We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Princesse Jamila
Ranked #206 of 1,165 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would recommend this riad if you are looking for a great service especially if you have young children. The girls (Miriam, Khameesa, Fatim Zahra) running the place are brilliant and are always beaming with a smile. They loved messing with the kids and the kids loved staying here.

The riad is centrally located (Off Rue Riad Zitoun el Jdid - 5 mins walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa and Bahia Palace). I suggest you ask the riad to pick you up from airport as you'll struggle to find it if you are making your own way.

It will help if you can converse in French or Arabic. The staff can't communicate very well in English but I think you can get away with it.

Beds are comfortable, the place is safe and secure, always had hot water, AC/heating works and the breakfast is amazing. The only problem we encountered was with the wifi in the room but we weren't too bothered about that.

I would also suggest you organise any excursions with them. They have a partnership with an external company and our trip to Ourika Valley was good. The driver was a gentleman.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shabbydabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 369 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

A Riad in the heart of the Medina, 5 mins brisk walk from the Jamaa el Fna (main square). Accessed via two safe if very 'Marrakesh' like routes through the crowded streets, the positioning for a few days walking the joys of the Medina is perfect.

Comfortable rooms, nice spaces and a lovely terrace are complimented by some of the most friendly and attentive staff I've ever had the pleasure to stay with.

The food is a little over priced and a quick walk to the square will offer better value and more variety, but for the first night or morning, its nice to have something on site and easy, served in a lovely courtyard.

We had some dialogue with the owner prior to our arrival and found her manner brusque to the point of almost rudeness. But it had no bearing on our stay as said owner lives in France and we had no contact with her whilst in the Riad. A relief If I'm honest, as we were beginning to think we'd made a mistake in booking this place having corresponded with her over simple things like payment.

On the point about payment, we were informed we could pay in EURO via a Carte bancaire. This is not the case. They accept Euro payment in cash, indeed the pricing and booking were in EURO, but when we came to settle the bill, the card actually debits in Derham and a currency exchange will take place through the card...incurring costs to us we had not planned for.

We arranged a day excursion with the Riad to have a private taxi take us to a coastal town for the day. whilst it was very easy to organise, the quality of the car was shocking. It was presented as a luxury car and indeed was a modern Merc S class, however it barely made it to the coast without a breakdown, the climate control failed and it actually did breakdown on the outskirts of town on the way back. We walked the last mile having abandoned the car, so not a problem, but if the car had failed on the main road, we would have been stuck for hours while they sorted it out....not the best partner for the hotel to offer us I thought. Be aware and ensure they are offering a decent taxi partner.

Overall a very pleasant stay in Marrakech was complimented by this quiet comfortable Riad and its excellent staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The riad surpassed our expectations - it was even better than their very good video - we traveled with 2 adults and 4 teenagers - the attention to detail was great - the rooms every comfortable with nice beds and washrooms and air conditioning. The breakfasts were excellent and the hostesses were so amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank les_canadiens5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here in Nov2011 with a friend. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, always with a smile. Our room was neat and tidy - truly felt like you were in a classic Moroccan riad. Complimentary wireless Internet and breakfast were great. From the rooftop you can see the craziness of the medina and know you chose well - Riad Princesse Jamila is a short walk to the square.

Once you find this riad in the medina maze (won't be hard to find a local to initially escort you here, dropping them some dirhams), you won't want to leave. We ended up staying longer! Would totally recommend for anyone staying a while in this awesome city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tashinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Our choice of Riad couldn't have been better. As you walk down the alley ways that make up the city you are not sure what you will find. Behind the ornate wooden door a warm welcome into an oasis of calm greets you. The staff are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble. All meals are freshly prepared. We enjoyed the breakfast treats (freshly cooked pancakes with local honey and pastries along with freshly squeezed orange juice). After busy days out and about in the city (the RIad is close to museums, palaces and the hectic main square) we enjoyed a couple of tasty evening meals in a relaxing atmosphere. You are made to feel like one of the family. We received prompt responses to our emails. Miriam organised transport to and from the airport which made our arrival and departure hassle free. We would strongly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hibbsy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Our room ( Ali Barber) was clean and very well appointed an we were very comfortable. We did hear the noises of the Riad as people came and went and it did give the feeling of not being private, even though it was. The staircase on to the first floor created some noise as people climbed the stairs but, hey this is Marrakesh ..... you expect noise !
These things aside we would have to say the young girls who looked after the Riad could not have done more for us - they were simply lovely ! Thank you !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed here in early November with a friend, and had a fantastic stay.

I did a fair bit of research on hotels before I arrived, and this one consistently got good reviews, and I wasn't disappointed.

We arrived at around 9am, and they had a room available for us right away. It was a double-bed, but I mentioned that we weren't a couple (2 single guys!), and when we returned, the bed had been split into two singles.

The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful, and the cleanliness, breakfast, hotel location etc were all perfect. I'd strongly recommend this place.

Paul & Tashi

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#219 of 501 in Marrakech
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kasbah 117 Marrakech
Riad Kasbah 117 Marrakech
#193 of 1,165 in Marrakech
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#17 of 1,165 in Marrakech
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Marrabahia
Riad Marrabahia
#415 of 1,165 in Marrakech
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Al Ralia
Riad Al Ralia
#612 of 1,165 in Marrakech
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kasbah
Riad Kasbah
#283 of 1,165 in Marrakech
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Princesse Jamila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Princesse Jamila

Address: 19 Derb Zanka Dayka, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 1,165 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $85 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Princesse Jamila 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this small paradise in the middle of orange trees, breathe in the enchanting scents of flowers, scented candles Completely restored, Princess Jamilla riad is a genuine, traditional and contemporary.In this magical place, in the land of a thousand and one night, you will live unforgettable moments.Dinner by candlelight in the glow of the stars, relax in the patio flowers and trees, relax on the terrace, swim in the pool of refreshments, massage in the open air under the sails of voluptuous Balinese bed. Smell, taste, serenity, comfort and refinement.You could find on our web site differents promotions for everybody for every stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Princesse Jamila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Princesse Jamila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing