We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Riad in the heart of the Medina”
Review of Dar Jaguar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Jaguar
Ranked #374 of 1,145 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical Riad in the heart of the Medina”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Dar Jaguar is the perfect, peaceful sanctuary from the craziness of Marrakech. We were so well looked after by the amazing Fatiha who also cooked up a storm. Gorgeous rooms, roof terrace and courtyard completed the package not to mention the attached boutique full of things I wanted to take home with me! Highly recommended on every level.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
68
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Dar Jaguar does not receive the praise that it deserves. It is exceptionally well located in the medina, beautifully furnished with good quality and generous furniture. A courtyard with beautiful palm trees and a relaxing fountain and beautiful pool. The hostess is gracious and polite, and ensured that we were comfortable at all times.

We stayed in "The State of Grace" suite, which is possible on of the unique and beautiful rooms in the city. Luxury is the word. Beautiful decor, very detailed and unique with splashes of colour where needed. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. The bathroom was fitted with custom made (hand made) free standing, 4 clawed brass bath, with custom brass basins and taps. The room has a coffee table, two 4 additional chairs and a beautiful fireplace. The balcony has a stunning view of the courtyard.

The food was magnificent - home made, freshly made and uniquely Moroccan. Moroccan home cooking at it's best. The service is outstanding. A private table with candles and incense was arranged for dinner and breakfast. A delicious local wine was also offered.

There is a full selection of spa treatments available.

I would recommend Dar Jaguar to anyone who is interested in spoiling themselves when in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFatMansPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Took my mother for a long weekend, Thursday to Sunday was a good amount of time. As with most Riad's a little hard to find the first time, but Anam arranged an airport pick up and guide to take us straight to the Riad.

Beautifully decorated, gorgeous courtyard and balcony. Our rooms were clean and luxurious with such nice decor and small touches, we took advantage of the non-peak 50% offer which made the value for money outstanding. Hospitality and food was great, with a breakfast included of Morrocan type pancakes, fruit with fresh figs and endless pots of mint tea.

Great location to the souk, you'll find your way back easily the first time, but do draw a map for yourself and use landmarks.

Without a doubt I would stay there again for my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TayoLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2013

An oasis of calm within the busy Medina. Lovely accomodation with great decor, good food and friendly and very helpful staff. For a short break the package we chose threw us straight into the ambience that was Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaW581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

You would never believe that this romantic and quiet Riad is 30 seconds away from the Medina.
I never imagined that a beautiful place like this existed.
As soon as I walked into the amazing courtyard of this Riad, I had the instant feeling of relaxation. The staff were so welcoming and friendly,that it felt as though I was visiting friends.
We stayed in one of the immaculately themed rooms with a marble bath to die for...I couldn't wait to have a comfortable soak in the deep tub and not having to worry about who would get the tap end!
The serenity was overwhelming and the attention to each little detail of the room and Riad was perfection.
Dar Jaguars staff were attentive, accomodating and great chefs! If you wanted coffee in your room, up on the panoramic roof terrace or even in the dining room, just had to say the word.
We stayed for 5 nights....it wasn't enough.
We'll be back there, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a fantastic stay Dar Jaguar. It is located on a very quiet street in the heart of the Medina. It is a beautiful riad, immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, serves delicious food, and boasts warm and caring staff. We could not have asked for a better holiday. The soaking tub in our room was a real treat too! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eah923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've never stayed anywhere that took some much care over us. What superlatives cover a hotel manager (Fatiha) that walks one of your 10 year old boys through the souks hand in hand in search of the best knives and spices, books you all the best restaurants at the last minute, takes you to the best places to shop, and is then sympathetic when you haven't got as good prices as she would have done....?

The riad is lovely; traditional decoration recently done, with 5 rooms on the ground and first floors round a courtyard, very comfy, with beautiful bathrooms with deep plaster baths, perfect breakfasts on the roof terrace - cinnamon toast to die for. It's 100 yards from the east side of the main souk, hidden down a wide side alley from one of the main walkways, so quiet but safe.

We've been to Marakesh before and couldn't recommend this more highly.

Room Tip: I think there are only 5 rooms - we had 3 - all lovely. One of the ones on the ground floor had huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Monika
Riad Monika
#218 of 499 in Marrakech
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#223 of 499 in Marrakech
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 499 in Marrakech
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Elisa
Riad Elisa
#293 of 1,145 in Marrakech
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#24 of 1,145 in Marrakech
1,019 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Darma
Riad Dar Darma
#198 of 1,145 in Marrakech
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Jaguar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jaguar

Property: Dar Jaguar
Address: 7-8 Derb El Mesfioui | Rahba Kedima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 1,145 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Jaguar 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lose your mind and come to your senses." Lucia Silver, Owner Dar Jaguar Says Lucia: "The desire to create my riad hotel, Dar Jaguar, was born of a deep longing to escape, explore and discover. Escaping London and exploring Marrakech for the first time, I was captivated by the biblical medina. How mysterious dirt track alleyways led to these heavenly bejewelled palaces. I felt like Scheherazade on honeymoon in Morocco and blissfully lost inside an exotic Arabic tale of exquisite beauty and romance. It ignited a passionate desire to "own" a piece of this ancient world - my very own romantic getaway. I found Dar Jaguar in the best possible location - only three minutes from BOTH the world famous Place Jemaa El Fna and the exotic Spice Market. This was true romance. I was in love. It took me 12 months of sun-drenched hard work to renovate and restore this riad hotel to its original beauty: A traditional blend of Moorish and Oriental architecture, built around an idyllic courtyard fountain with palm trees wrapped in lavish bougainvillea." With three salons, a plunge pool, a rooftop terrace for dining and sun worshipping, a cool courtyard, massage on demand and sumptuous bedrooms designed by a London couture fashion designer, this truly is a glistening slice of heaven. For this reason, our guests choose Dar Jaguar just as often for their honeymoon in Morocco as for their family holiday, perfect hen party accommodation and for their birthday celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Jaguar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing