We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Nasreen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Nasreen
Ranked #94 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked a short notice break to Marrakech for five nights in May and weren't disappointed. We received a very warm welcome from Mohammed(riad manager) when we arrived with mint tea and biscuits on arrival while he provided us with information about Marrakech on the culture, what to visit and the best place to get currency from.
The Riad itself is in the quieter part of the medina a five minute walk away from the main touristy areas which made it a great place to relax after a busy day sightseeing in the hustle and bustle. We arranged to have an evening meal in the Riad. The staff start preparing the meal in the afternoon sourcing all the food locally so it couldnt be any fresher, it was delicious.
Whilst we were in Marrakech Mohammed arranged a day trip to the cascades d'ouzoud which were spectacular and an amazing experience.
As we left Marrakech we agreed that we'd love to go back and stay in Riad Nasreen again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_m_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    33
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
55
73
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

This Riad is a beautiful one, the hosts are charming and very helpful. I would like to go back to this place if I am in Marrakech. The manager is very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spannaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Our stay at Riad Nasreen was most delightful experience of our family holiday in Marrakech. This Riad is truly a jem hidden in the Madina.Great central location with all sight seeing close by and old and new ctiy was at short distant,s walk. Riad Nasreen has been decorated in traditional Morracon style with all the modren comfort. Nice and clean rooms with high cealing and super king size beds. A great place to relex after all day,s sight seeing and shopping in the souks. Food was the best we have eaten in Marrakech. Excellent and helpful friendly staff. We stayed there for ten days with our daughters, son in laws, grand son and grand daughter. We went on day trip out side Marrakech which was arranged by Riad Nasreen,s Manager. On site Hammam and massage was a pleasent expereince for us.We would like to visit Marrakech again and definatly would love to stay at Riad Nasreen again.

Room Tip: We liked our stay at Olive suite. Which was large room with four poster super king size bed. Beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

A delightful gem a short distance away from the main touristy areas, and all the better for it.

Very warm welcome. Clean and pleasant rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We were 4 friends staying in 2 rooms for a week at Riad Nasreen and the stay was absolutely wonderful! The riad is like a calm oasis after a day's shopping in the souks, quiet and beautiful and still situated next door to the souks, Jemma el Fna, nice restaurants, wonderful Hammam de la Rose and famous sights. The staff is very friendly and flexible, helping with everything you might wish for. We had the good fortune of having the riad all to ourselves the first four days, feeling like kings and queens.

The breakfast offers nice treats that differs from day to day and the roof top terrace is a very nice place to relax in. From here you will see the Kotoubia minaret, a forest of satellite discs and in the far distant, the Atlas mountains.
It's easy to find your way around from the riad once you've arrived and "located" yourself but I would recommend to book a taxi from the airport via the riad in advance since a normal taxi won't take you all the way to the door.
I definitely recommend a stay at Riad Nasreen and will gladly stay there again next time I visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Myself and two of my other female friends decided to head off for a long weekend in Marrakech in March 2011, and, wanting a slice of authenticism as opposed to a big modern hotel, we decided to choose a riad within the Medina. Riad Nasreen was perfect. Only a ten minute walk to the Souks past lots of local grocers, butchers etc aswell as some lovely gift shops, and not much further to the main Jemma El Fna square. The riad is situated down a small dusty alleyway which would be very hard to find on your own, but the riad arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport and carry our bags right to the door. Once we'd found the alleyway a couple of times on our own, it felt second nature and we became very relaxed in the local area.

The riad is absolutely beautiful. Stunning Moroccan architecture, exactly what you expect and hope for. We were welcomed with a delicious meal that we had arranged before arrival, and we had booked a two bedroom suite which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely polite, helpful and welcoming. There is a fantastic roof terrace with great views across the rooftops to the Atlas mountains. It was very quiet at night and we slept well, other than the middle of the night call-to-prayers, which I assume wakes up most of the city because it's meant to! Can't really complain about that! There was also air conditioning in the room.

There is no pool or gym, but we didn't miss those things too much as there was so much to be seeing in the city that we didn't want to be sat in the hotel all day! I am told there is a hammam though, but sadly we didn't get a chance to try it out. Next time maybe!

All in all, if you are looking for a traditional Moroccan riad, with great service, convenient location and very reasonable prices, I cannot recommend the Riad Nasreen enough. I would love to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaulkheadGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

This riad is very well located off the Rue Bab Doukala, a street of small grocers, butchers and bakers that has a very local feel to it. In this part of the medina, foreigners are rare, so nobody yells at you to sell you hash or ask you for money. This may not be the case for riads located in more touristy neighborhoods. The riad itself is beautiful with exquisite Moroccan detailing and beautiful woodwork while the staff was very accommodating and helpful. Note that you must ask the staff for airport transfers in advance in order to find the place. As stated by other reviewers, the courtyard tends to fill with noise when groups of people are present, which can keep one from sleeping in and taking naps. Otherwise, the riad is very calm and quiet most of the time, and calls to prayer are somewhat muted behind the large wooden doors of each bedroom. It was a treat to have breakfast every morning in the courtyard, which was always ready within seconds of our arrival, and the upstairs terrace is great, especially at the end of the day and at night. The only weak points I might mention are that the rooms are not soundproof, do not have television (although that might be a blessing), the beds are relatively hard and there is little space for personal items (you should bring additional hangers). Overall, I would highly recommend this riad and would not hesitate to book it again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stp0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#97 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.4 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#35 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad O2
Riad O2
#206 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Nesma
Riad Nesma
#154 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#102 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Nasreen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Nasreen

Property: Riad Nasreen
Address: 44 - 45 Derb Zemrane Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Nasreen 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in luxury, tranquillity and rich Moroccan culture at Riad Nasreen.Experience the enchantment of Moroccan living in our beautifully restored riad, renovated by skilled artisan craftsmen, and decorated with traditional lanterns and sumptuous silks.Spend your days gazing upon the breathtaking views of the distant Atlas Mountains from the rooftop terrace, or lounging and relaxing beside the soothing courtyard fountain. Take advantage of our hammam and spa, and dine with us at our restaurant, which serves freshly prepared food using local produce.Our family here at Riad Nasreen takes pride in welcoming you with hospitality and ensuring that you have a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Nasreen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing