We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zayane Atlas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Zayane Atlas
Ranked #250 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband , daughter and her friend stayed here in February. The hospitality and location was excellent and well worth the small costs charged. This is within the medina and is so close to all amenities. Breakfast was provided daily included in the cost: this was really scrumptious... And although it was a Continental breakfast there was lots of selection and upon request some warm food was offered. The mint tea is second to none and was offered complimentary throughout the day when lounging on the lovely terrace. As part of our deal we had a meal prepared by the Riad which was simple but very very tasty. The rooms in the accomodation were fairly basic but exceptionally clean and the only thing I would say is that the rooms were small and the bed was not too comfy...although after a day or two we got used to it.... Overall the service provided by the staff was amazing Kamil and Babette were exceptionally helpful and everyone else went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. I would have no hesitation to recommend this Riad... It was great value for money and is in the hub if activity!!! I have stayed in a five star in Morroco previously however, this was a better experience overall. If you choose this Riad, take some excursions planned by the Riad (we didnt have time but all other guests commented that they were great value) and visit the medina spa as recommended by the Riad which is close by.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor looked bigger and in better condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouganNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were looking for something very authentic and near the hustle and bustle - and we sure got it!

We loved all of it - the rooms, the service, the meal that was provided and the breakfast is great. The owner and the main person that looks after everyone are so friendly.

Highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alliyah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I can't recommend this riad highly enough - it is absolutely superb - with service that many other establishments could learn from. I originally booked this for last summer but had the flights cancelled - not an issue at all for Babette to change our booking, which was purchased very reasonably through a deal site. We also booked a transfer from the airport which didn't turn up, Kamal at the riad could not apologise enough, although this was out of his control. The welcome and hospitality of Kamal and the team really made this trip what it was. The riad is beautifully Morrocan, and is so incredibly peaceful. It's in the heart of the medina but very easily located (don't be fooled by the "guides" who will take you down many winding alleyways, it's just off the main "road" near the Earth Cafe). The breakfast is amazing, and if you don't have an evening meal booked, I would really recommend staying there for an evening - Kamals lemon chicken is legendary!
We had a triple room with a hot powerful shower and decent heating (chilly on a night in February) - the bed was comfortable although a little too hard for me personally. A great base to explore Marrakech from, a few minutes walk from both the main square and all it's chaos, and the serenity of Badii Palace. Certainly worth a visit, if only for the experience of the total madness of the city.

Room Tip: Noise travels all around, such is the nature of a riad, opt for upstairs if you want a little quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nics169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Was exchanging emails with Babette long before our trip and she had always been very accommodating to any requests we have: number of rooms, bed arrangements etc.. Anyways, we found a great deal at their Riad! From airport transport to daily breakfasts to our cozy and pretty rooms, it was such a steal that it all added for one fun trip! Hichaam and Kamal are perfect guides for 7 crazy ladies! Talk about patience! They tried to answer all of our questions, gave suggestions and helped plan our trip! 4 days turned out to be short! Would have been great I guess if we came on a warmer time so that we could have had a dip at their mini pool, it looked so inviting! But I guess what touched me the most was when Kamal knew that it was my friend's birthday, he decorated our dinner table just for our birthday girl! Thank you so much guys! Shukran!

Room Tip: You could request for single or double rooms beforehand. Some rooms are good for 3! They let us choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalraven20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My friend and I booked for ten days stay in this lovely riad. On first day we met Babette in person, and Kamal who was very helpful, resourceful, kind and, we latter discovered, with a great sense of humor.
Riad is beautiful, decorated in traditional Moroccan style what I like the most. Because of longer stay, at the end of our journey we liked to stay for hours on 3rd floor where is the terrace with many plants and berber tent (and wireless internet). We enjoyed sun, mint tea and chatting with Kamal. We really felt like we were guest at someone's home and not in the hotel/riad. It was such rewarding and personal experience.
Kamal was our great guide to Ourika valley, and he helped us with many advices about local culture, shoping, bargaining and prices. Also he contacted for us the agency for trips to Essauira, Ouarzazate and Ait Ben Haddou.
Riad is located 5 minutes from Jemma El-Fna square. It is very peaceful even in the middle of noisy medina.
I am sure that there are some other beautiful riads in Marrakech, but if I return I am sure that I would want to stay in this riad again, because of that nice home atmosphere there, and kind staff, Fatima, Woufra and especially Kamal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisPecigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked our stay via a voucher with Babette online. Found our room to be rather small, we were there for 6 nights and other larger rooms were empty while we were there. I attempted to discuss this with Larbi but my French is very limited and his english even less so, communicated this to Babette via email and received back a 'sorry your room is small' but nothing further. The roof terrace is lovely. Kamal who speaks english very well was there the last 2 days of our stay and we found him to be extremely personable and helpful. The souks and main square are easily accessed from the riad. Had a great hammam experience x 2 at Hamman Ziani about 5mins from the riad. The Vegetarian cafe (with chicken!) is in the same Derb as the riad where we had a lovely lunch. Place de Ferblantier was great for nous nous (cafe au lait) and people watching, a guy selling macaroons in the square did very well out of us they were delicious. The Kosy Bar in the same square was very comfortable with great Maroc wine.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger room you may be luckier than us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koala1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I have to say that when we approached our accommodation, visiting Marrakech for the first time, we were worried. The streets and buildings looked very run down, however, what hid behind in this riad can only be described as a wonderful oasis - a tranquil setting, in stark contrast to the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech.

The great service began when we were picked up from the airport on arrival. The riad arranges for us to be collected by their regular friendly taxi driver at no charge. He was awesome and an excellent driver (amongst some other very dubious ones!).

The rooms were very pleasant and comfortable. Everything worked, including most importantly the air con.

There is a lovely roof top area where we were welcomed to mint tea and a chat on arrival. Maps and details about the city were provides by a very attentive and friendly staff member. We mentioned that we were interested in a day trip to Essaouira (well worth it by the way) and they offered to walk us to an agency that provided such trips. Very helpful when you first arrive given what a maze Marrakech can be! I was sceptical at first (thinking this might be for a kickback from an agency friend!) but the day trip was very reasonable, and if there was a kickback it would have been very small and well deserved. We appreciated the help.

We enjoyed a very nice breakfast each morning on the roof terrace and one traditional evening meal was also included in our package. Very nice indeed.

Overall, we loved this place an couldn't fault it at all. The service topped off the fantastic surroundings. We highly recommend Riad Zayane Atlas and hope we will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Ralhaya
Riad Ralhaya
#202 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zayane
Riad Zayane
#101 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Mehdia
Riad Mehdia
#192 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Choumissa
Dar Choumissa
#535 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Bab 54
Riad Bab 54
#217 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Lalla F'dila
Dar Lalla F'dila
#211 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zayane Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane Atlas

Property: Riad Zayane Atlas
Address: 31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Zayane Atlas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in a riad in the heart of the medina of Marrakech opened in June 2009. 8 air conditioned rooms in summer and heated in winter with bathroom and private toilet. Beautiful terrace, patio, Moroccan lounge, small pool opened spring 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Zayane Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Atlas Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing