We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“MARHABAN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Ranked #22 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Crotone, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“MARHABAN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had a beautiful experience in Marrakech, manly because i was in Riad Marrakech Rouge, only three minute to Place Jemaa El Fna, in a atmosphere of hospitality as the real tradition of Marocco. The riad is really nice, there are a lot of sitting room and you can easily socialize with other travellers and the price meets all the needs . The staff is fantastic, careful of every necessity, ready to give you a fantastic holidays. Hope to return just to see all the friends that i leave there.
I raccomend to everybody, especially young people.

Ibrahim

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibrahimita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    101
    48
    29
    29
See reviews for
11
78
148
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed at Marrakech Rouge as part of a 15 day volunteering scheme helping local children.

The hostel itself is tucked away about 5 minutes from the square and 5 minutes in the opposite direction to Bahia Palace.

I shared a 6 birth room with other volunteers, the beds are quite comfy and are changed on a regular basis by the maid. The hostel toilets, showers and floors are cleaned everyday around 11am. Breakfast is served 6:45 am till 10:30am daily, the breakfast is lovely and is an added bonus as not all places offer breakfast.

The staff are helpful and will book excursions, cabs and provide maps if you wish to walk to your destination. The staff are sociable and make you feel welcomed as soon as you walk in the door.

You can ask for mint tea and shisha at no additional cost, smoking is also permitted in the building but people normally smoke on the roof. You can sleep on the roof to escape the heat at night but may be woken by the call to prayer at 5am in the morning (It is nice to listen to it), although I never stayed on the roof others said it was the best sleep they had.

If you are travelling on a budget and enjoy social interaction, this is the place for you.

Thanks for the stay Karim and co.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mockingbird20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

karim and his team at the marrakech rouge are fantastic! good price and an excellent breakfast. They were very helpful in booking excursions and general advice. The interior design is second to none! The wifi is free and fast which is very helpful when you need to research your next visit. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Like most people in Marrakech, the staff is quite friendly. They speak many different languages, and help you with recommendations, directions, provide maps, mint tea, and cookies, from time to time.

ALTHOUGH.

- There is NO air conditioning, which makes it very hard to sleep at night. You can always take your stuff to the cushions on the roof, and sleep there. However, if you want to do this, you need to get there early because there is a huge demand!
- The storage rooms aren't locked, which means mostly everyone will have access to your stuff
-The staff will offer you to take their tours, which are slightly more expensive than others that offer the identically same thing. If you take any of the other tours, they will lose all of their charm and look at you with anger, and be bitter about it.
- They didn't seem to clean very often, the floor was dirty and quite dusty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in my fair share of hostels and this was by far THE BEST!!!
Incredible staff - so hospitable and friendly (especially in a place like Marrakech...a very hectic city!). Free tea and shush is a big bonus!
Great location - a five minute walk from the centre square.
I did a fantastic one night camp in the Sahara that was organized by the hostel and worth every penny!

Incredible. Want to come back to Marrakech just to stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a decent hostel with very nice people working their best to make your stay pleasant. You are given a map of the city (something not all Moroccan hostels do) and excellent information on what to do.

Definitely, the best thing about this place are the employees. However, although they offered to pay for my taxi ride and fed me a lot of free tea, there is no AC anywhere and sometimes it was so hot that we simply couldn't sleep. To make this good hostel a great hosel, a little bit of investment on AC and nicer decoration would be very useful.

Room Tip: lower rooms are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

great experience! we spent great time in this tipical hostel! really suggested for people who want to live morocco! great people and staff really hospitable! really chip! great position, in 2 min you are in place djemaa el fna! not too easy to find! watch on youtube how to arrive!

Room Tip: ask for "room" on the roof! expecially in summer the temperature is much better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swissiak90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
6.4 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#26 of 266 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#30 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
#43 of 266 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Young and Happy Hostel
Young and Happy Hostel
#21 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#167 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Property: Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid | Derb Zenka Dika, No. 40, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARRAKECH ROUGE – LEADING THE CAMPAIGN AGAINST GREY…2 minutes from Place D’Jeema el Fna, Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge would like to assault the senses of those arriving from grey skies with a family run backpackers hostel so colourful it will make your eyes tingle; so kind and friendly it will refresh your spirit in a place where the coffee is so spicy, sweet (and free) that your taste-buds will buzz with excitement (and the caffeine!), and the possibilities will feel endless…Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge welcomes you to come and stay with us; leave your comfort zone and your facebook account at home, be happy and inspired, learn about Morocco from our incredible staff, meet others, and the enjoy the wonderful atmosphere; all the components that make a hostel a HOSTEL and not a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing