We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overbooked and unhelpful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Alsaad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Alsaad
Ranked #346 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“overbooked and unhelpful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I feel compelled to write about my disappointing experience with the owner of this Riad. We were due to stay 4 nights and had received email confirmation from Denis(the owner) on two occasions prior to our arrival. However, on arrival we were told that they had no record of our booking and that the the emails we received from the owner were fake. Denis himself did not make himself available to discuss the problem and allowed his assistant Said to deal with the issue. In the end we were forced to walk the streets to find a alternative place to stay, and neither Denis or Said took responsibility for their mistake. I would advise anyone looking for a Riad to steer clear of this one, as customer service is not their priority, and as I discovered, there are plenty of other really nice and welcoming places around Marrakech with the same room rates.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H2Olands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    20
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
4
47
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Small riad and has nice rooms. We only stayed one night about 15m walk into jemma fenna square. Staff can speak good english. Rooms are clean, spaciuos, well decorated and comfortable. They do offer a left luggage facility if needed though we did not use it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brimeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Riad Dar Alsaad is a beautifully decorated guest house inside the Walled Old City of Marrakech. We stayed in the Sahara Double Room, which had a comfortable bed and southwest red walls. The bathroom was fabricated from sculpted concrete, which was unusual. All the plumbing worked fine. The night manager spoke good English, and was helpful arranging excursions and the airport shuttle. The central courtyard where breakfast is served is open to the sky, decorated with plants and a water fountain, and candlelit in the evening. The food was good. A computer with internet connection is available for guest use.
The hotel is at the end of a narrow, dead-end side street and therefore very hard to find. Our taxi from the train station passed the street to the hotel. The taxi driver found two boys in the square nearby to take us to the hotel, which was about 150 feet back on a one-way street. The boys grabbed our luggage and started toward the hotel, and I hurried to pay the taxi and follow them. Fortunately, the boys lead us to the hotel. They ridiculed the $1.50 tip that I offered them, demanding $5 each. I only paid $3.50 for the taxi, and I gave him $1 and told them thanks and have a nice day.
The neighborhood around the hotel is like going back in time. The city walls date back to 1000 AD. Three thousand years of human technology in one place at the same time. Slabs of meat hang above the butcher shop counter outside. Donkeys and mules move freight through narrow, winding streets. Motorcycles, cars, cell phones, internet cafes inject modern life.
Walking the Old City is an experience. Old City Marrakech on the outside has a patina of grime like an old car left out to weather. Homes, shops and hotels are clean on the inside. Vendors can be very aggressive, especially street vendors. When bargaining on the price, start at one-tenth the original asking price. Negotiate a price with the taxi driver before getting into the taxi. They understand French.
Be wary of the snake charmers in the main market. Pay in advance $2 if you want to take photos. They demanded $10, and can be very aggressive. I was followed out of the square by a snake charmer demanding $10. After I gave $2 to another crew of snake charmers and started taking photos, I was confronted by two more fellows demanding more money. A fellow put a snake around my neck although I told them no. He said the snake was good luck—his good luck. I gave him $5 after he took the snake off.
Local art is available at a good price in Marrakech and in the area, if you know how to negotiate the price: Rugs, paintings, metalwork, ceramics, and leather. We took a car trip to the Atlas Mountains and hiked trails to the waterfalls. Nice excursion. Along the roads and the trails, many shops selling crafts. Upscale restaurants are hard to find, but we found the food to be generally good (especially the lamb). We ate at a nice Italian restaurant just outside the Old City Walls, across the street from the Medina of Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

we stayed here for 1 week over Xmas we were unsure what to expect on arrival but from start to finish we were well looked after the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us the room was serviced every day and the breakfast was good . it is in the northern Medina and only a 15 min walk through the souks to the main square. it also has a roof terrace to relax on which can be used at anytime .we had a great holiday made even better by our stay in this riad.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poshview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Riad dar alsaad is surely the best stay in Marrakech!

There are a lot of nice riads in Marrakech, but there is no place like Riad Dar Alsaad!!
The rooms are very pretty (we stayed in Rabat la splendeur), the bathrooms are stylish and the breakfast is delicious (enjoy it on the rooftop terrace!).
We really liked the relaxed atmosphere in the middle of busy Marrakech. very ' Zen' !

The best thing about the place is its very kind staff!!
As everybody knows: you can stay in the best hotels, but without good service it is nothing!
their staff made our stay unforgetable by providing us amazing dinners (please do not miss out on the Riads cooking!) and their kindness.
They gave us some good tips (where to go, good non typical tourist restaurants etc) and they even helped us out when we were having problems with the car rental (while we had already checked out).

Please see for yourself the wonderfull Riad dar alsaad!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davislary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed at Riad Dar Alsaad for 7 nights but would not recommend it for more than 2. First impressions were good; the riad is pretty and looks well kept and possibly recently renovated. Although 24 hour service is advertised the 'manager' is very rarely there and is not interested in receiving complaints. The breakfast is the same everyday but is fine - or it was until we witnessed the kitchen which was crawling in bugs and had a dead mouse contained in a glass on the ktichen worksurface and others running around the floor. When i approached the manager about this he simply shrugged and threw the cup and mouse in the kitchen bin. The room we stayed in was small and had no natural light or air conditioning, the bathroom sink and shower plugholes were dirty (full of hair) and the bathroom smelled of sewerage. During our stay the towels and sheets were not changed and no cleaning was done in the room. There is also no hammam although I belive this is advertised.

It should also be noted that although the hotel advertises as accepting payment by credit card there are no such facilities and the staff are at a loss for what to suggest other than getting money out from the cash point. For some travellers on a tighter budget this could present problems and for those staying for longer periods this also means that you will be carrying large amounts of cash through some pretty dark streets.

The location of the hotel was also an issue as it was nowhere near the location indicated on the map generated by google. You will definately need to hire a guide who, if they are anythign like ours, will walk you around the whole of Marrakech first and then demand lots of money. To make it even more difficult to locate the riad also does not have a sign outside indicating that you have found the place, it's just a door down a narrow street (off another narrow street).

To summarise, although this Riad is at the cheaper end of accommodation we would recommend spending a bit more for somewhere easier to find with better facilities. Certainly not for those staying more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spikychild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
Riad Les Jardins des Lilas
#239 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#264 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Saad
Riad Dar Saad
#147 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sharmance
Riad Sharmance
#358 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Alsaad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alsaad

Property: Riad Dar Alsaad
Address: Quartier Riad Laarouss | Derb el bakkal 11, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Alsaad 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Dar Alsaad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing