We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Oasis!”
Review of Riad Barroko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Barroko
Ranked #344 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet Oasis!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We chose Riad Barroko based on good reviews and a very good value package though teletext holidays. We booked a transfer to the Riad and were walked to the door, we would not have found it otherwise. If you are trying to find it on your own turn your back to the Bab Doukala mosque and walk through the archway in front to the right. Take the second right (there was a pot with a tree in marking it), then the first left. The door to the Riad is then on the right flanked by 2 lanterns.

Inside the Riad is clean and peaceful and we were greeted with traditional tea and patisserie. The staff are very friendly and always happy to help. As mentioned previously however they do not speak English. We got by as my partner speaks good French, We did have problems however when we wanted to go into the Ourika Valley one day and the staff did not understand what we wanted. We saw the manager who could speak English once, very briefly during our week long stay and never got a chance to ask about the mountain trip. It would have been nice it he was around a bit more when there are English guests (we were not the only ones) as we were interested in the use of the driver mentioned in previous reviews.

Overall the RIad was a peaceful Oasis away from the noise and crazyness of Marrakech. It was clean and the staff friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nickywhiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    46
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We chose Riad Barroko for our first trip to Marrakech. Rather than pay the extortionate travel company transfer costs we contacted the Riad before travelling and they arranged a private transfer at a fraction of the cost. This gave us the additional benefit of being met from the car by the manager and being escorted through the labyrinth of alleyways to the Riad door - I'm so pleased we didn't have to find our own way!
Upon arrival we were greeted with hot mint tea and cakes followed by a delicious, home cooked meal (also pre-arranged by contacting the manager).
Our room was small but very clean and very comfortable and the staff very friendly, though only the manager spoke English - we muddled through with our very poor French!
The manager arranged a trip to Essouira for us, taken by private car by their usual driver, an extremely friendly and helpful man.
Location wise - the Riad is located within easy walking distance of the souks and Jemaa el-Fnaa, though the roads may be a little tricky as you must avoid the cars, motorbikes and the unofficial tour guides. An experience in itself! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunglebogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved staying here, it is very quiet, the staff are really friendly, and the rooms are traditional though variable in size. all the positive points noted by others. We had just one problem - finding the Riad when we arrived, being dumped in the wrong place by the taxi from the airport. We should have given precise directions, which are that it is near the Mosque Bab Doukkala; once at the Mosque, local people will happily direct you down the alley way to the hotel. Thereafter we had no problem walking into the Jamaa Fna and souks, and into the new town - the location is really ideal for both, with a local market nearby for fruit etc..

Room Tip: rooms upstairs seemed larger, but the one at the north west corner could not receive wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHUckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARWICK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just back from our 3rd trip to the Barroko. This time stopped a week. Welcomed back with open arms and lots of kisses!! Just as lovely as ever but very hot this year. Pool was a blessing. 2 trips organised for us by the riad with their usual driver. We had great fun on both trips and especially enjoyed our day at Essouria. Love this riad. It is easy to find in a nice part of the medina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BUTTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The riad was a nice relaxing contrast to the noise and activity of marakesh. Room was traditionally decorated with awsome morrocan style lamp. Room opened onto shady courtyard and swimming-pool - a blessing in 50c heat. Hotel organised a horse drawn carrage ride which was an experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 86JamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just got back from a week in Marrakech and chose to spend the first 3 nights in this Road. Firstly the plus points, (a) we booked a twin room on the ground floor only to find out they don’t have any on the ground floor - not a problem the manager gave us 2 rooms on the ground floor for the same price as one + bonus! (b) on day 2 after a heavy night out it was great to laze around the inner courtyard, take a quick plunge in the small pool and listen to birds cheeping away (c) hot water in the shower and at great pressure (d) lovely roof terrace for capturing the last rays of sunshine (e) free wifi (f) air conditioned rooms.
So now some constructive comments (a) the staff don’t speak English at all, my French is appalling and we made by between a mixture of using an online translator (fortunately free wifi access!) and hand motions - this should be made clearer in the adverts as I felt we missed out on being able to ask questions on local features. I did discuss this with the manager who seems like a really nice guy (so apologies for this part of my review) but he appeared more focused on business activities than looking after the customer (b) breakfast was pretty basic, some croissants, some bread and jam, tea (lipton bags not fresh)/ coffee) and occasionally a homemade pancake, having been out for breakfast on one occasion and seeing all the local produce available and pretty cheap prices I thought some fruit would have been nice or yoghurt.. also some Moroccan spiced coffee or mint tea would have been appreciated.
Overall, given the range of Riads in Marrakech at comparable prices I’d probably opt for a different Riad next time. If you speak French, then you’ll love this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HungryInAccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Indeed, as it was winter time - we stayed from 20 to 22 December, convinced by the positive comments – nights were rather cool in Marrakech. In the Riad there only was heating in our bedroom, which meant that it was not possible to sit in the beautiful patio or somewhere else in the evening or the morning. (Breakfast we had to take with our coats on.). However, there was a beautiful, well maintained swimming pool in the patio, though useless for swimming in winter.
Our stay felt also cold in the sense that – apart from people in one other room – we were the only guests staying at the moment and never met the manager, we only occasionally saw the house keeper and a lady doing some maintenance, who both hardly spoke a word to us. It was not fine to feel lonesome in such a cold big house. Furthermore the Riad is not very well located (in the Bab Doukkala district). To get to Jeema El Fna we had to walk through a – by day – dangerous and busy street, without footpaths which by night was dirty and lonesome. A stay in this Riad will perhaps be nicer in spring. Anyway it is strongly advisable to get there on arrival by taxi arranged by the manager : we wonder whether another taxi driver would find it only by its name and address as it is hidden in a “derb” where cars cannot circulate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbandflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#293 of 499 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#459 of 499 in Marrakech
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#19 of 499 in Marrakech
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#340 of 499 in Marrakech
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#322 of 499 in Marrakech
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Barroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Barroko

Property: Riad Barroko
Address: derb zaouia 26 bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Barroko 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Barroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Barroko Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing