We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Karmanda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Karmanda
Ranked #428 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

A charming riad in the hussle of Marrakech, perfectly located. Only 10 min walk from the Djemma el Fna place and the souks. The rooms are comfortable, clean and charming. The bathrooms are nicely decorated. As in most riads and hotels in Morocco a hot shower is not a given, certainly not in the morning in winter time as the water needs to be heated by the sun collectors on the roof. Same goes for this riad, but your luck will be bigger at the end of the day.
Ahmed does his utmost to make you feel welcome and help you in any way he can. Great tips, great drivers, very reliable and helpful. He caters all requests and wishes, and all of this for a very acceptable price. A true bliss. Is fluent in French and English. Takes his time for all his guests.
Breakfasts are really made with passion for cooking, slightly different every day. And if you feel like eating in for lunch or dinner, you will not get disappointed. Amina rules the kitchen and knows how to make you happy at the table.
Coming back at the end of a full day, you can take your glass of wine in the lounge area, and as it was New Year when we stayed here, the fire was lit.

Room Tip: Maybe you would like to book a room on the roof terras as you might get disturbed with the noises fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    53
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Karmanda for a few nights while in Marrakech. The riad was beautiful and very comfortable. We were warmly welcomed and looked after very well by Amina, the host. I would recommend a massage and hammam session and the lovely plunge pool.

One thing to bear in mind is the walk to the Riad from the main square, Jma el Fnaa, which is a bit tricky first time and takes a good fifteen minutes on foot, stressful in August heat. Taxis don't seem to go there when the street is busy (most of the day) but more of a snap shot of real Marrakech than in the more touristy bit!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac_025_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Riad is wonderful and the stuff were very friendly. We liked the quitness of riad and its lovely smell after walking in the chaotic streets of Marrakech. We have been there with our children of 6 and 9 years old who loved the small poll in the patio. Breakfasts are excellent with coffee, muffins and fresh orange jiuce. We stayed in Majorelle room on the roof that has a direct access to the terrace. Even if it doesn't have a particularly nice view it was relaxing to stay in the evening after the sunset at the fresh breeze. A couple of small issues about our room were it was a little bit hot during the night because of the exposure to the sunset during the day and the bathroom doesn't have a door.

Don't miss the hammam and the relaxing massage.
The stuff organize also trips to every tourist destinations near Marrakech and you can get all kinds of suggestions.
Position is good, just few minutes walk from djemaa el fna square.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gero1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Wow what a fantastic time we had staying here. We were a group of 11 girls who took over the Riad for a long weekend to see the sights, relax, and shop! All our needs were taken care by the lovely Ahmed and his staff - from arranging taxis, tour guide, to getting us more drink supplies - nothing was a problem for them. Some of our group went out shopping with Mina (who is an amazing cook) and she took them to the market to get the food for our dinner in the morning and then show them how to cook in the evening - a great experience, and even better, fabulous food! We had a lovely lazy day on the roof terrace, and the two massage women were kept very busy all day - you must try the hamman experience. The rooms are all really nicely decorated and look into the inner courtyard. Only a short walk (less then 10mins) to the main square so a good base to see all of the old part of Marrakech. Highly recommend to stay here for a real Riad experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chezzabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

This was beautiful place with very welcoming staff, we had only booked the smallest , basic room but they gave us an upgrade as they had a suite available. there is a small, but beautiful splash pool and a pretty terrace for sunbathing. the staff stay up and wait for you when you go out at night and it felt very safe and secure. When we came back to marrakech after a trip they had no rooms available but they offered us a night in one of their sister riads, Riad Elias which was even more beautiful and definately worth $80 a night. Out of the two I would pick the second if you can afford it but both were great. Not all the staff spoke English but we got by. They arranged a taxi driver to take us to Pacha night club and he waited until 4am to pick us up! Can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpannerAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

If you are thinking of sampling the Riad experience in the heart of Marrakech then this is the place.Like an oasis in the hubbub that is Marrakech this is a good place to lay your head-a cool,calm and tranquil place to stay,within walking distance of the sights and sounds of the main square.Nothing is to much trouble for Ahmed and his staff and an added bonus is the hamman with a fab,relaxing massge at the end of a busy day taking in the sights.We would definately stay here again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CarrieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have just got back from Morocco. We stayed here for our first two nights. The riad is a great little find. It is clean, tidy and very quiet place. It is well situated to get to the main square, just a 10 min straight walk to get there which makes getting back stress free and easy. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were tasty and filling usually consisting on bread, pancakes and pastries, this is standard in morocco.

Our bathroom was clean, nice perhaps a bit small but had a big shower, no problems with having hot water or cold. one point of note is the bathroom had a curtain for a door, not a real problem but could be for some nervous people, just ask your partner to sing ;-)

We stayed while it was 46 degrees outside, our room (marrekech) had air conditioning which just about coped with keeping the room cool, but its a big room and a high temperature so you could not expect it to do much more.

We ate in the riad one night, the food was great, soup, tajine and chocolate moose dessert, while very nice we did think it was a bit pricey about 200 DR each and 150 DR for a bottle of wine. But i suppose compared to english prices its not that much.

Dont be put off by the lack of review on this site for Riad Karmanda. I was concerned when booking and still wonder why there are only 7 reviews but I suspect it is simply because they dont pester you to make a review, while other riads I stayed in did make a point of telling me to make a review.

Overall this is a semi luxurious riad which is immaculately clean, good facilities and located in a great place. We paid roughly £55 per night and feel it was very good value indeed. Cant really fault the place too much at all. I would gladly recommend this place to anyone of any background or age.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talktomeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#53 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#59 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#164 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#190 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad du Petit Prince
Riad du Petit Prince
#328 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#293 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Karmanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Karmanda

Property: Riad Karmanda
Address: Sidi Youb | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #428 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Karmanda 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few steps from Jemaa El Fna square, in the heart of the artistic and trade center of the medina, Riad Karmanda opens its doors into a home of charm and serenity.6 rooms, restaurant, SPA (hammam, massages and beauty care), organizing city tours and excursions, airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Riad Karmanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Karmanda Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing