We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Riad”
Review of Riad Assalam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Assalam
Ranked #277 of 1,159 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in Riad Assalam for four nights in March 2014.We requested a hotel pickup and Herve was waiting for us patiently as Passport Control was very slow.We were welcomed at the riad with mint tea and given helpful tourist information and a map of Marrakech. We booked Atlas Room which was on the top floor where there was a patio area, and a few steps further up there was a sunny roof terrace giving stunning views of the Badii Palace and the Atlas Mountains. On our first night we made a reservation for dinner and Herve cooked us brochettes on the barbeque which was delicious.The riad also serves morroccan beer and wine.
The location of the riad was our main reason for booking, walking distance to all places of interest. Marrakech is crazy but once inside the riad it is an oasis of calm! Herve and his lovely staff made us most welcome and I would not hesitate in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymoneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Riad Assalam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 144 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

THis riad is away from the Mad Tea Party that is Marrakech--on a quiet pedestrian street. Our hosts were most gracious, greeting us with tea and sweets as we arrived, making sure we were comfortable. We stayed in the Tuareg room, very pretty and just perfect for two.
THe roof terrace is a lovely place to relax with a book --the view is wonderful as the light changes near the end of the day.
Excellent value and completely charming. We would definitely return

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devika88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and comfortable rooms, with different decoration for each one, but... air-conditioning and WiFi are both weak. Only acceptable connection in reception: there are no signal on the rooms or on the terraces, so if you need to check your mail you must go downstairs.

1  Thank EC-IBR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed at Riad Assalam for over a week and I can whole-heatedly recommend this riad to anyone without hesitation. The staff were friendly, helpful and engaging and the rooms were clean, comfortable and stylish. It was a wonderful place to relax after the bustle of the town and I felt entirely at home there. I will definitely return to Riad Assalam if I ever find myself in Marrakech again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a very good Riad and is in a very good position. The owner and his staff are lovely and will help you if you need it. Value for money is excellent and the roof terrace is well kept and a wonderful addition. Wifi and breakfast could both be stronger.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arseachran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This riad exceeded all expectations. The room was beautiful and the open terrace overlooked the city, the walls of the Baddi palace and a row of storks on their nests. It was near enough to walk to the main square in ten mins but far enough away from the central madness and the very touristy hotels nearer the centre. The staff were very helpful (best for you if you do speak French). A tip to find it is that its location is just through the gate where the Baddi palace and the first alley way on the left (if the palace is behind you) and then first right and it is on your right. One other tip is to bring earplugs because sound tends to travel upwards from the central courtyards of the riad and also the early morning call to prayer will wake you earlier than you may want otherwise. We had a really fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank assouna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

we had good holidays in Marrakech Riad was not bad , despite the cockroaches in the room, the price of the room was a bit expensive compared to the quality of Riad , staff was frindly, even if they do not speak well English, it is necessary to add a Panel to find the Riad because the adress was difficult to find .
Good luck !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad le Desir
Riad le Desir
#156 of 502 in Marrakech
67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 502 in Marrakech
1,266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Turquoise
Riad Turquoise
#87 of 1,159 in Marrakech
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Carina
Riad Carina
#48 of 1,159 in Marrakech
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assalam

Address: 13 Touareg Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 1,159 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $35 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Assalam 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Riad: Located in the Touareg district, in the medina Marrakech easy access with parking, close to the El Badia Palace, Bahia Palace and Royal Palace, 10 minutes from the famous Jemaa El Fna. Riad Assalam (Riad of Peace) opens its doors for you to share an unforgettable dream. There is a very ancient mansion completely renovated in compliance the Marrakchi tradition. There is an atmosphere of tranquility that contrasts strangely with life hectic Medina. A three-person team is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant family. In this charming 1800s, you will find a patio with pool and fountain to cool off on hot days, a Moroccan living room with fireplace, dining room, bhou (open to the pool room), bar reception, satellite television, kitchen .. Again. Ride a horse in the region of Marrakesh, and quad in the desert Agafay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Assalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing