We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Very, very unexpected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
Ranked #65 of 770 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow! Very, very unexpected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Do not blink when you arrive at this restaurant or you'll miss it! A tiny front door behind a curtain opens to reveal a modern, bistro-style restaurant with a few outside tables. Despite previous reviews, the owner and front-of-house manager does speak decent English and the menu is available in both French and English so no excuse for not knowing what's on offer! Most importantly, they don't serve lobster but langoustine which is notoriously fickle when it comes to availability. There is a terrific choice of both sea and land although you should veer towards the fish and seafood as it the more interesting. Excellent selection of starters - we had an eclectic choice of tuna carpaccio, raw clams, giant prawns, steak tartar & dim sum! Mains were John Dory, sea bass and lamb - everything was truly excellent; flawless in fact. The wine list is a mixture of French & Moroccan and we had one of each, including an excellent chilled Brouilly. Excellent, friendly serviced completed a memorable and wonderful evening. £140 for 3 was excellent value. Don't hesitate - easilyy the best meal we had in Marrakesh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BradtheBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    90
    21
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went to this restaurant as it is so highly regarded on Trip advisor, we both really wanted to have lobster. We arrived and no lobster and numerous other menu items were not available either. We shared oysters which only one of the four choices were available and the oysters were beautiful, from there it goes down hill. If you do not speak French don't bother going to this restaurant as they do not speak or understand English. We are well traveled so language does not put us off, however I had the grilled prawns as a main and they are grilled with the shell on, no finger bowl or refreshing towel to wipe my hands and a choice of one side so prawns and chips, certainly not what I expected from what looked like a lovely french inspired seafood restaurant. The disaster though was the soufflé which appeared popular as surrounding tables were all having it. Ours was not cooked and resembled custard, no apology from the owner when we bought it to the waiters attention, we were not charged for the soufflé. However, would have much preferred to pay for it and have it cooked as it should be as the meals are all small I our opinion, so we have left still hungry.

This restaurant is not great, it is in a very dark back street, certainly not a place we would recommend anyone visit, such a shame.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janew926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our first time at this restaurant and we were not disappointed. They have one of the best selections of fish and seafood dishes that you will find in Marrakech. Having witnessed the arrival of some spider crabs we can also attest to the freshness of the ingredients. Although the choice of meat dishes is more limited, all that we ate and saw was excellent. Service is excellent and friendly and they have a good and well priced wine list. If you want a change from Moroccan food go here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloydChorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

You have to give it to them- the French are just so good at getting the simple things right- my plateau fruits de mere was faultless- sea urchin, clams, whelks, oysters, and super fresh extra large gambas-
Very attentive service, a friendly and professional restaurant in every way.
Put it on you're list - don't go to early- the fresh lobsters arrive at about 8pm.
Excellent value for money- I spent around £35 all in.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was the best meal we had in a week of great food in Marrakech. We loved it so much that we went back for lunch two days later. The wine was good and at a much better price than many other restaurants. I ate the steak Tartare which was delicious and the experience was really lovely. For lunchtime they offer a limited selection of starters, accompanied by a croque Moinseur/madame and a desert for DHS140 - really worth a visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chezmado2012, Propriétaire at Chez Mado, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We take your feedback seriously, we listen to your comments and improve when needed.
See you soonest "chez mado"
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing