We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas
Nearby Hotels
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$52
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$96
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$360
$270
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$320
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,070
$1,029
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$455
$439
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
200
32
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
32
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive treesafrican stylecomfortable sun loungersdeluxe suiteindividual hutsrelaxed hotelatlas mountainslocation meansate at lefour posterwalk in showercomplete relaxationkeftawonderful breaklush gardensthe hustle and bustlerelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 236 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Marrakech, the ultimate 'Marmite' city! After walking around the souks, bartering, getting lost (it's part of the fun, don't forget it was designed to confuse invaders), watching snakes, playing with monkeys etc etc you need to escape somewhere away from the many people (who are generally lovely), the noise, the atmosphere, and the Hotel Les Cinq Djellabas is the place to be. This small hotel, an oasis of calm, is sanctuary, approx 20 mins car ride (£10, arranged by the hotel) out of town. I don't want to repeat all the reviews but the food is good and reasonable, there isn't a main bar but the friendly staff will get you anything you want and bring it to you wherever you want, your room, the lounge, the heated pool or the lovely gardens, nothing is too much trouble, they want to help! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, not least the hotel has a family friendly atmosphere to it with mainly Brits all talking to each other with experiences and recommendations. all truely excellent which made our holiday worth repeating, I believe you could have a much worse experience being confined to one of the many riads in the city. Strong recommend!

Room Tip: I think there's only 10 rooms (chic huts) all very similar but go for the upgrade, there's nothing in the price and the freestanding bath with nice products is loverrrrrly!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnonOMous911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We'd already spent 4 nights in the Marrakech Medina so were more than ready to be embraced by the unassuming staff at this hotel and the restful AfriKaan chic huts. We were booked in for 3 nights and never left once we had arrived. The huts are well equipped with both aircon and heating and yes, the system might not have been the quietest in the world but it was effective. Great sized beds, lovely wet room area and nicely equipped toiletries. We had exclusive use of the hotel, i.e.we were the only people there for a couple of the nights but that was fine, our needs were catered for and we just chilled out on the extremely comfortable sun loungers. We asked for them to uncover the pool to use it and they were very obliging even though the water was still quite cool. The lounge has some DVDs you can watch there, or in your hut, and some books. The staff brought us mint tea in the afternoon and ensured we never missed lunch or dinner. The food was fine but, as someone has previously mentioned, you'd probably get bored with the selection after more than 4-5 days. If you're looking for a warm break literally away from it all then this is it. It was the perfect foil after 4 days of Marrakech madness!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brodesNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Marrakech. The rooms are small huts and they are finished off to a very high standard. The only problem with the rooms, was that they where very hard to heat up. And the clima system was very noisy. The service of the hotel is really excellent, my applaus to the people who trained them. We ended up having most of our meals at the hotel, since it is really far away from Marrakech. And we had a baby so it was easiest to eat at the hotel. The food is okay, but for a 5 day stay the menus where not large enough to keep us interested. So you have to really like Moroccan food to eat there a lot. But all in all very nice value for money, but i would not go back to Marrakech any time soon. The city is self was less than nice in our opinion.

Room Tip: If you can get the room with white furnitures thats the best. They seem allot bigger. And if you want internet inside the room dont book room 1 or 2. Seems like it only works inside from nr 3 and onward.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JokkeDeFrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

As a couple visiting Marrakesh, we wanted a mix of sunshine, culture and amazing food, and the Cinq Djellabas did just this! It was unique and peaceful, with the perfect hospitality that made the trip extra special. For us it was the small gestures of complementary mint tea by the pool, nuts and olives when you order a drink from your room.... it was the personal touches that made us feel welcome. The huts where clean, spacious and had a fusion of north African and French feel in an oasis. The Medina is 15-20 mins via taxi organized by the hotel, but it was good to have a mix of city and resort environments. Great way to experience Marrakesh!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zepport05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Les Cinq Djellabas having spent a fantastically relaxing week. We had a few days when it rained, but that allowed us to catch up on reading/relaxing! Either I. The room or in the first floor lounge. The staff are quietly attentive and remembered what we liked each day. The small but highly professional staff attend to all aspects of running the hotel all day, seeing them feels oddly comfortable after a couple of days. The restaurant at the hotel is small, comfortable and the food of good quality, although the menu is a little limited after a week. We found the breakfast adequate to get us thrpugh to dinner but lighter lunches are also available. Each day we were brought complimentary mint tea in the late afternoon -even if the staff had to track us down in our room rather than at poolside.

The complex is small, isolated and picturesque. African huts set in part of an olive grove. Marrakech medina is a short taxi trip away and a driver-guide will be arranged by the hotel for a reasonable rate. From the terrace one can see superb views of the Atlas Mountains, again these are a short trip away.

Take note of the other posts about the trip from the airport - the road really does peter away to a white stone single track just before the hotel -but don't be concerned. The destination is an idyll. Don't come here expecting nightlife, activities and entertainment. Do come if you want a secluded, friendly, attentive, totally relaxing and scenic enclave from which to base a stay in the Marrakech area. It is just about perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BilletDoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews