We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ksar Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We enjoyed a great 3-night stay here. The Riad is perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle yet only a 15 minute walk to the main square. The room was great - simply furnished yet stylish, and the shower was fantastic. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace each morning, the staff were friendly and polite and unobtrusive. We pre-booked the airport transfer (good value) - the best option on your first visit otherwise could be difficult to find the Riad. Oliver was very welcoming and offered good advice on where to go/what to see/restaurants, etc. We would highly recommend the Al Ksar and would happily return next time we visit Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SarahandMike971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    93
    28
    4
    9
See reviews for
42
202
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We both loved this riad! We arrived in Morocco feeling a litle stressed, but Oliver and team at Al Kysar got us oriented and comfortable immediately! Our room was upgraded (everything was clean and all the staff was extremely helpful) The location is great and the spa was perfect for a hammam experience which was wonderful! They organized a 3 day excursion which included an overnight stay in the Sahara on camelback, which was unforgetable! You could not find a better place to explore the real Morocco and return to your own private oasis!

Room Tip: The upstairs suite was excellent and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Riad is in a great location. Only a 10 minute walk from the main square (Jemaa El Fna), the Souks and a number of of the main sites to see in Marrakech. It is small with only 9 rooms but it has a very pretty courtyard where breakfast is served and a nice roof terrace which is perfect for sunbathing. If you want to eat in the Riad you need to pre order but to be honest we never felt the need to eat there given the options available in the square. Service is polite but not overly attentive. If you want to experience 'real' Marrakech this is perfect as it is in a great location, the rooms were comfortable and breakfasts were good.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs! The rooms on the ground floor open up into the courtyard where breakfast is served...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I decided to stay at this riad as my brother previously stayed there and recommended to me! I stayed for 5 .The rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful! Halil and Demian made our stay very Pleasant. One night we arrived late at the riad, as we were starving we asked the staff if it was possible to have dinner, despite the fact it was quite late, the staff prepared dinner for us and we ended up having dinner at the lovely terrace !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesseukmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had an amazing 5 day stay at the Riad Al Ksar. The riad is beautiful inside and the tranquil atmosphere is complete contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived, even though it was very late at night. We were greeted with Moroccan tea and biscuits and Damien provided us with all the information we needed for our stay. The staff are all so friendly and attentive,nothing is too much trouble!! We would highly recommend a visit to the Riad Al Ksar!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GazTruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

On arrival ( 4/07/12) we were given Morrocan Tea which was different but nice, a map of the area.

A previous comment on here about air condiioning being turned off if you dont eat her seems strange as other guests ate out and no comments about this were said. We had the control to turn on or off in our room.

We had an enjoyable stay at this Riad and found the staff to be very helpful and freindly. My wife and I had not been to Marrakesh previously and found the 40 degrees heat overpowering. The Riad is found by going along narrow side paths but once inside it was pleasant, clean. I can truely say the bed was the most comfortable i had slept in. The Riad was very quiet both day and night. We ate in the resturant on a couple of occasions and the food was very good. Try the Morroccan Soup, if you like red wine try the local Morrocan, it is full bodied and very tasty to the palate. The breakfast consists of a large bowl of fresh fruit, bread / cake , tea or coffee.

Finding the Riad is very testing and strongly recommend letting the Riad sort your taxi from the airport and to the airport out. Our taxi was sorted out by my travel agent but the Riad uses the same ones.

Walking the 20 minutes to the main square through the narrow street of a souk was a daunting task with mopeds, moter bikes flying past you both ways. Crossing the roads was a nightmare. Be very careful if you have young children.

Becareful if you take photos of anyone they will demand money. We asked someone the way on the map and he followed us for ages wanting money to take us. There were to girls aged about 23 who were very frightened as they were followed and pestered they were also ripped off 100 dirham each for taking a photo.

Thank to Damien and his team as we enjoyed our short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was our favorite hotel during our stay in Morocco. Marrakesh's streets can give you a head-ache with the hustle and bustle but when you walk through the doors of this wonderfully, meticulously renovated Riad, you can almost hear a pin drop. Although we were the loud Americans and had to be told on several occasions to be more quiet, we were a group of 7, they did so with good humor.
We ate dinner on the roof of the Riad twice and they recommended other places for us to go and things to do, which we enjoyed. We even left our things there and took a trip into the desert to spend the night.
Oliver was funny and always ready to assist in any way.
I would highly recommend this wonderful place of refuge. The spa treatments were great too.

Room Tip: upstairs is quieter but they all tend to be quiet because they keep it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#318 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.7 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#422 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
Hotel & Spa Dar Baraka & Karam
#111 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Amiris
Riad Amiris
#323 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
Riad l'Etoile d'Orient
#144 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Property: Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa is a Riad of Charm with a pool in the heart of the Medina. This large guesthouse boutique hotel of is designed with traditionnal materials in a style offers numerous hotel services 24/7: Spa on site, Swimming Pool, Restaurant & Bar, Free WiFi, panoramic terrace, Excursions & Car rental with or without driver, airport transfer. At less than 10 minutes walk from the main tourist attractions (Jemaa El Fna, souks, museums), the riad is ideally located to easily get outside by foot or taxi. The Spa is accessible every day from 10h to 20h to enjoy scrubings in the hammam steam bath, massages, esthetic bodycares or refreshing bath. Refined or more contemporary decorative elements of the riad mingle with the classic Arabian architecture of the building in an exotic & chic style, offering a peaceful and relax atmosphere. The patio, heated in winter, the lounge with library or the terrace with lounge, bar and solarium and stunning view over the medina of marrakesh, the koutoubia mosque and the snowcapped atlas mountains, are accessible at all time. Junior suites, single, twin double and superior double bedrooms are all equipped with luxury comfortable beds, soundproofing doors, quality bed and bath cotton linens, ensuite bathroom, air conditioned, floor heating. The team of 8 people, friendly and efficient, will make the most of your stay in Marrakech in a holiday home atmosphere and will ensure that your experience at Al Ksar Spa & Riad Marrakech will remain unforgettable. Welcome at Riad Al Ksar & Spa, charming riad in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad And Spa
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing