We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, calm Riad in the madness or Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Ranked #37 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed in 'Sofia', a double room on the first floor, for 5 nights this last week. The welcome to the Riad was lovely, and Joelle was very friendly and helpful. A grasp of French is very useful in Marrakech, but Joelle and her staff do speak English.

The Riad was beautifully clean, and dinner and taxi transfers, which were arranged via email before we arrived, were faultless. Our room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the en-suite was well designed and very clean. There was no safe but a locking wardrobe and key were provided. The Riad has a lovely roof terrace with sun loungers, and inside the internal garden of the Riad there are tables and chairs, a pool (for decoration only - it's a bit tiny!) , and some lovely trees.

The only reason I did not give 5 stars was the noise from the street, hardly a fault of the Riad, but a factor to consider - if I were to go again I may well ask for a room which does not overlook the alleyway / road. This is an issue common to most Riads - the design of the shutters means to get any fresh air (which we prefer to air-con!) you have to have them quite open, and Marrakech doesn't fall asleep until the early hours every night!

Overall a beautiful oasis of calm in the madness that is Marrakech.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 616 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in the 'India' room which has its own balcony. The room was incredibly comfortable and very well decorated. The host(s) are fabulous and nothig is ever a problem with very good advice offered on eating places and must dos in Marrakech. Booking an in house dinner in the court yard is a must (It was so good we did it twice). Make sure to try the 'House' Moroccon red wine. The location is also spot on as it is not to close and not to far from the loud markets and squares that are Marrakech. We look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Marvellous! In a pleasant area of the old town (as far as it can be in Marrakech!) in the kasbah (south) - very short walk from the main street where the taxi stops. Much nicer area than our previous stay in the north west of the medina. This riad is near perfection - beautifully decorated, outstandingly clean, lovely big beds with super linen. The only improvement would be an internal door on the toilet (but maybe that's just a problem for us British!). Breakfast was great - fruit and homemade yoghurts and cakes as well as the normal pancakes and bread, in the lovely open courtyard. The roof terrace was very inviting and had we stayed longer we would have made more use of it. I'm not sure we would have used the plunge pool but maybe on really hot days......... ?

Room Tip: worth paying the extra for a superior room - larger with king size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pizmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

beautiful rooms and bathrooms complemented by warm hospitality from Joelle and her 3 ladies . The breakfasts are a feast for the eye and the stomach, nothing was too much trouble.with mint tea available any time of the day or night. The location, a short walk from the approach roads south of the Djeema al fna in the Kasbah district was just far enough away to allow exploration from the main route. As an American guest remarked on our last morning it was like haviing "your own place". This Riad is highly rated -- and so it should be .

Room Tip: They all looked lovely Sarah was a little smaller than the others but comfortable enough for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2enjoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We choose this Raid from reading all the other reviews & how right they all where. What a charming Riad, it is exactly as you see it on there website. Joelle & her ladies were very helpful, nothing was a bother for them. Rooms were cleaned & towels changed daily.
Joelle gave us some excellent advise on where to go during the day & were to eat and go in the evening.
We had a lovely typical Morrocan meal on our first night the setting in the courtyard with all the candles was truely amazing & nice relaxing music in the background. This we prebooked with Joelle before we arrived.
Breakfast was excellent aswell with a different selection every day (we were there for 4 nights) The breakfast set you up for a days sightseeing in the wonderful hectic city of Marrakech.
All in all a Riad & a city worth visiting
Kevin & Billy Newcastle upon Tyne, England

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sofia room which was spacious, but all rooms seems to be a good size aswell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinandbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A beautiful, calm and comfortable place to stay in Marrakech. The reviews are all very accurate, and all have a common theme, that Joelle and her 'ladies' will do whatever they can to make your stay here as special as you want it to be. The breakfasts really are wonderful and will set you up for the day. The riad is right in the centre of the Kasbah, so be prepared to dodge fast moving scooters and cars down narrow lanes as you head out each day on your sightseeing - but it's all part of the excitement!! The roof terrace is lovely and a peaceful haven where you can top up your tan, or chill out after a day of sightseeing. Joelle will do all she can to make your holiday special, so do not hesitate to ask for advice and she welcomes your feedback - so of you have a problem or concern whilst you're there or if you need help then just ask!

Room Tip: We stayed in 'India' room, which was fine. Had the two day beds right outside our door, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skipster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I spent a long time researching for a place to stay in Marrakech, and I decided to choose this one based on the reviews... and I did the right thing! This place is so special, we did not want to leave to go sightseeing, but of course we did. The owners were welcoming and accommodating, more than owners, they were like friends, always willing to help and give advice. Breakfast was probably the BEST breakfast I have ever had while traveling, and what you don't need to wake up early, they will serve it to you fresh when you are ready to eat. Another strong point of the place is that it only has 5 or 6 rooms, so it is tranquil and peaceful, and service staff is always ready to help you. We made friends with other guests, and went on side trips with them, too. Joelle and Laurent (the owners) arranged one of those trips for us, we went to L'Ourika Valley, a very recommendable trip. The Riad is right by the main street in Kashba, a street with a strong local taste, not invaded by tourists like the main square or the Souk. You will find it chaotic and frantic, but hey, you are in in a city Morocco, what would you expect. But don't worry, it's safe. Thank you Joelle and Laurent, you were perfect hosts, we had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Rafael & Arlenny

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafaelviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#21 of 499 in Marrakech
898 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#82 of 499 in Marrakech
680 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 499 in Marrakech
277 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#61 of 499 in Marrakech
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216 Rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $75 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing