We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanky french bistro!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Mado

Chez Mado
Rue Moulay Ali | gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Kanyama)
+212 5244-21494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 700 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: nouvelle décoration, coin bar, nouvelle terrasse ;plateaux de fruits de mer, poisson et viande
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Swanky french bistro!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Super deco and good buzz even though we arrived very late. Somewhat cheeky waiters and enormous scallops... All very good if a little salty... Was dying of thirst the next day... The snails and bouillabaisse were both a little over-seasoned. A good break from Moroccan fare and we were both grateful for the complimentary limoncello to end our meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marrakech
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This French restaurant in Gueliz redocorated and changed its menu frover the summer to emphasize seafood over the beef-oriented menu of the past. The food continues to be wonderful, although my friend was disappointed by the "bouillabaise" which contained ample seafood, but little broth soething he had looked forward to on the cold winter night we were there. My fish was perfectly cooked and the fresh seafood platter full of great shellfish.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank massaoud39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice seafood lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Decor is light and breezy, as if you are at the beach for lunch. Fresh seafood and warm service at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Enzodamico11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnifique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This very french little bistro is a real gem and frequented by many of the ex pat french community. The seafood was divine and the fillet steak and chips was the best I have eaten in years.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank souey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little French Gem in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

After realizing that many authentic Marrakesh restaurants have pretty much the same menu (same tagines, same appetizers, not much of innovation), we turned to TripAdvisor reviews and decided to try Chez Mado, as it is in Guerliz, trendy new part of town. We went to Chez Mado twice, and if we found it earlier, it would have been more. Both the food and the service were superb, especially for the price range (dinner for two with good amount of wine, appetizers, desert, apperitif ~ US$100). Alex, chef and owner, along with his wife, were very hospitable hosts and even when restaurants gets really busy after 9 pm, still find time to check on you. Cuisine is that of French bistro with seafood influence (seafood platters, crudos, tartar, oysters, sea urchins), simple but impeccably prepared (we tried many dishes and everything was flawless, with our top vote going for perfectly cooked steak and baked whole fish of the day). The crowd (mostly French expats) starts gathering after 9 pm and music starts around that time as well, so if you come earlier, around 8 pm, you can have some romantic time as well. Wine list was carefully picked, with many French, as well some great Moroccan wines; all very reasonably priced. Chez Mado will make you feel that you're in a neighborhood restaurant in Paris and you're friends of the owners. Everything is genuine: food, service, atmosphere, guitar music - for that you should definitely try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Mado also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing