We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Ranked #35 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Wonderful and peaceful riad, exceptionally clean and friendly.Very convenient location, walking distance from the main square. We arrived quite late, (so booked the dinner in advance) and that was one of the best meal we had in Marrakech.Loved the fact that the breakfast was served at any time we got up in a beautiful, sunny courtyard.Tea and coffee were made on request and nothing seems to be much bother for staff.This place has definitely made our trip to Marrakech more enjoyable. Joelle and the girls were fantastic

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella_H1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
There are newer reviews for Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 599 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with some friends and we had a wonderful experience. The staff was very warm and accommodating. A taxi met us at the airport and the driver helped carry our luggage to the Riad. We were met with delicious mint coffee and smiles. The rooms are all very comfortable with Air Conditioning and great amenities.

Joelle, the owner, was fantastically friendly and saw to our every need. We were able to enjoy dinner and wine at the Riad every night, though she was more than happy to arrange dinner at nearby restaurants when desired. She was also very good at suggesting and booking excursions to nearby attractions on our behalf.

Marrakesh is a very interesting city with a tremendous amount of activity going on all the time. By staying at the Riad we were able to enjoy the new sights, sounds, and smells while having a perfect escape near the heart of the Medina to go to once our senses were saturated for the day. Thanks, Joelle & Everyone else!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puszkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

As soon as my friend and I landed in Marrakech, we experienced Joelle's famously warm welcome. We had arranged a taxi transfer via the riad, and helpfully, the driver was waiting for us after baggage reclaim. He took us to the door of the riad, helping with our bags and introducing us to Joelle who instantly offered us a refreshing mint tea.

The rooms are spotlessly clean, and very tastefully decorated, as is the rest of the riad. The first room we stayed in had the 'open' bathroom that other reviewers have mentioned, but the second room had a door, allowing myself and my friend at least *some* privacy.

During our stay it was insanely hot, pushing 50 degrees some days. There was some air con in the room, but it wasn't as effective as it could have been, and was quite noisy.

In terms of advice, Joelle helped us choose somewhere to eat, and a few bars, providing us with a very useful map, and directions. As others have also said, the breakfasts in the morning are lovely, everything is homemade, and it really sets you up for the day.

However, the reason I say that this is *almost* perfect, is just because some things could be improved to make the stay less.....awkward Sometimes it feels a bit like you are in someone's house, and that you are putting the staff out by asking for food and drinks. One morning, we headed out early for some sightseeing and haggling in the souks. By midday it was far too hot in the medina and kasbah to be outside, so we retreated to the riad for some lunch, a sunbathe and a rest.

We ordered some salad, which although lovely when it arrived, took a long time to prepare, and when we received the bill, it must have been made from very expensive ingredients, as it was far beyond the cost of anything else we had eaten in Marrakech.

The same goes for the drinks, it was so hot that we needed to keep hydrated, but the drinks were warm, expensive and slow to arrive. I think this could be improved by Joelle introducing a drinks fridge or something on the rooftop terrace, with an honesty box, or a book to record what you have eaten/drank, so that you don't have to disturb the staff who seem to be busy from dawn til dusk.

To be fair, we did have an evening where we returned very late, and Joelle was lovely with us, but again it felt like we were staying with someone's Mum. Maybe this is just a matter of taste, and this is just not the place to stay for younger people who want to stay out in the evening, or want to have a holiday on their own terms.

I would recommend this property for couples, and families, but not those who want to be able to come and go as they please. The location is great, in the old kasbah area of Marrakech, located at the end of La Rue de La Kasbah, which although intimidating at first, is a thriving, fascinating street. Marrakech is a fabulous city, but extremely busy- this riad does offer a tasteful, peaceful retreat from that crazyness, and with some small changes could be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebeccallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you've read the previous reviews, you'd know that this is a little far away from the main square. While some would mind it, my husband and I were prepared for it. But once you enter the door to this Riad, you forget the hustle bustle outside. The muted colour scheme Joelle has adopted lends to a serenity. Our room was on the first floor, same as the one a recent review talks about, with the open bathroom. We didn't mind that. It makes it more spacious. In fact, Joelle let us choose which room we wanted and even let us use the lounge which actually came as part of another room. Delicious breakfast served at whatever time you want. Joelle made dinner reservations for us, gave us a few tips, told us where to go for shopping etc.. All in all, it was a great stay! I would go back to this place if I ever came back to Marrakech.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank TraveLovers2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We found this Riad to be the perfect escape from the crazyness that is not to far outside. Its located in a good place of Marrakesh, with easy walking distance to most places, although if you want to go exploring the staff at this riad are very helpful. They arrange taxis for you and give you the low down on the do's and donts, they also recommended some lovely eating places. When we stayed the owners son looked after us and he did a great job. Nothing was to much trouble at all. The breakfast was different i must say, it was good dont get me wrong, fresh fruit, pancakes, cakes etc and plenty of it as well.The rooms were kept clean, in fact the whole place was always clean. The room we had didnt have a toilet door which was the only moan i can say about the place, so it lacked privacy between me and the mrs, apart from that it was exellent. Air con in the rooms, thank god. A lovely roof terrace where you can relax and chill out from the mayhem outside where the staff will keep bringing you drinks. All in all I would return to this Riad for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the top of the stairs 1st on the left, i think it was called sophia. Its got a h...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just returned from a manic weekend break in Marrakech and it was lovely to go back to the tranquil Riad every afternoon to relax on the wonderful terrace. Could not fault anything about this property, rooms good, comfortable beds and pillows. Perhaps the only thing missing was a small pool that a few of the Riads do have. We ate in on our first night and had a lovely meal also must agree with other reviews that the breakfasts were great (very different from the usual continental). Unfortunately did not catch up with Joelle as she was on holiday but we were very well looked after by all the staff.Would highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just returned after a weeks holiday in Marrakech. Our room was gorgeous - peaceful and calm - with a fab walk in shower room and traditional styled furnishings. The breakfasts were to die for - pancakes, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cakes and jams - it just kept coming - more and more of it and slightly different every morning ! Joelle and Lauren were the perfect hosts. Joelle provided us with lots of very useful advice and information about Marrakech, even organising an invaluable private local tour guide and arranging a private trip to the Atlas Mountains which was one of the highlights of our holiday. Lauren provided the entertainment !! - his taxi driver jokes were highly amusing. The whole of the Riad was fantastic, cosy lounge area, beautiful roof sun terrace and a much needed plunge pool in the courtyard. This was the perfect place to retire to after a manic but exciting day in the Soukes and square. We would highly recommend the Riad to anyone wanting to visit Marrakech - a once in a lifetime experience that everyone should do.
Our very special thanks to Joelle and Lauren for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Salma - a ground floor room. Rooms upstairs may have been a little quieter but they we...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyandgareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
486 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#14 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
879 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#38 of 502 in Marrakech
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216 Rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $76 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing