We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Why stay anywhere else?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad La Rose D'Orient
Ranked #310 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Spent a fabulous couple of days in Marrakech with some friends to escape miserable London. With so many Riads to choose from, we thought we'd choose one a little more off the beaten track so we could be away from the craziness of 'La Place'. And at the end of the day, you can only look at so many websites before you take the plunge and book somewhere. We were very glad we did; stepping through the unmarked wooden door on an unassuming alleyway revealed a small, but perfectly-formed and beautifully-decorated Riad. I don't think I could fault anything about our stay - the traditional Riad was an oasis of calm in an otherwise frenetic city. The kindness shown to us from the owners was touching, from walking with us to the Souks on our first day, to helping us organise a day trip and recommending what to have for dinner. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a highlight, as was the hammam and massage (and then relaxing in the rooftop jacuzzi after a hot day in the Souks). The quality of the food was excellent - we wished we'd had dinner there every night! Well-equipped rooms (with air conditioning - a must in the summer) meant we slept soundly and had everything we needed.

I will definitely recommend this Riad to friends and family - the hospitality shown to us by the owners and staff working there was definitely not something you'd ever find in a city in the UK, and really made our stay. A perfect place for couples, families, friends (we stayed in the fabulous triple room) and would definitely return. Once I've brushed up on my French...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    39
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
33
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

On our Morocco trip together with friends we wanted to experience a Riad and chose La Rose D'Orient. From the moment we entered the house we felt in a different world. Away from Marrakesh's hustle and bustle we found this peaceful place a refuge in plain luxury. The rooms were beautifully appointed in Moroccan style.The owners, Joce, an artist who designed and decorated the Riad and Moise her charming husband fulfilled every wish with a graceful smile. We enjoyed memorable home cooked Moroccan specialties on the top garden terrace at night and delicious breakfasts which were served on the roof terrace.

Joce and Moise, thank you again for a memorable stay at your place and we hope to come again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agid489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston,NC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I highly recommend this lovely and relaxing riad on the perimeter of the Marrakech medina. Owners Jose and Moses have created a place of beauty and calm amidst the chaos of the medina, so it is convenient for walking in the old town. We dined in a couple of nights on our rooftop terrace and the food is fabulous. The hammam is an essential Moroccan experience and this one is private and beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooftop room is spacious and tub is sooooo relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ButBeuatiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

This Riad was an oaisis of calm in the fantastic hustle and bustle of Marrakeck. A fun 15 minute walk through the warren of lanes, alleyways, markets and souks took us to El Fna Square where the whole world seem to gather for storytelling, music, food and "noise". And when we had had enough of the excitement and just needed to get back to peace and calm, the "Rose" with its beautiful design and layout was waiting at the end of another great fun walk home. The staff were great, the food excellent, and the rooms were beautiful. Yes, the water pressure was low and it took ages to fill a bath, but this is Morroco and they are all like that. Thank you Rose D'Orient for a great time in Marrakech!

Room Tip: Top floors nearest to terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights here, I am sure that it is great in summer but in winter with very few other guests it was chilly in spite of heating in the rooms, none in the public areas, enormous bath/shower but without enough water pressure to be comfortable while showering. They tried hard and gave us dinner one night as there had been no hot water the previous evening. The rooms were lovely comfortable beds and good breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoobs11
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Start point for our 7 stop Morocco tour and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Well located far enough away from the madness of the Medina yet still close enough to easily walk to the centre of the delightful mayhem that is Marrakesh. We were served our delightful (first of many subsequent) mint teas and some lovely cookies as we were acquainted with the Riad and the surrounding area. The room, though on the ground floor (the only one, mind you), resplendent with rose petals, was wonderful, the building was great and the service sublime. The only minor issue I had was the choice of food in that my wife and I both had to have the same dish when choosing from the menu, which is a slight issue as she's a vegetarian and I'm an extreme carnivore and was looking forward to one of the great meat dishes that I'd heard Morocco was famous for!

Room Tip: Request a room not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Arrived at this riad not sure what to expect as I have never traveled to Marrakech or been in a riad before. My girlfriend and u arrived in Marrakech and thats where the service began, the taxi was arranged through the riad and the guy was waiting for us coming off the plane with a namecard. We arrived at the riad to a warm welcome from a guy called Mohammed who was very nice. We were given mint tea and also the dinner we requested was brought to the roof terrace when we were settled in (were asked a time) the morrocan cuisine is really good and the meal was a good set up for the flavours to come on the rest of our trip. The rooms were nice, the staff were superb and the breakfast is AWSOME. Would 100% recommend this riad, perfect distance to the main square. A 5min stroll past stalls and local cafes to the main square.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeInEccose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
16.2 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#291 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Nora
Riad Nora
#207 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#259 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Hidden
Riad Hidden
#308 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#43 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad 5 Sens
Riad 5 Sens
#277 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Property: Riad La Rose D'Orient
Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing