We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!!FABULOUS!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Ranked #22 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!FABULOUS!!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed in this hostel for 8 nights, and it became my home in Marrakech!!! Everyone was extremelly helpfull, friendly and very welcoming, beyond words!!! When I arrived, Malik gave me a map, explined where the hostel was in the map and showed where everything was located.It s only a few steps walking to the mais square.I was adviced also how much should I pay a taxi from a place to another, how to bargain, or any other questions I had, they were more than happy to answer...In one of the days I had lost the keys of my suitcase locker, and Jamal went out of his way to do the possible and impossible to open my suitcase locker, which was not easy. If one is tired of walking around the city, one can always go to the rooftop terrace and get some sun, see the atlas mountains and just relax. The whole hostel is very colorful and has a cool, chilled vibe to it.
At the end of the day, everyone hangs out in the lounge,while drinking tea,smoking shisha and listening to each others stories.Breakfast is delicious!!!
They can also organize tours and taxi to and from the airport.
This was by far the best experience I ve had in a Hostel.
I m thankful for everyone of Marrakech rouge for this amazing experience and know that this will always be like my home in Marrakech!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofiacorreadesa-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    111
    53
    31
    31
See reviews for
11
80
159
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am a 45 year old male traveling solo, but as soon as I was met by Ali and the other guests I felt welcome, and being older than most, didnt matter one bit. (for a couple of nights I wasnt the eldest)
The location is great as you get to see the real deal. The 5 minute walk to the square is where the locals live, work and go to school. The hostel has plenty of areas to relax quietly, or to sit and chat with others and if you want to sunbathe, the roof top is great for that.

Room Tip: Like all hostels, ear plugs are always a help. Although this hostel was pretty quiet after 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris6781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in! The actual building is great, fantastic Moroccan decorations and a really chilled out roof terrace. All the staff are friendly and make u feel really at home. They are very helpful and knowledgable too. Ali in particular is a great host!! Brilliant location, cheap beers and shisha, great atmosphere and perfect for meeting other people! Seriously....don't stay anywhere else!! Thanks to everyone at marrakech rouge for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent a cumulative total of 4 nights at Marrakech Rouge in August 2012 (not the best time to visit Marrakech, in retrospect!) The hosts are extremely welcoming and friendly, hosts of the city as well as the hostel itself. As well as a number of recommendations of local attractions, the hostel also put on group outings to sites slightly further afield. The group trip to the nearby waterfalls was excellently organised and ran.

The communal set-up and the sister hostel a few doors down create a great social hub for story-telling, shisha-smoking and tea-drinking and above all a great place to meet other travellers. We had no issues with security or cleanliness. A few niggling issues with water pressure and dodgy air-conditioning caveat the review, but I would fully recommend the hostel for adventure-seekers on a shoestring budget.

Room Tip: Having experience both ground floor and the outdoor terrace, I would recommend the former for a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_cooper_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

For great atmosphere, a sure place to meet other travellers and for a price unrivalled in the rest of the country this is the hostel to come to. Added perks such as free mint tea and shisha whenever you want it all add to the flavour.

You're told to treat this place like your home, within hours it feels like it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owenhind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This has been the best experience I have ever had while staying at a hostel. Malik and Mohamed are both amazing and stop at nothing to make their guests comfortable and happy. Malik went out of his way and made sure to accommodate us when we wanted to switch rooms late at night, made sure that we felt comfortable walking around the medinas and even went out to buy us stuff to take back home when we were unsure where to find them. An overall humbling experience. Sweet people who aim to please their customers always. If you are looking for good service and to be treated like family, make sure you stay at the riad.

-Mileidy-

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mileidyapaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, and great atmosphere. We booked the day of coming, no problem, and also had to change our booking the day of by phone, also no problem.

The hostel is a shock of colors, and has lots of places to just hang out. Great location in the medina too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
Rainbow Marrakech Hostel
#26 of 278 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Kif Kif
Hostel Kif Kif
#35 of 278 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dream Kasbah
Dream Kasbah
#41 of 278 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Souad
Riad Souad
#24 of 278 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
Hostel Waka Waka, Marrakech
#42 of 278 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge

Property: Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid | Derb Zenka Dika, No. 40, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 278 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARRAKECH ROUGE – LEADING THE CAMPAIGN AGAINST GREY…2 minutes from Place D’Jeema el Fna, Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge would like to assault the senses of those arriving from grey skies with a family run backpackers hostel so colourful it will make your eyes tingle; so kind and friendly it will refresh your spirit in a place where the coffee is so spicy, sweet (and free) that your taste-buds will buzz with excitement (and the caffeine!), and the possibilities will feel endless…Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge welcomes you to come and stay with us; leave your comfort zone and your facebook account at home, be happy and inspired, learn about Morocco from our incredible staff, meet others, and the enjoy the wonderful atmosphere; all the components that make a hostel a HOSTEL and not a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing