We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value, tricky location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Barroko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Barroko to your Saves list
Riad Barroko
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   derb zaouia 26 bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #336 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Uckfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent value, tricky location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We loved staying here, it is very quiet, the staff are really friendly, and the rooms are traditional though variable in size. all the positive points noted by others. We had just one problem - finding the Riad when we arrived, being dumped in the wrong place by the taxi from the airport. We should have given precise directions, which are that it is near the Mosque Bab Doukkala; once at the Mosque, local people will happily direct you down the alley way to the hotel. Thereafter we had no problem walking into the Jamaa Fna and souks, and into the new town - the location is really ideal for both, with a local market nearby for fruit etc..

Room Tip: rooms upstairs seemed larger, but the one at the north west corner could not receive wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHUckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WARWICK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just back from our 3rd trip to the Barroko. This time stopped a week. Welcomed back with open arms and lots of kisses!! Just as lovely as ever but very hot this year. Pool was a blessing. 2 trips organised for us by the riad with their usual driver. We had great fun on both trips and especially enjoyed our day at Essouria. Love this riad. It is easy to find in a nice part of the medina.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BUTTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The riad was a nice relaxing contrast to the noise and activity of marakesh. Room was traditionally decorated with awsome morrocan style lamp. Room opened onto shady courtyard and swimming-pool - a blessing in 50c heat. Hotel organised a horse drawn carrage ride which was an experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 86JamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just got back from a week in Marrakech and chose to spend the first 3 nights in this Road. Firstly the plus points, (a) we booked a twin room on the ground floor only to find out they don’t have any on the ground floor - not a problem the manager gave us 2 rooms on the ground floor for the same price as one + bonus! (b) on day 2 after a heavy night out it was great to laze around the inner courtyard, take a quick plunge in the small pool and listen to birds cheeping away (c) hot water in the shower and at great pressure (d) lovely roof terrace for capturing the last rays of sunshine (e) free wifi (f) air conditioned rooms.
So now some constructive comments (a) the staff don’t speak English at all, my French is appalling and we made by between a mixture of using an online translator (fortunately free wifi access!) and hand motions - this should be made clearer in the adverts as I felt we missed out on being able to ask questions on local features. I did discuss this with the manager who seems like a really nice guy (so apologies for this part of my review) but he appeared more focused on business activities than looking after the customer (b) breakfast was pretty basic, some croissants, some bread and jam, tea (lipton bags not fresh)/ coffee) and occasionally a homemade pancake, having been out for breakfast on one occasion and seeing all the local produce available and pretty cheap prices I thought some fruit would have been nice or yoghurt.. also some Moroccan spiced coffee or mint tea would have been appreciated.
Overall, given the range of Riads in Marrakech at comparable prices I’d probably opt for a different Riad next time. If you speak French, then you’ll love this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HungryInAccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Indeed, as it was winter time - we stayed from 20 to 22 December, convinced by the positive comments – nights were rather cool in Marrakech. In the Riad there only was heating in our bedroom, which meant that it was not possible to sit in the beautiful patio or somewhere else in the evening or the morning. (Breakfast we had to take with our coats on.). However, there was a beautiful, well maintained swimming pool in the patio, though useless for swimming in winter.
Our stay felt also cold in the sense that – apart from people in one other room – we were the only guests staying at the moment and never met the manager, we only occasionally saw the house keeper and a lady doing some maintenance, who both hardly spoke a word to us. It was not fine to feel lonesome in such a cold big house. Furthermore the Riad is not very well located (in the Bab Doukkala district). To get to Jeema El Fna we had to walk through a – by day – dangerous and busy street, without footpaths which by night was dirty and lonesome. A stay in this Riad will perhaps be nicer in spring. Anyway it is strongly advisable to get there on arrival by taxi arranged by the manager : we wonder whether another taxi driver would find it only by its name and address as it is hidden in a “derb” where cars cannot circulate.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebbandflood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Very nice rooms in a quiet marakech place. Not that far from the central square. Rooms are nicely decorated. Bathroom a bit outdated though. Breakfast was ok-ish. Friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmuntus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

From the very start this Riad were so helpful and inviting. I booked this place for 4 nights 3 months before and last minute some friends decided to join us. The Riad were fully booked but accommodated them a day before I arrived and were extremely helpful with this process.
When I arrived the calm, soothing vibe away from the hustle and bustle of the street immediately relaxed me. My friends were singing the praises of all of the staff who had been so helpful and friendly.
The rooms and main area are authentic and beautiful making it clear to see how wonderful the Moroccan people are.
We wanted to do some trips which we spoke to Jaswad the manager about, he gave us so much information and sorted this for us last minute. We didn’t have enough cash on us so had to take more money out and he kindly offered us a discount to account for the fees we would incur.
All of the little touches about this place made out holiday a memorable one. Thank you to all of the staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Azenzer
Riad Azenzer
#369 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#270 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#263 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#59 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech
#246 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#265 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Barroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Barroko

Property: Riad Barroko
Address: derb zaouia 26 bab doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Barroko 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad Barroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Barroko Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing