We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ksar Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A lovely riad in a perfect location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are fairly small but clean, cool and have lovely bathrooms. Although the food is slightly more expensive than other places in Marrakech, it's worth it for the break from the hustle and bustle and to be able to eat in peace.
Like many Riads in the medina, it can be quite hard to find the first time which is why booking the transfer with the hotel may be worth while however it is more expensive than a taxi so if you're feeling brave and wanting to save a bit of money, leave the transfer and get a taxi from the airport.
All in all, a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hellybelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    93
    28
    4
    9
See reviews for
42
202
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armacao de Pera, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

So, we were really pleased with everything about our stay and we were ready for a great review... but then, the last day came.

When we were about to leave we were bluntly acused of stealing the room towels and Damien, the manager, was absolutly DESRESPECTFULL! We said we didn't do anything and he said he knew we had stole it because his crew dosent lie, so we were the liars!
We offered to check or bags opened and he said that it was not necessary because he was sure of what we did!
This was VERY unconfortable and totally ruined our stay... We didnt pay what they wanted for the towels, and I left in tears very upset! Damien couldnt care less...
We had absolutly no meals at the Riad and that might be the reason we were treated this way... as we have seen other reviews had some problems for not spending money there...
Very unfortunate................................. other than that our stay would have been great...

- Be very careful about anything suspicious in this Riad and report anything so you dont have any problems like this...
- There is a 3€ fee for person for night, so be ready for it.

P.S. 50 dirhams (about 5€) is a good and reasonable price to the aeroport. You have to bargain, and try a few taxis before some agrees to take you for that price, but if you stick to it, someone will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlKsarRiad, Front Office Manager at Al Ksar Riad & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are happy that you were ready for a great review and that you really enjoyed our ultra soft 600gr 100% cotton towels.
But all items of the Riad remains property of the Riad Al Ksar & Spa Marrakech Medina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Riad Al Kasr recently. It was very difficult to make a choice as there are so many but I would recommend this to anyone going for the first time. The rooms are plain but large, very clean and comfortable (especially the beds) and great plumbing that works in the bathroom (don't underestimate the importance of this!). The staff were extremely helpful and willing and organised trips out/restaurant bookings etc. which made our stay more interesting because we got to see everything we could in the time available. It is very redolent of the old town and the hotel is well laid out with a comfortably laid out terrace at the top and staff always willing to serve drinks up top!

Suggest you get them to organise pick up at the airport because it would be very difficult to find if you don't know the area. After that you can get your bearings and as it is right in the heart of the old town so easy to find you way back.

Jean & Lynda

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I've stayed at several riads in the Medina and particularly like this one.

It's design is minimal and elegant, with traditional touches. The entire place is very clean and the staff friendly and accommodating.

Unlike some other riads, which are difficult to find on one's own, this is an easy, 1-minute walk from the Bahai Palace (one of Marrakech's landmarks).

As a woman traveling alone, I felt totally safe and well taken care of. And I enjoyed the spa :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Marrakech was an excellent place for a holiday - a holiday anyone would enjoy if they stayed at this Riad. Getting to and from the airport can be organised by the Riad, which I would highly recommend, as it really reduces the stress of your journey, for a very reasonable price. The place is beautiful throughout - from the large well furnished bedrooms, to the relaxing elegant communal areas. The rooftop is particularly worth mentioning, with views out across Marrakech - perfect for a night time drink, or a relaxing rest during the day. Equally, the location is perfect. Within 10 minutes walk of the Jemma al Fna Square, you are right in the heart of all the key attractions. The owners of the Riad are fantastic. In addition to providing you with a map and any local knowledge/suggestions you require, they are very friendly, whilst unobtrusive, providing perfect hospitality. Lastly, and certainly not least of all, the large breakfast provided and lunches/dinners available upon request are fantastic. All the food is fresh, tasty, and comes in large portions :)! To summarise, if you are coming to Marrakech, this is the right Riad to stay in, to ensure your holiday is right in every way. I could not recommend it enough. PS Make sure you take advantage of their Spa Facilities!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlotteBr1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Perhaps my favorite hotel experience. It's a family run hotel and you feel at home the minute you arrive. The place is extremely elegant, peaceful and quietly luxurious. The restoration of the property has been superbly carried out. Rooms are well maintained, bright and very comfortable. Lovely terrace, fab spa, great breakfasts. All along our stay, the staff were extremely helpful and professional. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ann r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was my first Raid experience, and very enjoyable it was too. From the comfortable, beautifully furnished room to the roof terrace with fantastic views across to the snow-capped Atlas mountains, I couldn't have asked for a more restful time. The staff were unobtrusive, but vey friendly and helpful, and the information and recommendations for places to visit and eat invaluable to this first-time visitor to Marrakech.

I'm recommending this Raid to friends, and can't wait to visit again!

John from London

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 642Londontripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#318 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.7 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#422 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
#111 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Amiris
Riad Amiris
#323 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
#144 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Property: Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa is a Riad of Charm with a pool in the heart of the Medina. This large guesthouse boutique hotel of is designed with traditionnal materials in a style offers numerous hotel services 24/7: Spa on site, Swimming Pool, Restaurant & Bar, Free WiFi, panoramic terrace, Excursions & Car rental with or without driver, airport transfer. At less than 10 minutes walk from the main tourist attractions (Jemaa El Fna, souks, museums), the riad is ideally located to easily get outside by foot or taxi. The Spa is accessible every day from 10h to 20h to enjoy scrubings in the hammam steam bath, massages, esthetic bodycares or refreshing bath. Refined or more contemporary decorative elements of the riad mingle with the classic Arabian architecture of the building in an exotic & chic style, offering a peaceful and relax atmosphere. The patio, heated in winter, the lounge with library or the terrace with lounge, bar and solarium and stunning view over the medina of marrakesh, the koutoubia mosque and the snowcapped atlas mountains, are accessible at all time. Junior suites, single, twin double and superior double bedrooms are all equipped with luxury comfortable beds, soundproofing doors, quality bed and bath cotton linens, ensuite bathroom, air conditioned, floor heating. The team of 8 people, friendly and efficient, will make the most of your stay in Marrakech in a holiday home atmosphere and will ensure that your experience at Al Ksar Spa & Riad Marrakech will remain unforgettable. Welcome at Riad Al Ksar & Spa, charming riad in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad And Spa
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing