We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$458
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$90
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$230
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$217
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$151
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveler rating
572
69
10
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
69
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squaresarah roomkasbah arearoof terracefrench ladydelicious pastriesmint teaatlas mountainsyogurtorange blossomevery morningsitting areabeautiful courtyarda wonderful stayquiet streetan oasishome from home
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 659 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Small but perfectly formed. This Riad was exceptional in all respects and exceeded our expectations from the minute we walked through the door into the scented and tranquil courtyard.

Joelle and her team were so friendly and the service was second to none.

We were welcomed to our room with mint tea and biscuits and rose petals. The bedroom room appeared a little on the small side but we also had a large terrace overlooking the orange trees in the courtyard. This was a welcome retreat after the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

The breakfast was a delicious mezze of breads, eggs, fruit, cheese, yogurt, custard, rice, fresh orange juice etc. Something a little different everyday.

Our room was lovely, but all of the rooms looked equally as nice. Tastefully decorated and beautifully perfumed.

It is a short walk to the Kasbah and about 10 to 20 minutes to Djemaa el Fna (depending on how much you stop to look at things on the way).

Joelle arranged the taxi to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. She provided helpful advice and information and willingly kept our luggage on the day of departure and provided a room for us to change before our late flight home.

Well worth the money. If we were to return to Marrakech, we would have no hesitation in returning to the Orangers d'Alilia.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were equally lovely. We loved the India room because of the large terrace and view over the courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited Marocco this September and stayed in the riad 3 nights. I was not sure if we like it, so I booked it for 1 night at first and when we came back to Marrakesh I booked it for extra nights as we liked the riad and the owner Joelle so much. This is not a budget option but all the prices and services are very reasonable.

Advantages:

1. Host. It is easy to deliver when things go as planned and much more difficult when issues arrise. Joelle is amazing - very quick to respond to emails and make arrangements. Her English is perfect to communicate and she is very clear on arrangements made. The other staff do not speak that much English but definitely enough to communicate (my partner was poorly and it was easy to make arrangements on tea and water when needed).

What we loved so much is there was a misunderstanding with the airline and their live departures board published earlier take off times (1 hour!), which we found out having our dinner with only 1 hour to go before the flight. Joelle was amazing - she called the taxi driver and rearranged for him to come sooner and helped us carry our bags to the car.

2. Taxi. We landed late, so I asked her to book a taxi to pick us up. Luckily! We waited for over 1.5 hour at passport control (just because staff were so slow and there were so few of them). Our taxi driver Mr Abdul waited for us at the airport for 1.5 hour anyway not knowing we are stuck!

3. Food. Dinners are lovely. We had a 3 course dinner with wine which was yummy! I would recommend it as a treat on arrival or before departure with a bottle of Maroccan wine from Meknes. It is priced very reasonably and excellent quality.

4. Breakfasts are lush and fill you up for the day: you get a selection of pastries, yogurt, juice, cakes, crumbles, fruit, tea and coffee. The only improvement on this could be fresh orange juice. I also enjoyed omelet for breakfast. We only had 2 meals a day as breakfast was so nice and gave us plenty of energy for the day.

P.S. Joelle, you should take orders for lunch as well as it would have been excellent to dine on the roof terrace (when we asked there was no food available as we did not book in advance).

5. Rooms are beautiful, have air conditioning, excellent bathrooms and comfortable beds. My favourite room was Sofia as it is most spacious and it is worth paying a little bit extra for it.

Challenging points:

1. Location. When you know your way there it is easy to find, however for getting there I would recommend to arrange a taxi pick up with the riad. We got a boy to show us the way and got into an interesting conversation on the value of his service after he has taken us to the wrong hotel and made us walk following him.

Otherwise location is great - south wall of the Medina, easy to get to the airport and has lovely local feel to it with kiosks and restaurants nearby. The center is around 20 min walk.

Please note the riad has an annex about which the other travellers were talking. It looks newer and more spacious. My preference is the riad itself as I love a bit more character.

We had an excellent time in Marrakesh and 90% of it is down to Joelle, her team and the lovely riad.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this Riad for four nights in September. Joelle and her staff were perfect hosts, arranging for transfers from the railway station and to the airport, spending time with us to suggest what to see, and where to eat. As other travellers say, it is an oasis in hot, busy Marrakech.
While it's about 15 min walk to the main square, you are staying in the heart of the Kasbah with all the local colour that brings. We especially enjoyed a refreshing dip in the plunge pool after a day's walking around the medina.

Breakfast on the roof terrace was a great way to start the day, and we had two dinners at the Riad which were also perfect - the lamb & prune tagine was magnificent. we loved it and are sure you will enjoy a stay here.

Room Tip: We were in the ground floor room Salma - lovely and cool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our first time in Marrakech, we got picked up at the airport & driven straight into the kasbah. To say was a bit of a shock to the system was an understatement. The roads were like a maze & overrun with people, bikes, cars & vans.. Our driver was a lunatic & how we survived I'll never know! We got dropped off in an ally & it felt like we'd made a horrible mistake. We stumbled across the door to the Riad & couldn't believe it when we walked inside.

It was absolutely stunning!!! It was incredibly peaceful & had a beautiful orange tree growing in the centre of the ground next to a plunge pool. It couldn't of been more different to the chaos outside! Our room was fantastic & we absolutely loved the roof bar.

The guys that worked their were really helpful they gave us advice on places to visit, costs for taxis & recommendations for dinner. The food was excellent (although cakes for breakfast were a bit odd but when in Rome!!!)...
We absolutely loved Marrakech & would definitely go back. I can't recommend this Riad enough, I think it's been said in more than one review on here but a real oasis of calm amongst a crazy back drop!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a beautiful little Riad. The owner gave us a great summary of where to find things and how much things should cost. There is always one of the staff there who didn't speak any English but were super helpful and understanding of our poor French. I would recommend absolutely anybody to stay here. Best place I've stayed in a very long time. (The breakfast is also really tasty and available at almost any time you like).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews