We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Riad! Welcoming and friendly, with delicious food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Ranked #35 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We experienced a fabulous stay in this Riad. It is beautiful, and tranquil, with an amazing sun terrace, perfect for relaxing with a mint tea, after a day in the bustling souqs.

The staff
The owner, Joelle, and the other ladies working in the Riad were extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us to plan excursions and arranged for pick up and drop off at the airport. They also gave us a map and told us the best ways to navigate the Medina, and what to see and what to avoid.

The food
The ladies working at the Riad had cooking skills that were second to none. The breakfasts were delicious and varied each morning. We also stayed in the riad for one of our evening meals, when they cooked a gourmet tagine for us, among other courses. This is one of the best ways to experience Moroccan cuisine at its best!

The location
The Riad is situated in the south of the Medina, in an area called Kasbah. It's a little 15 minute walk to the central square and the souqs, but the walk is interesting. Also in the south of the Medina there is plenty to see - the palaces, a museum, and a lovely square. The locals are friendly in this area, and are always willing to help with directions.

Many thanks to everyone there who made us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: We stayed in Selma, on the ground floor. A beautiful room, but you can hear everyone outside the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambling_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 606 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

Thank you so much Joelle for such a lovely week in your absolutely beautiful riad. To all prospective guests, go to this riad - you will not be disappointed. Joelle is the perfect host and her staff are so polite and attentive. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we fell in love with the place. It is such a peaceful haven in this crazy city and no photographs could ever do the riad the justice it deserves, it is spotlessly clean and, whatever you may read in other reviews, it is in an ideal location, close enough to get easily to anywhere in the city but far enough away from the madding crowds when you want some peace and quiet. Joelle's knowledge of the local places to visit is invaluable and if you decide to stay in one night and eat dinner here, then you will be in for a real treat. Why this riad is not number 1 on Tripadvisor I do not know, but I'm actually quite glad it isn't. If it was we'd never get a room (and we intend going back!) Seriously folks, I cannot recommend Riad Les Orangers d'Alilia enough!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We could not imagine what kind of accommodations awaited us when the cab driver drove my wife and I from the airport through the arched opening in the wall of the Medina. We made a right turn on the ancient cobblestone street and we were faced by a wall of people ,bikes,motor scooters ,donkeys,cars vegetable carts and trucks on what is a one lane big alley. Kids in their school uniforms, workers,shoppers and there were teens offering to show the cab driver wherever his destination was. Later I found out they wanted a "tip" for their services. The name of the" neighborhood".... Kasbah...How cool is this? Were in the Kasbah. We arrive at rue Tadia-Derb Chtouka ,the location of our hotel but it was too narrow for the cab to drive down. So now we're on the street too and the cabbie ,because of the tip I gave him,above of the airport negotiated price, he was walking us to the door of the Riad. See how quickly I grasp the Morrocan langugage I called it a hotel before. A pretty young woman opens the door and welcomes us to the Riad. We are amazed at the tranqulity of this place it was like they closed the door to the bustle of the world. She showed us our room and our extension. The extension was a balcony in front of the bedroom that overlooked ,through Morrocan designed wrought iron railing ,the roofless atrium of the Riad. Threre was a couch ,ottoman and a table to put he bottle of wine that the young woman gave us when I asked where the nearest bar was. Actually she let us pick it out from the refridgerator. This is hospitality!
Later our beautifull hostess Joelle came in and welcomed us and gave us a quick consise guide to Kasbah. After returning ( we walked) from a wonderful restaurant that the lovely ( my wife won't read this) Joelle recommended , we finished off the bottle of wine on the roof of the Riad where they have tables, chairs chaise loungers . We were alone ,accompanied only by the moon and stars.The next morning when we came down the cooks made some fresh baked breads and pastries with fresh fruit and juices. and delicious Morroccan coffee. Ain"t life grand. Don't miss this place. If you' re within a thousand miles check out Ryanair and JUST DO IT !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chulaEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My girl friend and I stayed at this beatiful and peaceful riad in Marrakech. The hosts and staff were incredibly nice and welcoming, and when my girl friend got sick, they were extremely sympathetic and helpful. In addition to these extraordinary social values, the riad in itself was very clean and cosy. It offered the perfect mix between a feeling of home (due to the size and appealing interior design of the riad) while still having the privacy of a hotel.
I can only give my highest recommendations to other travellers!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peleus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed in 'Sofia', a double room on the first floor, for 5 nights this last week. The welcome to the Riad was lovely, and Joelle was very friendly and helpful. A grasp of French is very useful in Marrakech, but Joelle and her staff do speak English.

The Riad was beautifully clean, and dinner and taxi transfers, which were arranged via email before we arrived, were faultless. Our room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the en-suite was well designed and very clean. There was no safe but a locking wardrobe and key were provided. The Riad has a lovely roof terrace with sun loungers, and inside the internal garden of the Riad there are tables and chairs, a pool (for decoration only - it's a bit tiny!) , and some lovely trees.

The only reason I did not give 5 stars was the noise from the street, hardly a fault of the Riad, but a factor to consider - if I were to go again I may well ask for a room which does not overlook the alleyway / road. This is an issue common to most Riads - the design of the shutters means to get any fresh air (which we prefer to air-con!) you have to have them quite open, and Marrakech doesn't fall asleep until the early hours every night!

Overall a beautiful oasis of calm in the madness that is Marrakech.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in the 'India' room which has its own balcony. The room was incredibly comfortable and very well decorated. The host(s) are fabulous and nothig is ever a problem with very good advice offered on eating places and must dos in Marrakech. Booking an in house dinner in the court yard is a must (It was so good we did it twice). Make sure to try the 'House' Moroccon red wine. The location is also spot on as it is not to close and not to far from the loud markets and squares that are Marrakech. We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Marvellous! In a pleasant area of the old town (as far as it can be in Marrakech!) in the kasbah (south) - very short walk from the main street where the taxi stops. Much nicer area than our previous stay in the north west of the medina. This riad is near perfection - beautifully decorated, outstandingly clean, lovely big beds with super linen. The only improvement would be an internal door on the toilet (but maybe that's just a problem for us British!). Breakfast was great - fruit and homemade yoghurts and cakes as well as the normal pancakes and bread, in the lovely open courtyard. The roof terrace was very inviting and had we stayed longer we would have made more use of it. I'm not sure we would have used the plunge pool but maybe on really hot days......... ?

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for a superior room - larger with king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pizmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 501 in Marrakech
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#40 of 501 in Marrakech
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 501 in Marrakech
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 501 in Marrakech
566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 501 in Marrakech
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216 Rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $74 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing