We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and excellent service”
Review of La Cour des Lions

La Cour des Lions
Ranked #125 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $69
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Cour des Lions is a Moroccan gastronomic restaurant, located on the 3rd floor of the Palace Es Saadi. The Bauchet-Bouhlal family and the Chef Fatéma Hal, famous ambassador of Moroccan gastronomy, invite you to an unforgettable gustative journey through a Moroccan but forgotten cuisine. Succumb to the true Mourouzia’s flavours, long simmered lamb shank with raisins, juice of dates and the sublime Es Saadi Ras El Hanout spice mix: a succulent salty sweet union!
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food and excellent service”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Starter soup "harira", as well as my girlfriend's main dish " le couscous cour de lion" ( royal), and my main dish, lamb shank tajine was delicious and the meat literally falling off the bone. Service is excellent, not pushy but enough to look to the side when you need something and they come to you. Definiyely recommend it. Prices are what you would expect to pay in a good restaurant. Not expensive, it just costs a lot of money, but definitely get what you pay for.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fofofofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    42
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding & Elegant”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Superb dining experience. We had the lamb that had been roasted for 7 hrs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oduescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best value Michelin quality food”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Although we were the ONLY table booked there (apparently Mondays are always quiet) we had an amazing night. Impeccable service, beautiful restaurant. Food was top quality however there was no need for the same foam and garnish on every dish. And maybe too much? Don't let that stop you going though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magalie_billaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

First class!!! the best food I have had in a long time Fantastic service I couldn't believe how good it was !!!! A must try!!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“possibly the best deserts in the world”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We dined here on a Tuesday night early October and it was very quiet, only two other tables all night. We had the best deserts we have ever had, Michelin star quality. Staff were excellent, and the setting makes you feel you really are dining in a Royal Palace. We would highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelman34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cour des Lions also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Cour des Lions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing