We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming given the reviews but ok”
Review of La Cuisine de Mona

La Cuisine de Mona
Ranked #80 of 862 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Underwhelming given the reviews but ok”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We wanted a bit of a break from the delicious couscous and tajines we had been eating for the past 4 nights and decided to try some lebanese fare, a personal favourite of ours in Montreal! The locale is very quaint and charming. Mona (at least I am pretty sure it was Mona) was extremely welcoming and nice. The service was rapid and efficient. The food was plentiful and inexpensive but the quality was only average. We ordered the mezze (a kind of mix of everything good which Mona decides to make that day) which includes a series of cold dishes as the first course (mainly salads) and a set of hot dishes for the second course. I don't think it was a bad restaurant, I just think it is overrated given that it was, at the time we went, rated #5 on tripadvisor and was also recommended by the french guide, Le Routard.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    49
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty, Charming, Casual”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed dinner at this out of the way place. Wallpaper Magazine's guide to Marrakech listed it as a gem, then we noticed it's very high Tripadvisor ranking. Please tell your taxi driver to go to Victor Hugo School, then when you see Restaurant Niagara, pull over and walk down that street & 3 doors in (it's a one way street and your taxi can't go in) is Mona's cute little place. The signage and colorful decor are easy to spot. It's an out of the way place that doesn't seem like it's for tourists but rather a cute, charming neighborhood place with a bright, casual-chic decor and great prices. The food was excellent, Mona herself was there to take out order, we had the shared mezza for 2, it was all delicious. We sat outside and we were a little chilly, but that's also due to being slightly underdressed for the fresh November weather.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlastairCookieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of the way and great for vegans and veggies”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Set up near Victor Hugo part of town, a tiny restaurant with good fresh food and bright contemporary design. Meze dishes are excellent and I took vegan friends there who had very few choices in town for eating out! Wine and beer is reasonably priced too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelBlech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect break from Tagines and CousCous”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Delicious Lebanese mezze, great drinks. Mona is sweet and charming. A great break from Moroccan food. One of the best lunches in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlenWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Delicious Lebanese food.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We enjoy Moroccan food, but when it came time to try something different, we were lucky to eat at this tiny restaurant. We had their 'set' dinner of multiple hot and cold mezzes for two people, and loved every single dish served.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine de Mona also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cuisine de Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing