We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location and service: excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Princesse Jamila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Princesse Jamila
Ranked #195 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location and service: excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent the last 2 days of our trip through Maroc in this small and very well renovated Riad. After an exhausting trip with a lot of driving, we felt really comfortable in this environment. Due to the excellent location we were able to stop here every few hours during our expeditions through the Medina and relax. The Riad seems to belong to a French owner ("with a Maroc owner the house would not look so well kept" said an insider) and is run by five nice, always laughing young ladies, who cordially welcome each client. Very good rooms and relaxation opportunity on the roof with view to the High Atlas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManfredR233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    35
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
191
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently, and overall it was a lovely time. There were a few things we were unprepared for, so I just wanted to include them here so others are aware of them (hence my 4-star rating, rather than a 5-star).

Pros:
Location is great - it's about a 10 minute walk from the main square.
The hotel is beautiful - really serene and relaxing.
Breakfast is fantastic - good way to start your day!
Staff is terrific - everyone was extremely helpful, and it seemed like we were always welcomed with a smile.

Cons:
The rooms don't lock - this might not be a big deal to others, but we were a bit put-off by it. They put safes in the room, but due to our inability to understand how to work a safe in french, we ended up not being able to use this, so overall we were a bit nervous (even if that was irrational).
The staff had a hard time directing us around Marrakech - they didn't have any maps available and were often unable to tell us where landmarks are. One night, we asked for a guide to bring us to dinner, and the man they called ended up being extremely rude and aggressive with us, demanding money and telling us he was crazy, to the point of bringing my wife to tears.

Overall, this is a wonderful Riad, though I suspect that it is a better fit for those looking to spend more time in their Riad and take advantage of the Hamman. For my wife and I, looking to be out and about, it maybe wasn't the best fit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jphmoney99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aualje, Propriétaire at Riad Princesse Jamila, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello i m so sorry not to have 5/ 5 i don t understand because we have plenty of city guide in riad and we give them to hosts we can explain of course monuments of our city
if you can t use the safe box you must ask us to explain we could explain you
and the guide was not our guide in marrakech young people help you in the street but they always ask for money don t you know that ? you ll dont be afraid just give him some pieces of money for saying thank you to go with you in restaurant ! many thanks for find our riad very nice and our staff very professionnal see you soon in Marrakech carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would recommend this riad if you are looking for a great service especially if you have young children. The girls (Miriam, Khameesa, Fatim Zahra) running the place are brilliant and are always beaming with a smile. They loved messing with the kids and the kids loved staying here.

The riad is centrally located (Off Rue Riad Zitoun el Jdid - 5 mins walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa and Bahia Palace). I suggest you ask the riad to pick you up from airport as you'll struggle to find it if you are making your own way.

It will help if you can converse in French or Arabic. The staff can't communicate very well in English but I think you can get away with it.

Beds are comfortable, the place is safe and secure, always had hot water, AC/heating works and the breakfast is amazing. The only problem we encountered was with the wifi in the room but we weren't too bothered about that.

I would also suggest you organise any excursions with them. They have a partnership with an external company and our trip to Ourika Valley was good. The driver was a gentleman.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shabbydabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A Riad in the heart of the Medina, 5 mins brisk walk from the Jamaa el Fna (main square). Accessed via two safe if very 'Marrakesh' like routes through the crowded streets, the positioning for a few days walking the joys of the Medina is perfect.

Comfortable rooms, nice spaces and a lovely terrace are complimented by some of the most friendly and attentive staff I've ever had the pleasure to stay with.

The food is a little over priced and a quick walk to the square will offer better value and more variety, but for the first night or morning, its nice to have something on site and easy, served in a lovely courtyard.

We had some dialogue with the owner prior to our arrival and found her manner brusque to the point of almost rudeness. But it had no bearing on our stay as said owner lives in France and we had no contact with her whilst in the Riad. A relief If I'm honest, as we were beginning to think we'd made a mistake in booking this place having corresponded with her over simple things like payment.

On the point about payment, we were informed we could pay in EURO via a Carte bancaire. This is not the case. They accept Euro payment in cash, indeed the pricing and booking were in EURO, but when we came to settle the bill, the card actually debits in Derham and a currency exchange will take place through the card...incurring costs to us we had not planned for.

We arranged a day excursion with the Riad to have a private taxi take us to a coastal town for the day. whilst it was very easy to organise, the quality of the car was shocking. It was presented as a luxury car and indeed was a modern Merc S class, however it barely made it to the coast without a breakdown, the climate control failed and it actually did breakdown on the outskirts of town on the way back. We walked the last mile having abandoned the car, so not a problem, but if the car had failed on the main road, we would have been stuck for hours while they sorted it out....not the best partner for the hotel to offer us I thought. Be aware and ensure they are offering a decent taxi partner.

Overall a very pleasant stay in Marrakech was complimented by this quiet comfortable Riad and its excellent staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The riad surpassed our expectations - it was even better than their very good video - we traveled with 2 adults and 4 teenagers - the attention to detail was great - the rooms every comfortable with nice beds and washrooms and air conditioning. The breakfasts were excellent and the hostesses were so amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank les_canadiens5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here in Nov2011 with a friend. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, always with a smile. Our room was neat and tidy - truly felt like you were in a classic Moroccan riad. Complimentary wireless Internet and breakfast were great. From the rooftop you can see the craziness of the medina and know you chose well - Riad Princesse Jamila is a short walk to the square.

Once you find this riad in the medina maze (won't be hard to find a local to initially escort you here, dropping them some dirhams), you won't want to leave. We ended up staying longer! Would totally recommend for anyone staying a while in this awesome city.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tashinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Our choice of Riad couldn't have been better. As you walk down the alley ways that make up the city you are not sure what you will find. Behind the ornate wooden door a warm welcome into an oasis of calm greets you. The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. All meals are freshly prepared. We enjoyed the breakfast treats (freshly cooked pancakes with local honey and pastries along with freshly squeezed orange juice). After busy days out and about in the city (the RIad is close to museums, palaces and the hectic main square) we enjoyed a couple of tasty evening meals in a relaxing atmosphere. You are made to feel like one of the family. We received prompt responses to our emails. Miriam organised transport to and from the airport which made our arrival and departure hassle free. We would strongly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hibbsy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#242 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#53 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#91 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#97 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Saad
Riad Dar Saad
#111 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Marrabahia
Riad Marrabahia
#274 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Princesse Jamila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse Jamila

Property: Riad Princesse Jamila
Address: 19 Derb Zanka Dayka, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Princesse Jamila 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this small paradise in the middle of orange trees, breathe in the enchanting scents of flowers, scented candles Completely restored, Princess Jamilla riad is a genuine, traditional and contemporary.In this magical place, in the land of a thousand and one night, you will live unforgettable moments.Dinner by candlelight in the glow of the stars, relax in the patio flowers and trees, relax on the terrace, swim in the pool of refreshments, massage in the open air under the sails of voluptuous Balinese bed. Smell, taste, serenity, comfort and refinement.You could find on our web site differents promotions for everybody for every stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Princesse Jamila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Princesse Jamila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing