We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Helpfull and nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Ranked #22 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Helpfull and nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights waiting for a workshop to start. It was easy to find, people were very helpfull when trying to find it, even though I had seen the video twice I was a bit overwelmed by all the activity around. When arriving I was welcomed and Ali and his wife was so helpfull and welcoming. I never felt alone or lost. We were 4 in a small room on the roof - of cource it is not spacy, but i did not expect it to be. I had a great sleep and it was quiet enough even there was a small party going on.
Ther were a lot of common room for us to use and the breakfast area is huge and comfortable. Breakfast was great and you can get eggs, all the coffe you want nd bread. Right outside in the market you have freshmade juice for ½€. It is said they make it with water, but I drank so much of it and never got sick.
I shifted to my hotel where the workshop was held and I missed Rouge so much. Everything was better here anf the price were 1/3.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bente2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    101
    48
    29
    29
See reviews for
11
78
148
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for a long weekend. It's very authentic in it's decor and as soon as you arrive you can't help but feel relaxed in this Riad. There are lockers in the rooms (Bring a lock though!) but other than that there aren't any door keys or locks. It's something you just go with. The terrace upstairs is beautiful and chilled. The breakfast is included and of a good quantity (pancakes, cakes, pastries, toast and eggs and tea and coffee etc). Upon arrival we thought the organisation in the hostel wasn't great but after getting to know them they were great and very helpful. The location is quite hard to find when you arrive but you soon get used to it and it's about a 15 minute walk to the main square. The only issue we had was the bathrooms, there were a very limited number of bathrooms for the amount of people and the showers were very often freezing cold!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you stay in Marrakech, I highly recommand to stay at Marrakech Rouge. The authentic riad is perfectly placed within the medina. The owner of the hostel, Ali, is permanently making sure that all your wishes will be fulfilled (giving directions, recommending restaurants, helping with renting a car for a fair price). The food is great and the chill-out areas are plenty and really cozy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stritti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Marrakech rouge is an excellent accommodation if you are looking to stay within the medina. The medina is a busy place but when you walk in the door of MR you instantly feel relaxed. The mint tea in the courtyard is fantastic and the rooftop terrace provides a chance to get fresh air and a bit of sun if you want.

Ali, the manager, made time in his very busy schedule to ensure that we had a great stay in MR. We had to make a bus connection out of Marrakech and Ali made it simple and arranged for our transport.

If you are looking to stay in the medina I highly recommend Marrakech Rouge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ok - it's hard to find! Print a map before you go or use your GPS!! Once there the staff couldn't be more helpful, there are a couple of 'Hostel Rouge' when you book so our group of ten had accidentally split the group up, we got in at midnight but they still had a move around so that we could all stay together :-) The rooms have bunk beds in them and can get a bit warm and they are a little on the small side, but lets be honest - how much time are you going to spend in them? There is a large chill out room with computer on the ground floor, and outdoor terrace at the top - where they are in the process of building a swimming pool.
The breakfast was freshly made every time someone else got up and it was lovely. You can buy beer, wine and sheisha (is that how you spell that?!) or tea and cake is free! Amazing.
It is just a small walk from the main square and the souk and they can arrange many different tours from a single day to 3 days and more I think.
Clean, Friendly, Cheap, Great Location - What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the building are noisy as you don't get a key for the front door so kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Emma_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff at this hostel really stands out, they are all extremely friendly and helpful. Zouhair serves an excellent breakfast and was more than happy to help out with anything. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, along with the bathrooms and common areas, including the excellent terrace. The atmosphere was incredible, everyone was very friendly and it was just a good time all around. Highly recommended! If I come back to Marrakech I would not consider any other place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have stayed 4 nights in this hostel and this place just feels like a home. It is near to the Jaama El Fna square, where all the happenings are.

The owner and his staff were all very smiley, friendly and helpful.

The hostel is clean. It has a spacious & cosy terrace to chill.

Breakfast was freshly made each morning.

Highly recommended for people looking for a value-for-money hostel to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
6.4 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#26 of 266 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#30 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
#43 of 266 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Young and Happy Hostel
Young and Happy Hostel
#21 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#167 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Property: Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid | Derb Zenka Dika, No. 40, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARRAKECH ROUGE – LEADING THE CAMPAIGN AGAINST GREY…2 minutes from Place D’Jeema el Fna, Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge would like to assault the senses of those arriving from grey skies with a family run backpackers hostel so colourful it will make your eyes tingle; so kind and friendly it will refresh your spirit in a place where the coffee is so spicy, sweet (and free) that your taste-buds will buzz with excitement (and the caffeine!), and the possibilities will feel endless…Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge welcomes you to come and stay with us; leave your comfort zone and your facebook account at home, be happy and inspired, learn about Morocco from our incredible staff, meet others, and the enjoy the wonderful atmosphere; all the components that make a hostel a HOSTEL and not a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing