We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety”
Review of Theatro

Theatro
Ranked #3 of 20 Nightlife in Marrakech
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TheatrO Marrakech Dance Like Never Before. Best Nightclub in Morocco since 2003 !!! Open 7/7 - Start 23:30 / Till Late
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good variety”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A varied show comprising drummers (boring), acrobats (good), a belly dancer (fashionably chunky) and food (rather too much couscous, beef and vegetables)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBob49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    46
    25
    16
    39
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“too bad”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were with a group of 5 girls. It was on a ladiesnight so no entrance fee. They gave us 2 sofas and a table cause we ordered a bottle of vodka. So, when the bottle came, it was the cheapest vodka in marocco and not worth the 1400 dirhams. We called the waiter and he took it and brought us the right one. A little bit after the waiter came back to us and said that we had to move and that we had just 1 sofa, this was so weird. I told him that were not moving cause were with 5 girls and it was impossible to sit on 1 sofa. He went away. After that, a girl came and she said that she was the manager and said that if were not moving that they will put us out. So we moved :S The only thing that was nice was the music. Im never going back to theatro!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Leila e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Manager at Theatro, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Leila,

Thank you for this review. We would like to apologize for the way our hostess talked to you. During the last week of August, we were overwhelmed with clients taking advantage of the week vacation they could take after the month of Ramadan and we did commit some placement mismatches. Since then, we have taken the necessary steps to avoid this type of table problem and to correct the way such a situation is managed.
Every review helps us to identify what needs to be fixed in our club so we can continue to offer the best clubbing in Marrakech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My friend and I were in Marrakech a few weeks ago and we bumped into some people from Casablanca who were in the city to party for the weekend. We became friends with them and they invited us out to TheatrO. Great, we though, were going to the largest nightclub in Africa.

We booked a table in advance and got to the door and was told that there was nothing under our name. After about 15 minutes of arguing we managed to get 2 tables sorted and said we would all pay on card. We was taken down to the reception when our hostess met us. When she found out that we was all paying separate amounts on our cards she flipped and started shouting at all of us. Because of this we had to go back upstairs and draw money out.

We finally got to our 2 tables (which were at the top of the nightclub and in a great spot) sat down and received 1 bottle of vodka and 1 bottle of champagne (all for 2800DH)

Half way through the night the waitress came up to us and tried to move us to a smaller table and said someone had brought the one we was on (despite us buying it) we refused and then she demanded that we move up, we refused again and stood our ground for nearly 30mins.

The music was ok, but getting into the club and the attitude of the staff was appalling. I have written a complaint letter to management (4/9/12) but have yet to hear back from them.

My advise if steer clear, its not worth the hassle and there are lots of nicer places in Marrakech

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank the427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WonderfulMorocco, Owner at Theatro, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Chris,

Thank you for this review. We are terribly sorry that your night at Theatro Marrakech wasn’t completely up to your expectations. We would like to apologize for the table mismatch and the way our hostess managed the situation. She certainly should not have reacted this way. Your review will help us correct things. We strive every day to offer the best clubbing experience in Marrakech and we work hard to satisfy every client. We are at least happy that you enjoyed the music and the settings.

If you come back to Marrakech, please send an email to the adress we have posted on your blog. We will make our best to correct your impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Racist and Expensive!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I went to this club with 2 Danish guys, 1 Canadian girl, and 1 other American guy. The entrance fee was 200 dirham with hardly anyone in the club. The 2 Danes paid and went through no problem (blonde and blue eyed), I come up to pay and the hostess demands to see my ID (I'm asian) and I asked why she didn't check the two Danes and she just said "they're not Muslim". I was super confused and asked why she thought I was Muslim, what a Muslim person looked like, and why it mattered. After some ridiculous negotiation, I had to go back to my hotel and get my passport to prove I was American (not sure what that has to do with not being Muslim) and finally got it. The club closed 45 mins later without notice and the drinks were ridiculously expensive. There was a mix of creepy old "rich" men, prostitutes, and teenagers. Would NEVER go to this club again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank Nshendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Negative”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We were three Swedish guys visiting on this occasion, though as we are currently residing in Portugal, France as well as Sweden.

We had heard and read about this being a happening place for the night, as it turned out it did not live up to those expectations.

Visited in low-season, so understandably it was not many Europeans at the venue.
Cover fee was 200 Dirhams including one drink. But if you for some reason would like a Red Bull Vodka there is an extra charge of 100 Dirhams for the Red Bull, a bit expensive in our view.

Largely a male audience, and as we have seen in many clubs in Morocco, a major part of the female guests, at least in the non-VIP area, were escorts. Being used to a European club-scene, where men and women can actually go out on equal terms, this is very disturbing. We left early. The sound system and lighting was good however.

It might be better at other times of year, but we would not recommend a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Wolrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatro also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Theatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing