We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Riad Karmanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Karmanda
Ranked #381 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A charming riad in the hussle of Marrakech, perfectly located. Only 10 min walk from the Djemma el Fna place and the souks. The rooms are comfortable, clean and charming. The bathrooms are nicely decorated. As in most riads and hotels in Morocco a hot shower is not a given, certainly not in the morning in winter time as the water needs to be heated by the sun collectors on the roof. Same goes for this riad, but your luck will be bigger at the end of the day.
Ahmed does his utmost to make you feel welcome and help you in any way he can. Great tips, great drivers, very reliable and helpful. He caters all requests and wishes, and all of this for a very acceptable price. A true bliss. Is fluent in French and English. Takes his time for all his guests.
Breakfasts are really made with passion for cooking, slightly different every day. And if you feel like eating in for lunch or dinner, you will not get disappointed. Amina rules the kitchen and knows how to make you happy at the table.
Coming back at the end of a full day, you can take your glass of wine in the lounge area, and as it was New Year when we stayed here, the fire was lit.

Room Tip: Maybe you would like to book a room on the roof terras as you might get disturbed with the noises fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 164 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Karmanda for a few nights while in Marrakech. The riad was beautiful and very comfortable. We were warmly welcomed and looked after very well by Amina, the host. I would recommend a massage and hammam session and the lovely plunge pool.

One thing to bear in mind is the walk to the Riad from the main square, Jma el Fnaa, which is a bit tricky first time and takes a good fifteen minutes on foot, stressful in August heat. Taxis don't seem to go there when the street is busy (most of the day) but more of a snap shot of real Marrakech than in the more touristy bit!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jac_025_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Riad is wonderful and the stuff were very friendly. We liked the quitness of riad and its lovely smell after walking in the chaotic streets of Marrakech. We have been there with our children of 6 and 9 years old who loved the small poll in the patio. Breakfasts are excellent with coffee, muffins and fresh orange jiuce. We stayed in Majorelle room on the roof that has a direct access to the terrace. Even if it doesn't have a particularly nice view it was relaxing to stay in the evening after the sunset at the fresh breeze. A couple of small issues about our room were it was a little bit hot during the night because of the exposure to the sunset during the day and the bathroom doesn't have a door.

Don't miss the hammam and the relaxing massage.
The stuff organize also trips to every tourist destinations near Marrakech and you can get all kinds of suggestions.
Position is good, just few minutes walk from djemaa el fna square.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gero1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Wow what a fantastic time we had staying here. We were a group of 11 girls who took over the Riad for a long weekend to see the sights, relax, and shop! All our needs were taken care by the lovely Ahmed and his staff - from arranging taxis, tour guide, to getting us more drink supplies - nothing was a problem for them. Some of our group went out shopping with Mina (who is an amazing cook) and she took them to the market to get the food for our dinner in the morning and then show them how to cook in the evening - a great experience, and even better, fabulous food! We had a lovely lazy day on the roof terrace, and the two massage women were kept very busy all day - you must try the hamman experience. The rooms are all really nicely decorated and look into the inner courtyard. Only a short walk (less then 10mins) to the main square so a good base to see all of the old part of Marrakech. Highly recommend to stay here for a real Riad experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chezzabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This was beautiful place with very welcoming staff, we had only booked the smallest , basic room but they gave us an upgrade as they had a suite available. there is a small, but beautiful splash pool and a pretty terrace for sunbathing. the staff stay up and wait for you when you go out at night and it felt very safe and secure. When we came back to marrakech after a trip they had no rooms available but they offered us a night in one of their sister riads, Riad Elias which was even more beautiful and definately worth $80 a night. Out of the two I would pick the second if you can afford it but both were great. Not all the staff spoke English but we got by. They arranged a taxi driver to take us to Pacha night club and he waited until 4am to pick us up! Can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpannerAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

If you are thinking of sampling the Riad experience in the heart of Marrakech then this is the place.Like an oasis in the hubbub that is Marrakech this is a good place to lay your head-a cool,calm and tranquil place to stay,within walking distance of the sights and sounds of the main square.Nothing is to much trouble for Ahmed and his staff and an added bonus is the hamman with a fab,relaxing massge at the end of a busy day taking in the sights.We would definately stay here again.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
Thank CarrieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have just got back from Morocco. We stayed here for our first two nights. The riad is a great little find. It is clean, tidy and very quiet place. It is well situated to get to the main square, just a 10 min straight walk to get there which makes getting back stress free and easy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were tasty and filling usually consisting on bread, pancakes and pastries, this is standard in morocco.

Our bathroom was clean, nice perhaps a bit small but had a big shower, no problems with having hot water or cold. one point of note is the bathroom had a curtain for a door, not a real problem but could be for some nervous people, just ask your partner to sing ;-)

We stayed while it was 46 degrees outside, our room (marrekech) had air conditioning which just about coped with keeping the room cool, but its a big room and a high temperature so you could not expect it to do much more.

We ate in the riad one night, the food was great, soup, tajine and chocolate moose dessert, while very nice we did think it was a bit pricey about 200 DR each and 150 DR for a bottle of wine. But i suppose compared to english prices its not that much.

Dont be put off by the lack of review on this site for Riad Karmanda. I was concerned when booking and still wonder why there are only 7 reviews but I suspect it is simply because they dont pester you to make a review, while other riads I stayed in did make a point of telling me to make a review.

Overall this is a semi luxurious riad which is immaculately clean, good facilities and located in a great place. We paid roughly £55 per night and feel it was very good value indeed. Cant really fault the place too much at all. I would gladly recommend this place to anyone of any background or age.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktomeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#123 of 502 in Marrakech
553 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 502 in Marrakech
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
2,086 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmanda

Address: Sidi Youb | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $39 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmanda 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few steps from Jemaa El Fna square, in the heart of the artistic and trade center of the medina, Riad Karmanda opens its doors into a home of charm and serenity.6 rooms, restaurant, SPA (hammam, massages and beauty care), organizing city tours and excursions, airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Karmanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmanda Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing