We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Barroko
Nearby Hotels
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$56
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$360
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$321
$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,070
$1,027
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$459
$439
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveler rating
32
51
17
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
51
17
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbab doukkalathe ground floorfirst floorfridgesquareriadtaxilabyrinthmoroccontileshammam
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 106 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have just returned from a week in Marrakech and Riad Barroko with a friend. The Riad is wonderful, the superior double we had was on the roof and had fantastic views, the room was cleaned daily, breakfast was in the courtyard and the two trips we booked to Essaouria and Ourika were great. Essaouria is worth the two hour drive as the contrast between Marrakech and Essaouria couldn't be greater! Marrakech is busy and vibrant, Essaouria is gentle and calm and not polluted by manic bike riders! Only note of warning is the trip to waterfalls, if you are not a big walker this could be hard as you need to climb over rocks and up mountains to get there, flip flops will not work! I found muscles in my legs never before used and an ability to become a mountain goat....but its all worth it...the views is fantastic and amazingly you can still buy pottery and jewellery in the mountains!
Would also recommend dinner in the Riad, had one of the best meals of the whole trip and cheap. Also recommend the Hammam nearby, very wonderful experience......friend and I agreed we would stay visit Marrakech and Riad Barroko again. Though would recommend French phrase books as staff do not speak English.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms looked small and dark as they don't look onto the courtyard, second floor and superior double much better,
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I just got back from four days in Marrakesh with my boyfriend. Riad Barroko is beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. We booked two excursions through the riad- one to Essaouria and one to the waterfalls in Ourika. Both trips were lovely and I would highly recommend.

The room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable but it is quite noisy so i didn't sleep so well. The riad has a lovely courtyard were you can eat breakfast or relax. There is also a terrace too.

We booked a transfer through the riad which was great as it would have been very difficult to find initially otherwise!

The location is very good with everything in walking distance. The riad has a sister spa/hammam which is round the corner and definitely well worth a visit.

I would definitely recommend this riad and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules_gem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

just come back from riad barroko were we booked a superior room we were given the worst room in the riad when we asked if we could move we were told no untill i complaned to the manegar who wasnt very helpful but did move us after four days if you book this riad make sure you have an upstairs room as the ground floor one is very tired looks dirty the taps leak and is very small. saying that the ladies that work there are lovely and are very helpful. the riad is very close to the attrations,cabs are cheap and it is easy to get around .

Room Tip: make sure you have a rom upstairs as these are much nicer
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorrainedartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose Riad Barroko based on good reviews and a very good value package though teletext holidays. We booked a transfer to the Riad and were walked to the door, we would not have found it otherwise. If you are trying to find it on your own turn your back to the Bab Doukala mosque and walk through the archway in front to the right. Take the second right (there was a pot with a tree in marking it), then the first left. The door to the Riad is then on the right flanked by 2 lanterns.

Inside the Riad is clean and peaceful and we were greeted with traditional tea and patisserie. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. As mentioned previously however they do not speak English. We got by as my partner speaks good French, We did have problems however when we wanted to go into the Ourika Valley one day and the staff did not understand what we wanted. We saw the manager who could speak English once, very briefly during our week long stay and never got a chance to ask about the mountain trip. It would have been nice it he was around a bit more when there are English guests (we were not the only ones) as we were interested in the use of the driver mentioned in previous reviews.

Overall the RIad was a peaceful Oasis away from the noise and crazyness of Marrakech. It was clean and the staff friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nickywhiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We chose Riad Barroko for our first trip to Marrakech. Rather than pay the extortionate travel company transfer costs we contacted the Riad before travelling and they arranged a private transfer at a fraction of the cost. This gave us the additional benefit of being met from the car by the manager and being escorted through the labyrinth of alleyways to the Riad door - I'm so pleased we didn't have to find our own way!
Upon arrival we were greeted with hot mint tea and cakes followed by a delicious, home cooked meal (also pre-arranged by contacting the manager).
Our room was small but very clean and very comfortable and the staff very friendly, though only the manager spoke English - we muddled through with our very poor French!
The manager arranged a trip to Essouira for us, taken by private car by their usual driver, an extremely friendly and helpful man.
Location wise - the Riad is located within easy walking distance of the souks and Jemaa el-Fnaa, though the roads may be a little tricky as you must avoid the cars, motorbikes and the unofficial tour guides. An experience in itself! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bunglebogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews