We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first time - Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Jaguar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Jaguar
Ranked #291 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My first time - Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

You would never believe that this romantic and quiet Riad is 30 seconds away from the Medina.
I never imagined that a beautiful place like this existed.
As soon as I walked into the amazing courtyard of this Riad, I had the instant feeling of relaxation. The staff were so welcoming and friendly,that it felt as though I was visiting friends.
We stayed in one of the immaculately themed rooms with a marble bath to die for...I couldn't wait to have a comfortable soak in the deep tub and not having to worry about who would get the tap end!
The serenity was overwhelming and the attention to each little detail of the room and Riad was perfection.
Dar Jaguars staff were attentive, accomodating and great chefs! If you wanted coffee in your room, up on the panoramic roof terrace or even in the dining room, just had to say the word.
We stayed for 5 nights....it wasn't enough.
We'll be back there, sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    14
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
63
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a fantastic stay Dar Jaguar. It is located on a very quiet street in the heart of the Medina. It is a beautiful riad, immaculately clean, beautifully decorated, serves delicious food, and boasts warm and caring staff. We could not have asked for a better holiday. The soaking tub in our room was a real treat too! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eah923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've never stayed anywhere that took some much care over us. What superlatives cover a hotel manager (Fatiha) that walks one of your 10 year old boys through the souks hand in hand in search of the best knives and spices, books you all the best restaurants at the last minute, takes you to the best places to shop, and is then sympathetic when you haven't got as good prices as she would have done....?

The riad is lovely; traditional decoration recently done, with 5 rooms on the ground and first floors round a courtyard, very comfy, with beautiful bathrooms with deep plaster baths, perfect breakfasts on the roof terrace - cinnamon toast to die for. It's 100 yards from the east side of the main souk, hidden down a wide side alley from one of the main walkways, so quiet but safe.

We've been to Marakesh before and couldn't recommend this more highly.

Room Tip: I think there are only 5 rooms - we had 3 - all lovely. One of the ones on the ground floor had huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

A last minute decision to visit Marrakech for New Year left us desperately looking for accomodation. After looking everywhere, we found Dar Jaguar had had an 11th hour cancelation. So we booked it by default.

We arrived quite late in Marrakech, overwhelmed and excited. Lucia arranged for us to be taken from the airport by taxi then to Dar Jaguar by the riad's kind heavy-lifting wheelbarrow man.

We arrived to an open fire in the State of Grace suite and were completely gobamacked. The photography on the website is not in anyway romanticized. It's exactly what it appears to be: perfect.

We were directed to La Marrakechi for dinner, where our guide said "Dar Jaguar" and we managed to get a table immediately. Lucia seems to have good contacts.

Breakfast on the rooftop was simple and delicious. House manager Fatiah and her sister were very obliging to my dietary requirements.

The Dar Jaguar guide to Marrakech is an invaluable resource, and by reading it we were fortunate to avoid the pitfalls of Marrakech and see its beauty. The location is perfect. Maybe 3 minutes walk to Jamaa el Fna. Very easy to find.

Fatiha offered to organize trips for us but all we wanted to do was relax at the riad, and venture into the souks every so often. She realized that we wanted privacy and we were given it in abundance, but were still offered exceptional service. An ideal balance.

For New Year we had a banquet on the rooftop which although not cheap, was the most romantic way to spend an evening. The food was superb.

I have absolutely nothing but praise for this riad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIBFRENCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been to Marrakech several times and love the whole riad, rather than hotel, experience.
Dar Jaguar really has something extra special. We arrived in the early evening and the courtyard had been fragranced with frankincense and lit with what felt like hundreds of atmospheric candles around the stunning fountain that they had filled with roses… The staff prepared one of the best meals we have had at any riad that night and when we went back to our exotic suite, Babylonian Vamp, they had even put hot water bottles in our beds as it was a chilly night.
We came to expect a simpler service at such smaller family-run riads – especially when they are a fraction of the price of the hotels – but Dar Jaguar really delivered over and above our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Me and my friends booked this in the last minute and what gem it turned out to be! Words can't express how madly in love I fell with this place! And that's due to a history of mediocre experiences from hotels that look lavish but never, ever deliver.

The riad is utterly beautiful. You can really tell that it's not just something somebody put together out of an interior design book, there is real culture and history crafted within its design with inspiration taken from Dance, Art and Literature.

Above all, the staff! God they were a real delight So warm and welcoming (with great communication skills might I add as they could speak English) and willing to help and facilitate every step of the way.

I think the thing that me and my friends were most impressed with was how we contacted Dar Jaguar, and within days they organized EVERYTHING! I told them what we liked, what we might be looking for and we had a personalised itinerary made that encapsulated the very best of Marrakech.

I don't think I've comeback from a holiday so thrilled and inspired! And I'll do it all over again!

Love it!

Room Tip: Whichever one you like the look off! Because they're ALL incredible and live up to their picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakela U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I recently stayed at Dar Jaguar; arriving in the square you are greeted by a porter who takes you to the riad, upon entering you are met with a little oasis in the middle of the madness of the souks. Mint tea on arrival in the courtyard was the perfect introduction to Marrakech.

Fatima was exceptional in her management of the riad, basically she works tirelessly and nothing is ever to much trouble. The rooms and riad are very clean and a beautiful retreat. Only one point to note was that the rooms/beds were a little on the small side in our room, but this definately should not detract from this great find. Would recommend to anyone wanting to sample great hospitality and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumble2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#100 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#104 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#68 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#45 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Jaguar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jaguar

Property: Dar Jaguar
Address: 7-8 Derb El Mesfioui | Rahba Kedima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lose your mind and come to your senses." Lucia Silver, Owner Dar Jaguar Says Lucia: "The desire to create my riad hotel, Dar Jaguar, was born of a deep longing to escape, explore and discover. Escaping London and exploring Marrakech for the first time, I was captivated by the biblical medina. How mysterious dirt track alleyways led to these heavenly bejewelled palaces. I felt like Scheherazade on honeymoon in Morocco and blissfully lost inside an exotic Arabic tale of exquisite beauty and romance. It ignited a passionate desire to "own" a piece of this ancient world - my very own romantic getaway. I found Dar Jaguar in the best possible location - only three minutes from BOTH the world famous Place Jemaa El Fna and the exotic Spice Market. This was true romance. I was in love. It took me 12 months of sun-drenched hard work to renovate and restore this riad hotel to its original beauty: A traditional blend of Moorish and Oriental architecture, built around an idyllic courtyard fountain with palm trees wrapped in lavish bougainvillea." With three salons, a plunge pool, a rooftop terrace for dining and sun worshipping, a cool courtyard, massage on demand and sumptuous bedrooms designed by a London couture fashion designer, this truly is a glistening slice of heaven. For this reason, our guests choose Dar Jaguar just as often for their honeymoon in Morocco as for their family holiday, perfect hen party accommodation and for their birthday celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Jaguar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing