We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great riad with service to match”
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Ranked #240 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great riad with service to match”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A wonderful riad experience which certainly lived up to the five-star reviews posted by other tripadvisor users. We stayed for 7 nights in a superior double room, which benefited from a very comfortable four-poster bed. The room was a good size and very clean. That said, you will probably find most of your time being spent outside on their amazing roof terrace with views out across the city and Atlas Mountains beyond. We would recommend using the excusions offered at the riad to places outside of Marrakech as we received very good service on our trips to Essaouira and Ouarzazate (although be prepared for a long and winding drive out to the latter).

As commented by other users, the main square is around a 10 minute walk from the riad and we felt very safe walking to and from the square at night. We had most of our meals on the square, although when we returned from our day trips late in the evening the staff were more than happy to rustle up a simple dinner for us. As a tip, we would recommend trying Kosybar around 3-4 minutes from the riad which offers high quality international food (a welcome break from couscous and tagine!).

Finally, the level of service offered by the two owners and their team was exceptional. They were polite, friendly and spoke excellent English. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 501Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    103
    30
    6
    10
See reviews for
45
226
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Perfect!!!! Olivier and his crew are amazing and so nice and helpful. My room was very spacious, very clean and comfortable. Someone mentioned that it is an oasis in the middle of the Medina, and it is!!! I used the spa service and my skin feels soooo soft, love it!!!
The food is more expensive than in the square BUT totally worth it. It is fresh and delicious; you won't find that quality of food in the square.
Thank you so much for making my stay so pleasant !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liliana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A perfect place to stay in the heart of the Medina. The owners and staff are all so friendly and welcoming. They are attentive to needs, and ensure travellers new to Marrakech are provided with everything they need. The rooms are adequate and clean. The roof top garden is lovely and an oasis away from the hustle and bustle. We would certainly recommend and will go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline64680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Riad for 7 days. It is clean, spacious, authentic and is in the heart of the Medina - roughly 5-10 minutes walk to the sq and a couple minutes walk to the market. Myself and my partner absolutely adored this riad and we couldn't give this place any more praise. Nothing is too much of a problem, the staff are lovely and Olivier is hilarious and ready to answer any questions that you may have!! The food is delicious I LOVED the cake I couldn't eat enough of it, I even got Olivier to bake me one to take home!!! If organising trips etc then do so with Olivier as it is hassle free. Have the Hammam spa and body massage it is to die for . One more tip book the airport transfer as it is tricky to find at first! I will definitely be back in the near future and will 100% recommend this place to anyone that is traveling to Marrakech!

Room Tip: Request for a room upstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nichole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A lovely riad in a perfect location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are fairly small but clean, cool and have lovely bathrooms. Although the food is slightly more expensive than other places in Marrakech, it's worth it for the break from the hustle and bustle and to be able to eat in peace.
Like many Riads in the medina, it can be quite hard to find the first time which is why booking the transfer with the hotel may be worth while however it is more expensive than a taxi so if you're feeling brave and wanting to save a bit of money, leave the transfer and get a taxi from the airport.
All in all, a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hellybelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armacao de Pera, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

So, we were really pleased with everything about our stay and we were ready for a great review... but then, the last day came.

When we were about to leave we were bluntly acused of stealing the room towels and Damien, the manager, was absolutly DESRESPECTFULL! We said we didn't do anything and he said he knew we had stole it because his crew dosent lie, so we were the liars!
We offered to check or bags opened and he said that it was not necessary because he was sure of what we did!
This was VERY unconfortable and totally ruined our stay... We didnt pay what they wanted for the towels, and I left in tears very upset! Damien couldnt care less...
We had absolutly no meals at the Riad and that might be the reason we were treated this way... as we have seen other reviews had some problems for not spending money there...
Very unfortunate................................. other than that our stay would have been great...

- Be very careful about anything suspicious in this Riad and report anything so you dont have any problems like this...
- There is a 3€ fee for person for night, so be ready for it.

P.S. 50 dirhams (about 5€) is a good and reasonable price to the aeroport. You have to bargain, and try a few taxis before some agrees to take you for that price, but if you stick to it, someone will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlKsarRiad, Front Office Manager at Al Ksar Riad & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are happy that you were ready for a great review and that you really enjoyed our ultra soft 600gr 100% cotton towels.
But all items of the Riad remains property of the Riad Al Ksar & Spa Marrakech Medina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Riad Al Kasr recently. It was very difficult to make a choice as there are so many but I would recommend this to anyone going for the first time. The rooms are plain but large, very clean and comfortable (especially the beds) and great plumbing that works in the bathroom (don't underestimate the importance of this!). The staff were extremely helpful and willing and organised trips out/restaurant bookings etc. which made our stay more interesting because we got to see everything we could in the time available. It is very redolent of the old town and the hotel is well laid out with a comfortably laid out terrace at the top and staff always willing to serve drinks up top!

Suggest you get them to organise pick up at the airport because it would be very difficult to find if you don't know the area. After that you can get your bearings and as it is right in the heart of the old town so easy to find you way back.

Jean & Lynda

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.6 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#31 of 499 in Marrakech
619 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#406 of 499 in Marrakech
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#112 of 1,146 in Marrakech
318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Elixir
Riad Elixir
#565 of 1,146 in Marrakech
125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#358 of 1,146 in Marrakech
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Property: Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa is a Riad of Charm with a pool in the heart of the Medina. This large guesthouse boutique hotel of is designed with traditionnal materials in a style offers numerous hotel services 24/7: Spa on site, Swimming Pool, Restaurant & Bar, Free WiFi, panoramic terrace, Excursions & Car rental with or without driver, airport transfer. At less than 10 minutes walk from the main tourist attractions (Jemaa El Fna, souks, museums), the riad is ideally located to easily get outside by foot or taxi. The Spa is accessible every day from 10h to 20h to enjoy scrubings in the hammam steam bath, massages, esthetic bodycares or refreshing bath. Refined or more contemporary decorative elements of the riad mingle with the classic Arabian architecture of the building in an exotic & chic style, offering a peaceful and relax atmosphere. The patio, heated in winter, the lounge with library or the terrace with lounge, bar and solarium and stunning view over the medina of marrakesh, the koutoubia mosque and the snowcapped atlas mountains, are accessible at all time. Junior suites, single, twin double and superior double bedrooms are all equipped with luxury comfortable beds, soundproofing doors, quality bed and bath cotton linens, ensuite bathroom, air conditioned, floor heating. The team of 8 people, friendly and efficient, will make the most of your stay in Marrakech in a holiday home atmosphere and will ensure that your experience at Al Ksar Spa & Riad Marrakech will remain unforgettable. Welcome at Riad Al Ksar & Spa, charming riad in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad And Spa
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing