We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet stay downtown Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Rose D'Orient

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad La Rose D'Orient
Ranked #319 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet stay downtown Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Breakfast with fresh orange juice on the rooftop of this Riad is great. From the rooftop there is a clear view over the city up to the Koutubia.

After our delayed flight, we parked the car conveniently near the pharmacy opposite the entrance of the Lycee Lalla Aouda Saadia. Were couldn't locate the riad at first. We called were fetched within a minute by Muhammed. Although it was very late, we had a great meal in the riad and felt very welcome.

Muhammed is a great and very charming guy from Senegal, who works all day to make the stay of every guest as good as possible. Food is great and the ambiance is wonderful.

The riad is a 15 minute walk to the Jamna el Fna thru narrow alleys. Allthough very busy, we always felt safe.

The riad itself is a very quiet oasis in a busy city. Every day some roseflower leafs were left in the room by the maids.

Some practical recommendations:
- I was very glad I bought a cheap prepaid SIM card at the airport on arrival.
- We paid the old guard near the hotel some dirhams each day to look after our rental car. Muhammed knows the regular rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henkjan_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    38
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
29
75
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We visited in October 2010 for a week with our children aged 8 and 13.

We wanted a reasonable priced riad within walking distance of the main square and souks, and were very pleased with our choice.

The Riad La Rose D'Orient is very beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. The room we stayed in had a main bedroom and bathroom, with stairs going up to a twin room for the children. It wasn't huge but it was very pretty, with some lovely thoughtful touches.

The Riad is about a 15 minute walk to the main square and to the souks. The walk takes you through several busy narrow streets and small marketplaces etc. We really enjoyed those walks, because there are very few tourists along the way, so you get a glimpse of everyday life. Taxis are available everywhere ; we never needed one as we found it easy to walk, but we weren't ever out very late in the evening.

The breakfasts were generally very good, especially the pancakes and honeyed yoghurt (yum!). Mohammed was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for him. Most days we had breakfast on the terrace which was really atmospheric.
We met the owners a couple of times and they were very friendly too.

The children enjoyed the little pool downstairs. All in all, lovely, would definitely recommend!

The only downsides for us:
- a fridge in the room would have been good, so that we could have bought our own drinks and kept them cold.
- it would have been lovely to have been asked our preferences for breakfast, as it was different everyday, so some days we enjoyed the choice more than others!

Also, for Marrakech in general, useful to brush up on that O'Level French, as it can be really useful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azurebluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

It will take some time to find this riad the first time but it's a breeze after that and about a 15 min. walk from the square. Mohammad is always on hand and nothing is too much trouble for him. Breakfast is served in the courtyard or the rooftop. We stayed on the top floor, very comfortable bed, large tub and quiet. It is traditional but only built a few years ago.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Just returned from a five day trip to Marrakech - our stay in the Riad La Rose D'Orient was a delight. The Riad is peaceful, beautifully decorated and has a wonderful sun terrace on the roof. Our children really enjoyed splashing about in the small pool after a morning in the souks and the sunshine. Mohammed provided great service and the breakfasts and evening meals were really delicious. The lamb tajines with couscous were particularly good - much better than those we tried in the central restaurants.

Before we arrived I was slightly concerned about the Riad's location - but there was no need to have worried. It is only a 15 minute walk to the Djemaa el Fna, 10 minutes to the souks and 10 minutes to the Ben Youssef Medersa. Despite the proximity to the tanneries there were never any bad smells. We walked into the centre every day, never needed to take a taxi. At nine pm the streets were still really bustling and we felt perfectly safe walking back after visiting the night market.

I would recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

A great place to stay to enjoy the real Marrakech. A gem in the old city. Well worth a stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yetihoulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Riad La Rose D'Orient - a great retreat after the hustle & bustle of The Souqs and Square. The staff were every willing to please. The challenge is going to and from the square but you are never far from a taxi and taxis can drop you very close to the Riad which cannot be said for alot of Riads within The Medina. Breakfasts were tasty and dinners were delicious. Thanks to all for making us welcome during our recent stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tudor011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

You cannot ask for anything more from this Riad! It is clean, comfy, the staff are excellent! One in particular Mohammed who put up with my bad french! The owners are really friendly. A friendly guy called Ahmed will meet you at the airport and take you on excursions if you wish. Definetly go quadbiking when your there. Eat in the Riad as much as you can, the food is first class. we ate there 2 nights, and I would travel back to Morocco just for the food. The Riad itself is on 3 floors, the ground floor opens up to a beautiful sitting area, with a large pool and two sitting areas and a private area with a tv, the second floor has a few rooms. we stayed in a very nice one with a huge bathroom. the top floor has deck chairs and additional rooms as well as a private jacuzzi corner and a sitting area for breakfast. The hotel itself is typically hidden away in the maze that is the medina however they give you a simple map to follow basically when you exit the riad go out onto the street, head across the 'car park' onto a street thats straight ahead, when you come to a T junction with a red sign turn left and keep walking straight untill you pass the market then take the next right (youll see a jewllery shop ahead once you turn right) then walk straight for about 5 mins and your into la place!! If you get lost in the new city make sure you have a map where you can point to the gate the riad is near and do not pay over 80 at the very most during the night. Some tips before you leave for Marrakech, bring boots and a jacket if your going in winter (when it rains it turns into a mud bath!), prepare to haggle for everything except food, leave enough money to pay for the hotel in cash (card machines rarely work but keep trying if you have the patience), watch you bag, learn some basic french! and more importantly book this Riad!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
#246 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#118 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Oasissime
Riad Oasissime
#218 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#137 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Eliane
Riad Dar Eliane
#320 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Ajebel
Riad Ajebel
#325 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Rose D'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Rose D'Orient

Property: Riad La Rose D'Orient
Address: 17-18 derb draoua-sidi soussan-medina | Bab Lalla Aouda Saadia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad La Rose D'Orient 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad la rose d’orient will receive you in a traditional ambiance of the riads in the magical red city.You will be taken by the magical aspects of the place , sculptured materials by local craftsmen, mosaiques ,gibes stone, wood , flashing lights of the thousand and one night, harmony of colors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad La Rose D'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing