in this place and would very much recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinanay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We are a group of friends who rented the whole riad in April for a short holiday. We can only say that we had the most amazing stay. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean, well furnished, and authentic. The staff are wonderful especially Khadijah who made us the most wonderful breakfasts each morning at whatever time suited us, of pancakes, pastries, breads, jams honey and yogurt, and not forgetting the freshly squeezed orange juice, and tea and coffee. The pool and the roof terrace were a welcome change to the hustle and bustle of the Medina after a days bartering or sight-seeing. There's plenty of room for everyone if you are sharing with others and a mixture of sun traps and cool shade. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the main square which is just something else! Khadijah arranged a trip out to the mountains for us which was an experience well worth having. We can't think of any negatives and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this oasis.

Room Tip: All fabulous,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howardsway58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,146 in Marrakech
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#100 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
11.5 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zineb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zineb

Property: Riad Zineb
Address: 145, derb El Kadi | Azbest, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #569 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zineb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing