We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Riad Baroko an oasis of calm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Barroko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Barroko
Ranked #353 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Riad Baroko an oasis of calm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Have just returned from a week in Marrakech and Riad Barroko with a friend. The Riad is wonderful, the superior double we had was on the roof and had fantastic views, the room was cleaned daily, breakfast was in the courtyard and the two trips we booked to Essaouria and Ourika were great. Essaouria is worth the two hour drive as the contrast between Marrakech and Essaouria couldn't be greater! Marrakech is busy and vibrant, Essaouria is gentle and calm and not polluted by manic bike riders! Only note of warning is the trip to waterfalls, if you are not a big walker this could be hard as you need to climb over rocks and up mountains to get there, flip flops will not work! I found muscles in my legs never before used and an ability to become a mountain goat....but its all worth it...the views is fantastic and amazingly you can still buy pottery and jewellery in the mountains!
Would also recommend dinner in the Riad, had one of the best meals of the whole trip and cheap. Also recommend the Hammam nearby, very wonderful experience......friend and I agreed we would stay visit Marrakech and Riad Barroko again. Though would recommend French phrase books as staff do not speak English.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms looked small and dark as they don't look onto the courtyard, second floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I just got back from four days in Marrakesh with my boyfriend. Riad Barroko is beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful. We booked two excursions through the riad- one to Essaouria and one to the waterfalls in Ourika. Both trips were lovely and I would highly recommend.

The room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable but it is quite noisy so i didn't sleep so well. The riad has a lovely courtyard were you can eat breakfast or relax. There is also a terrace too.

We booked a transfer through the riad which was great as it would have been very difficult to find initially otherwise!

The location is very good with everything in walking distance. The riad has a sister spa/hammam which is round the corner and definitely well worth a visit.

I would definitely recommend this riad and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules_gem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dartford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

just come back from riad barroko were we booked a superior room we were given the worst room in the riad when we asked if we could move we were told no untill i complaned to the manegar who wasnt very helpful but did move us after four days if you book this riad make sure you have an upstairs room as the ground floor one is very tired looks dirty the taps leak and is very small. saying that the ladies that work there are lovely and are very helpful. the riad is very close to the attrations,cabs are cheap and it is easy to get around .

Room Tip: make sure you have a rom upstairs as these are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainedartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose Riad Barroko based on good reviews and a very good value package though teletext holidays. We booked a transfer to the Riad and were walked to the door, we would not have found it otherwise. If you are trying to find it on your own turn your back to the Bab Doukala mosque and walk through the archway in front to the right. Take the second right (there was a pot with a tree in marking it), then the first left. The door to the Riad is then on the right flanked by 2 lanterns.

Inside the Riad is clean and peaceful and we were greeted with traditional tea and patisserie. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. As mentioned previously however they do not speak English. We got by as my partner speaks good French, We did have problems however when we wanted to go into the Ourika Valley one day and the staff did not understand what we wanted. We saw the manager who could speak English once, very briefly during our week long stay and never got a chance to ask about the mountain trip. It would have been nice it he was around a bit more when there are English guests (we were not the only ones) as we were interested in the use of the driver mentioned in previous reviews.

Overall the RIad was a peaceful Oasis away from the noise and crazyness of Marrakech. It was clean and the staff friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickywhiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We chose Riad Barroko for our first trip to Marrakech. Rather than pay the extortionate travel company transfer costs we contacted the Riad before travelling and they arranged a private transfer at a fraction of the cost. This gave us the additional benefit of being met from the car by the manager and being escorted through the labyrinth of alleyways to the Riad door - I'm so pleased we didn't have to find our own way!
Upon arrival we were greeted with hot mint tea and cakes followed by a delicious, home cooked meal (also pre-arranged by contacting the manager).
Our room was small but very clean and very comfortable and the staff very friendly, though only the manager spoke English - we muddled through with our very poor French!
The manager arranged a trip to Essouira for us, taken by private car by their usual driver, an extremely friendly and helpful man.
Location wise - the Riad is located within easy walking distance of the souks and Jemaa el-Fnaa, though the roads may be a little tricky as you must avoid the cars, motorbikes and the unofficial tour guides. An experience in itself! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunglebogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved staying here, it is very quiet, the staff are really friendly, and the rooms are traditional though variable in size. all the positive points noted by others. We had just one problem - finding the Riad when we arrived, being dumped in the wrong place by the taxi from the airport. We should have given precise directions, which are that it is near the Mosque Bab Doukkala; once at the Mosque, local people will happily direct you down the alley way to the hotel. Thereafter we had no problem walking into the Jamaa Fna and souks, and into the new town - the location is really ideal for both, with a local market nearby for fruit etc..

Room Tip: rooms upstairs seemed larger, but the one at the north west corner could not receive wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHUckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARWICK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just back from our 3rd trip to the Barroko. This time stopped a week. Welcomed back with open arms and lots of kisses!! Just as lovely as ever but very hot this year. Pool was a blessing. 2 trips organised for us by the riad with their usual driver. We had great fun on both trips and especially enjoyed our day at Essouria. Love this riad. It is easy to find in a nice part of the medina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BUTTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#258 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#248 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#192 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#267 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#120 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#68 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Barroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Barroko

Property: Riad Barroko
Address: derb zaouia 26 bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Barroko 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riad Barroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Barroko Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing