We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely authentic riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zayane Atlas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Zayane Atlas
Ranked #257 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This small riad was a great destination for our short 3 day trip to Marrakech with a couple of friends. We bought the deal through an internet site and purchased airline tickets online. The whole experience went very smoothly. I would recommend using the hotel transfer through the Riad as you would have difficulty locating it, especially in the dark. We were collected by Tomas at the airport together with 2 other passengers and dropped off at a tiny car park within the medina where we were met by Kamal and a handcart to transfer our luggage about 4 minutes down the windy alleys. The riad is simple, authentic and very friendy and Kamal in particular can't do enough to help. The lovely Moroccan breakfast is served on the terasse as is the evening meal and in the cooler weather served in the berber style tent. The rooms are quite small but clean and adequate and the trip into the Jma el Fnaa about a 10 minute stroll, although I warn you, you will probably get lost the first few times you return to the riad. All part of the fun.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband , daughter and her friend stayed here in February. The hospitality and location was excellent and well worth the small costs charged. This is within the medina and is so close to all amenities. Breakfast was provided daily included in the cost: this was really scrumptious... And although it was a Continental breakfast there was lots of selection and upon request some warm food was offered. The mint tea is second to none and was offered complimentary throughout the day when lounging on the lovely terrace. As part of our deal we had a meal prepared by the Riad which was simple but very very tasty. The rooms in the accomodation were fairly basic but exceptionally clean and the only thing I would say is that the rooms were small and the bed was not too comfy...although after a day or two we got used to it.... Overall the service provided by the staff was amazing Kamil and Babette were exceptionally helpful and everyone else went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I would have no hesitation to recommend this Riad... It was great value for money and is in the hub if activity!!! I have stayed in a five star in Morroco previously however, this was a better experience overall. If you choose this Riad, take some excursions planned by the Riad (we didnt have time but all other guests commented that they were great value) and visit the medina spa as recommended by the Riad which is close by.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor looked bigger and in better condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouganNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were looking for something very authentic and near the hustle and bustle - and we sure got it!

We loved all of it - the rooms, the service, the meal that was provided and the breakfast is great. The owner and the main person that looks after everyone are so friendly.

Highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alliyah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I can't recommend this riad highly enough - it is absolutely superb - with service that many other establishments could learn from. I originally booked this for last summer but had the flights cancelled - not an issue at all for Babette to change our booking, which was purchased very reasonably through a deal site. We also booked a transfer from the airport which didn't turn up, Kamal at the riad could not apologise enough, although this was out of his control. The welcome and hospitality of Kamal and the team really made this trip what it was. The riad is beautifully Morrocan, and is so incredibly peaceful. It's in the heart of the medina but very easily located (don't be fooled by the "guides" who will take you down many winding alleyways, it's just off the main "road" near the Earth Cafe). The breakfast is amazing, and if you don't have an evening meal booked, I would really recommend staying there for an evening - Kamals lemon chicken is legendary!
We had a triple room with a hot powerful shower and decent heating (chilly on a night in February) - the bed was comfortable although a little too hard for me personally. A great base to explore Marrakech from, a few minutes walk from both the main square and all it's chaos, and the serenity of Badii Palace. Certainly worth a visit, if only for the experience of the total madness of the city.

Room Tip: Noise travels all around, such is the nature of a riad, opt for upstairs if you want a little quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nics169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Was exchanging emails with Babette long before our trip and she had always been very accommodating to any requests we have: number of rooms, bed arrangements etc.. Anyways, we found a great deal at their Riad! From airport transport to daily breakfasts to our cozy and pretty rooms, it was such a steal that it all added for one fun trip! Hichaam and Kamal are perfect guides for 7 crazy ladies! Talk about patience! They tried to answer all of our questions, gave suggestions and helped plan our trip! 4 days turned out to be short! Would have been great I guess if we came on a warmer time so that we could have had a dip at their mini pool, it looked so inviting! But I guess what touched me the most was when Kamal knew that it was my friend's birthday, he decorated our dinner table just for our birthday girl! Thank you so much guys! Shukran!

Room Tip: You could request for single or double rooms beforehand. Some rooms are good for 3! They let us choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalraven20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My friend and I booked for ten days stay in this lovely riad. On first day we met Babette in person, and Kamal who was very helpful, resourceful, kind and, we latter discovered, with a great sense of humor.
Riad is beautiful, decorated in traditional Moroccan style what I like the most. Because of longer stay, at the end of our journey we liked to stay for hours on 3rd floor where is the terrace with many plants and berber tent (and wireless internet). We enjoyed sun, mint tea and chatting with Kamal. We really felt like we were guest at someone's home and not in the hotel/riad. It was such rewarding and personal experience.
Kamal was our great guide to Ourika valley, and he helped us with many advices about local culture, shoping, bargaining and prices. Also he contacted for us the agency for trips to Essauira, Ouarzazate and Ait Ben Haddou.
Riad is located 5 minutes from Jemma El-Fna square. It is very peaceful even in the middle of noisy medina.
I am sure that there are some other beautiful riads in Marrakech, but if I return I am sure that I would want to stay in this riad again, because of that nice home atmosphere there, and kind staff, Fatima, Woufra and especially Kamal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisPecigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked our stay via a voucher with Babette online. Found our room to be rather small, we were there for 6 nights and other larger rooms were empty while we were there. I attempted to discuss this with Larbi but my French is very limited and his english even less so, communicated this to Babette via email and received back a 'sorry your room is small' but nothing further. The roof terrace is lovely. Kamal who speaks english very well was there the last 2 days of our stay and we found him to be extremely personable and helpful. The souks and main square are easily accessed from the riad. Had a great hammam experience x 2 at Hamman Ziani about 5mins from the riad. The Vegetarian cafe (with chicken!) is in the same Derb as the riad where we had a lovely lunch. Place de Ferblantier was great for nous nous (cafe au lait) and people watching, a guy selling macaroons in the square did very well out of us they were delicious. The Kosy Bar in the same square was very comfortable with great Maroc wine.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room you may be luckier than us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koala1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Zayane
Riad Zayane
#110 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kasbah
Riad Kasbah
#587 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Sofia
Riad Sofia
#225 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Choumissa
Dar Choumissa
#562 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Riad Azukar
Palais Riad Azukar
#867 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Lalla F'dila
Dar Lalla F'dila
#211 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zayane Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane Atlas

Property: Riad Zayane Atlas
Address: 31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Zayane Atlas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in a riad in the heart of the medina of Marrakech opened in June 2009. 8 air conditioned rooms in summer and heated in winter with bathroom and private toilet. Beautiful terrace, patio, Moroccan lounge, small pool opened spring 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zayane Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Atlas Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing