We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great base for exploring Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad la Croix Berbere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad la Croix Berbere
Ranked #168 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for exploring Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The riad itself is very charming - a real oasis away from the intensity of the city. Upon arrival we were served a really delicious supper, however breakfast wasn't quite as exciting. We stayed in two of the rooms - Azerbal and Illy. The former was spacious and comfortable, however there are no windows sthis you like an airy room, this one wouldn't be for you. It also smelt a bit drain-y. The second room was better and had no smell although it was a very small. Overall, I think the riad is a good choice and good value for money. However, do be aware that it is located down a very windy, dirty backstreet away from the main square, so if you're travelling alone it may not be the best bet. However, the hotel staff can very easily arrange for a guide to take you to and from the square if necessary. in terms of location though, it's less than 5 mins walk from Jemaa el Fna, so probably one of the most affordable choices in terms of location.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can get noisy if you're a late riser and others are already up and breakfasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    72
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
100
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisbon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The riad is in in the Medina and the taxi is not able to take us to the Door . It is compreensible because streets in Medina are really narrow. There is always someone helping us and take car of luggadge. The riad is a good architecture inside and rooms are clean. Stuff are nice and it is easy to feel confortable. The food is simple but well cooked and have a good taste. In fact we have the chance to live in the heart of Medina and to feel how to live there.Deejma al-Fna is less than 5 minutes from there and souks world are near two.
The complaint I have is about the final price. I have payed the same for staying there 3 nights and the total of 2 dinners for two persons and 4 beers and 1 Fanta and one coca-cola, one cup of rose wine and 11 Euros from the the taxi in the day of arriving. They say that each dinner for 2 persons is about 170 MAD, so I had to spend 360 MAD . First they never said the price of anything we take there- There was not a list and when we ask we had the feeling because they were not precise in the answer that it was not very expensive. So it was a bad surprise to see the final " bill". There is no clear ness about we eat and drink and I pay more than 2000 Dirham (MAD) . I pay in Rome in Five star hotel 3 Euros for Coca~cola, so I feel a not fair what I have paid . So be sure to ask what about the price of things.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janiceLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a well placed riad with friendly staff - a good base and quiet.Rooms are basic and in need of some maintenance -at least the one we were in - cracks in the bathroom and unpleasant smell. If you are 3 people in a room its a bit crowded. Nice views from the roof. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlies64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Riad la Croix Berbere was a warm oasis of hospitality in Marrakech. While we didn't love the city itself the best of our tour of Morocco, we certainly loved our stay in this hotel.

When we arrived, a large family group had booked the rest of the riad, meaning it was quite noisy, with children playing and shouting a lot of the daytime. The hard surfaces of the inside of the riad meant that the sound bounced around a lot! They left the day before we did, and the riad was a changed place - peaceful and calm without any noise drifting in from the outside.

The room was the smallest we'd stayed in so far in Morocco, but I suppose this wasn't surprising since this was the biggest city. We were in the Afra room on the first floor, which has yet another very firm bed (we'd come to expect this in Morocco!) and a gorgeous bathroom, with a shower like another little room, done in lovely tadelakt. The inner courtyard is beautiful, and the pool is lovely.

The staff are what makes this place wonderful. As we went downstairs to head out for dinner on our last night in Morocco, we stopped to chat to the managers here, who have been lovely throughout. Every time they see us they ask if we slept well, how our day was, how our meals were. This time we got to talking about the languages we knew, and I demonstrated my couple of words of arabic, including “mumkin… mish mumkin” (perhaps… perhaps not) and “imshi” (go away), which set them off into paroxysms of laughter. This prompted a quick lesson on Berber dancing in the salon, which was fantastic! It certainly got the blood pumping and was a really positive end to our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

"Tout est possible" is what Omar said to us when we first arrived, tired and hungry and wondering if we could have our evening meal on the roof terrace. And that totally sums up the staff ethos of this place. Omar, Abdua and Ilham do a fantastic job looking after their guests and can arrange ANYTHING for you in double quick time! They are also some of the friendliest and genuine people you are ever likely to meet.
La Croix is ideally situated being so close to Jemma el fna and the souks. You really feel as though you are in the very heart of things not least by being relatively close to several mosques who all seem to want to out do each other when it is time for the "call to prayers" - a unique sound not to be missed.
We ate most of our evening meals at the riad because it quickly became apparent that we were going to be enjoying traditional Moroccan food cooked by traditional Moroccan people. We were not disappointed - the food was fab (we also tasted some Moroccan wine which could definitely hold a candle to anything over here)
We were surprised to be shown to a room on the roof terrace - didn't know they had one. If you want the best of both worlds, staying in this room gives you privacy when you want it (the staff will bring all meals etc. to the room) and when you're feeling gregarious you just go downstairs to the salon or poolside. Obviously the pool is a plunge pool but is deep enough to swim about three strokes in.
For a relatively inexpensive place to stay this riad was, for us, a great 'find', not LEAST because of the wonderful people running it.
Thank you Omar, Abdua and Ilham!

Room Tip: Go for the room on the roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great location and a beautiful interior. It is small, but the price reflects that. We felt very looked after and cared for. Roof terrace and good food.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We loved the Riad its not luxorius but clean and nice inside. Staff are friendly and always helpfool.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flapydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad La Croix Berbere De Luxe
Riad La Croix Berbere De Luxe
#277 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#245 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#138 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#103 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#212 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#84 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad la Croix Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad la Croix Berbere

Property: Riad la Croix Berbere
Address: 8 Derb Fhal Zefriti Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad la Croix Berbere 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 minutes de la célèbre place Jemâa-el-Fna et du Minaret de la Koutoubia... N'hésitez à pousser la porte de ce ryad... C'est dans le quartier El ksour (ksour pluriel de ksar qui veut dire palais) que se trouve ce charmant ryad. Son emplacement, vous permettra de profiter de l'ambiance des souks et de l'agitation de la place, mais également de l'attrait du quartier européen de Guéliz (10 mn à pieds) On vous proposera de prendre un verre de thé au bord du bassin, sur la terrasse, ou dans le salon marocain au coin de la cheminée.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad la Croix Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Croix Berbere Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing